We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a must do!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Emerald Pools

Emerald Pools
Zion National Park, UT
Improve this listing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A one-mile hike will bring you to this area of pools and waterfalls.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
48 attraction reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“a must do!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We got to Zion NP in the late afternoon and I didn't feel up to a climb to the Pools.
We took the Riverside Walk - more or less flat and paved. The light was pink as the sun was going down. We saw a stag crossing the river to meet up with 2 does and my husband saw his first (tiny) snake outside of a zoo.
We stayed at Mount Carmel Junction, so travelled through the Zion-Mount Carmel Tunnel both ways - fairly spectacular.
We returned next day to Zion for a morning hike up to the Emerald Pools - again fantastic light that changed by the second. The Fall colours added to the enjoyment. The reflections in the Upper Pool were spellbinding, despite someone having chucked their picnic food in to the pools - take your rubbish back with you!
We got to Zion on 29 October and this was the first day you could drive the Scenic Drive - would have been happy to take the Shuttle, but didn't see one.
I can only say - just do it, you'll get enjoyment whatever your level of fitness/mobility.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    188
    168
    124
    25
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Crowded”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Not impressive enough (in the dry fall) to be worth the crowds. You might have better luck in the spring or early fall!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bend, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Good hike”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We hiked to the lower, middle and upper pools. The hike to the lower poos would be good for all ability levels. The middle and uppers pools require more stamina and have a lot more climbing over rocks. Our kids liked getting wet by the lower pool.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Go to the upper pools”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

The lower pools trail isn't very impressive, especially if the waterfall isn't flowing strongly. But if you take the somewhat more difficult trip to the upper pools, you won't regret it! The views are very impressive! Be sure to take the Kayenta trail back, it's a lot more fun and not as hard going down.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
lillesommerfugl
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
46 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Variety in trail levels - beautiful all around”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

You can choose to take the trail to the lower, middle or upper pools - we went to all of the above. They are all quite easy trails, although not all are wheelchair or stroller friendly. Great to get to the upper pools in its sort of hidden away spot. Well worth the little hike up.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Emerald Pools also viewed

Zion National Park, UT
Zion National Park, UT
 
Zion National Park, UT
Zion National Park, UT
 

Been to Emerald Pools? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Emerald Pools, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.