We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay for all price ranges” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zion Ponderosa Ranch Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Zion Ponderosa Ranch Resort to your Saves list
Zion Ponderosa Ranch Resort
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   Twin Knolls Road, PO Box 5547, Zion National Park, UT 84755   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Fall Offer
Bellingham, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent Stay for all price ranges”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Great place to take a family and they have a variety of options, depending on what you budget is, form really nice little cabins to inexpensive camping options. Nice pool and spa and a variety of evening activities. So nice that we decide to stay an extra day!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

561 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    277
    144
    58
    48
    34
See reviews for
241
137
8
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

My bf and I were on a hiking trip out west and decided to stay here for 5 nights (Mon-Fri) while we were visiting Zion National Park and Bryce Canyon. Overall it wasn't that bad! As a family ranch resort, you do have to keep in mind that there will be a lot of kids everywhere (we are in our mid-twenties so maybe a little bit more tolerable of the boy scouts that were in the camp-sites near by).

The people at the front desk are really friendly and we were actually greeted right at our tent site by the general manager of the Ranch who welcomed us warmly and helped us plan out the rest of that day. They have a ton of activities for the whole family (small hikes within the ranch itself, swimming, paint ball, mini golf, sunset tours, a recreation barn, atv track and so much more). I would recommend the Canyoneering. That was definitely an amazing experience and one that you would NOT want to miss given the opportunity. Nothing like repelling down a hundred foot canyon!

The facility itself was pretty impressive. I have camped my entire life and never seen a bathhouse like these. Granted closer to the evening after all the kids have taken their showers they are a little dirty but have a cleaning crew come up in the mornings to get them back in tip-top shape for the next day.

The camp-site that we stayed at (Site 20) was a little small, only had enough room for our tent (although it was a 6 person tent). We had to move our picnic table into the trees in order to accommodate enough space for our tent but if you aren't looking for luxury camping then its completely bearable. The drive to get to the ranch itself is kind of long but well you can keep yourself entertained by stopping to take a picture of the "End of the Rd." sign :)

The one major plus outside of the ranch was you entered Zion National Park from the East entrance and there is no traffic from that end so no lines to get into the park itself however it is about a 15-20 min drive away from the Visitors Center of the actual park.

Room Tip: This is a family resort so there are a lot of kids you have to be prepared for that. However, there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

We chose to stay at the Zion Ponderosa Ranch because the campsites within the national park were all full. We reserved a campsite in advance, but we did not arrive to the ranch until around 10pm. The staff at the front desk was very friendly, especially a girl named Jackie. Nevertheless, we were sorely disappointed by the accommodations. We were assigned Tent Site 13. When we drove down to Tent Site 13, there were already multitudes of other campers (At least two boy scout troops and maybe others). Not only were the two fire pits already occupied, but we quickly discovered there was no flat, mowed ground near 13 for us to set up camp. After driving around for 10 minutes to see if we had made a mistake and there were multiple sites labeled 13, we gave up and set up camp on the side of a dirt road. We felt as though the ranch must never claim "No Vacancy" and simply assigned all 'overflow' campers to this site at the bottom of the hill. The website promises that all camp sites include a picnic table and grill; however, this was absolutely not the case.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocilla, Georgia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

If I knew then what I knew now, I don't think I would choose lodging at Zion Ponderosa Ranch again. First, if you are travelling west to east, it would be much more convenient to stay in the quaint looking town of Springdale. You have to pass through Zion National Park to get to the Ranch, which is a BEAUTIFUL drive, but when you get to the ranch and want to go back to the visitor's center, you are looking at a 45 minute drive for 20 miles. If we had been at Bryce Canyon going to Zion, it would have been ideal for an overnight stay.

Aside from the location, I was not completely satisfied with the lodging. Our family of 5 stayed in a cabin with the bathrooms. The cabin had a musty, mildew smell; the bathroom was tiny, and the kitchenette was nothing more than a tiny fridge, microwave and sink. We didn't have any advantage of being able to prepare meals as compared to a typical hotel room. The Ranch offers a lot of amenities, but they were over-priced and we didn't participate in any of them. They seem focus on offering a lot of activities but aren't as focused on maintaining the facilities they have. The screen door on our cabin wouldn't close, and again the smell was not pleasant. One reviewer mentioned the dust. I would completely agree.

The pool was nice. It needed repairs but they had a sign posted indicating that they were waiting on tile to be able to complete the repairs. The restaurant had good food and we enjoyed the gift shop.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Stayed 3 nights while exploring Zion NP. Lots of on-site activities, but pretty expensive so we just stuck to the National Park. It takes about 45 minutes to drive the 20 miles to the Park Headquarters where you can then catch the shuttle to other points in the park.

We stayed in a nice cabin that slept our family of 5 comfortably, and the pool area was really great.

The entire place, however, was very dusty and the constant stream of traffic by our cabin created dust clouds that kept us indoor for most of the evening. An ATV track is also near the pool which created tons of dust continually, so if dust is a problem this might not be a good place to visit.

Room Tip: Ask for a cabin away from the main road .. less noise and dust.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

We were happy to have stayed here even if it was just to pass through for one night. Stayed in a Wagon which was cute but hot in July. The pool area and shower house was great and clean. The recreation activities had good set of options and prices. The continental breakfast that now comes with the Wagons was by far the best we've ever had from a hotel! Very impressed with the staff and how much effort is placed into making this a nice stay. Owners are doing a good job. Disregard the negative comments about staff asking for tips or pushing packages - this was not our experience at all. We would certainly return visit to this resort when traveling to Zion NP.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, WV
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We checked in only to find that we were placed in overflow camping. This did not guarantee any of the amenities of a regular campsite. When we complained about not being notified of the problem, the management divided existing campsites between different groups forcing campers to share grills and picnic tables. It took management over half an hour to direct us to a campsite within 100 yards of the lodge. Evening activities were planned for guests but proved to be loud and in disregard to what other campgrounds would normally call quiet hours. The shower houses were clean and convenient but housekeeping chose the most awkward hours to clean them at 8:00 am. Overall, this is a nice place but it is not suited for campers due to the disorganization of arrangements, the noise, and the greedy practices of the management.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZionPonderosa, Public Relations Manager at Zion Ponderosa Ranch Resort, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
We have 22 campsites and recently their has been greater demand for additional camping spots. We have tried to accommodate guests as best as is possible. We are sorry this guest's experience was not what it could be and we will work diligently to ensure that all campers have the experience they expect.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Zion Ponderosa Ranch Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zion Ponderosa Ranch Resort

Address: Twin Knolls Road, PO Box 5547, Zion National Park, UT 84755
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Zion National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Zion National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Zion Ponderosa Ranch Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the top of Zion National Park amidst a forest of Ponderosa pine trees, Zion Ponderosa Ranch Resort offers great lodging options; Vacation Homes, Cabins Suites, Cowboy Cabins, Western Wagons, and RV / Tent Campground. We offer excellent dining services at our Blue Belly Grill and Gus & Rosey's restaurants. We offer more activities on-property than any resort in the region, including horseback riding, jeep tours, zip line, climbing wall, canyoneering / hiking excursions, ATV tours, miniature golf, paint ball, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Zion Ponderosa Ranch Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zion Ponderosa Ranch Hotel Zion National Park
Zion Ponderosa Hotel
Zion Ponderosa Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zion Ponderosa Ranch Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.