We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Base for Exploring Zion” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Zion Ponderosa Ranch Resort

Save Saved
You added Zion Ponderosa Ranch Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Zion Ponderosa Ranch Resort
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   Twin Knolls Road, PO Box 5547, Zion National Park, UT 84755   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Vacation Homes- Zion Park
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Decent Base for Exploring Zion”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Stayed 3 nights while exploring Zion NP. Lots of on-site activities, but pretty expensive so we just stuck to the National Park. It takes about 45 minutes to drive the 20 miles to the Park Headquarters where you can then catch the shuttle to other points in the park.

We stayed in a nice cabin that slept our family of 5 comfortably, and the pool area was really great.

The entire place, however, was very dusty and the constant stream of traffic by our cabin created dust clouds that kept us indoor for most of the evening. An ATV track is also near the pool which created tons of dust continually, so if dust is a problem this might not be a good place to visit.

Room Tip: Ask for a cabin away from the main road .. less noise and dust.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    121
    48
    37
    30
See reviews for
211
122
7
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

We were happy to have stayed here even if it was just to pass through for one night. Stayed in a Wagon which was cute but hot in July. The pool area and shower house was great and clean. The recreation activities had good set of options and prices. The continental breakfast that now comes with the Wagons was by far the best we've ever had from a hotel! Very impressed with the staff and how much effort is placed into making this a nice stay. Owners are doing a good job. Disregard the negative comments about staff asking for tips or pushing packages - this was not our experience at all. We would certainly return visit to this resort when traveling to Zion NP.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, WV
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014 via mobile

We checked in only to find that we were placed in overflow camping. This did not guarantee any of the amenities of a regular campsite. When we complained about not being notified of the problem, the management divided existing campsites between different groups forcing campers to share grills and picnic tables. It took management over half an hour to direct us to a campsite within 100 yards of the lodge. Evening activities were planned for guests but proved to be loud and in disregard to what other campgrounds would normally call quiet hours. The shower houses were clean and convenient but housekeeping chose the most awkward hours to clean them at 8:00 am. Overall, this is a nice place but it is not suited for campers due to the disorganization of arrangements, the noise, and the greedy practices of the management.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZionPonderosa, Public Relations Manager at Zion Ponderosa Ranch Resort, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
We have 22 campsites and recently their has been greater demand for additional camping spots. We have tried to accommodate guests as best as is possible. We are sorry this guest's experience was not what it could be and we will work diligently to ensure that all campers have the experience they expect.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Covington, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We lucked out with this place. About a 40 minute drive from Springdale, Utah through Zion National Park one of the most beautiful drives you will ever experience. This is a complete outdoor family friendly resort. We were one of the first campers to check-in and general manager Michael gave us a great campsite. He asked us what type of site we wanted, secluded and great views, and he more than provided. Our site was perfect, the best campsite that any of us have ever had. We had drive to the bathroom facilities, the campsite was so private. The bathroom and shower facilities were great. Individual shower rooms with locked doors. They even had a place to wash dishes. The ranch has a pool, miniature golf, a game room, stable with horses, and a restaurant. We only used our campsite and the bathroom/shower facilities, so can't comment on the other resort's facilities. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. I highly recommend staying here if you want to be within an easy drive to Zion National Park. Camping was great, but they also offer cabins and a house.

Thanks Zion Ponderosa Ranch Resort!

Room Tip: If you are camping, make sure to tell the staff what type of campsite you would like. They will do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

My family always wanted to try out the camping adventure. I'm very reluctant about the ideas of not having to shower for few days but this "resort" ranch convinced me to finally try the camping experience.
We actually tried to book for a cabin but they were booked and so we ended up doing the tent which was fine because like what I said we always wanted to try it out.

We got to the ranch at 12 pm and the check in time was not till 4pm but the staff were nice and they let us check in early and was able to find out a good tent space. At first they placed us to tent space #2 which we thought looking at the map that it was too far fr the restroom and swimming pool. However, the ranch manager (I think he's name is mark) took us to the tent site and gave us 3 other locations to choose from. We ended up choosing tent space #2 because it was a big space with a little tree for a shade which my inlaws (old folks) enjoyed sitting under during the day. In other words, the staff were friendly and helpful on this matter.

ACTIVITIES: We did ziplining, ranger rental, and swimming pool. My kids enjoyed the ranger. The view was beautiful up there. The staff that gave us the map was very helpful and gave us a really good suggestions as far as which trails to take the best. Although it was kinda hard to follow the map and hard to find our way back to the resort because some of the little signs on the trails were not written down on the map, however we just kept on driving and found our way back to the resort eventually. Pls update your trail map.
The swimming pool needs some fixing. The tile walls have broken off. Although my kids didnt mind it at all and still had a great time swimming. It was nice to have a relaxing pool after a long hike. The water was cold but my kids found a way to warm up in the jacuzzi which was fine and still had fun.
FOOD:
we didn't get to try the food they offer at their restaurant because we brought plenty of food to cook in our campsite but it was nice to know that they have it just in case we ran out or we can't start a fire since those times we stayed it rained a lot. One of the reason we came here for the first time camping experience knowing that we have backup for food just in case things went wrong and we can't cook out.
Location:
I was kinda disappointed that the ranch was 40 mins away fr the shuttle area to get to the hiking trails. Pls state that to the website so people will know that you actually have to pass the zion park thru the tunnel to get to the shuttle. We didn't get to see the Narrow trails because it was too far for us to get to the shuttle area. One of our thing to do was to hike the narrows but it was ok because we did do our own exploring/hiking inside the zion park. We parked our truck on side of the road and just went walking and still able to see the majestic rock formations up close. My kids actually climbed some of the rocks and had a great time.

The shower and restroom is the big plus to this camping experience. The showers were actually very clean each time I went to use it. The restroom needs some updating like the sinks were rusty looking but it was fine because I didn't expect much for a ranch. At least the showers have hot water which is the best for first time camping experience.
Overall, if ur first time campers, this is the best place to start. It has toilet and hot showers. The only camping experience that you will have that has a swimming pool to relax in after a long day of hiking.
We had a great time here and will go back again. We came to this place not having a "resort" expectations because of that we didn't get disappointed but thankful we had those resort amenities during our first time "Camping" experience.
Next time we come here, I will make sure to book early to get the cabins or maybe the rental house. Thank you ponderosa ranch for wonderful experience.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Campground, cabins & restaurant with pool and lots of activities. We didn't try any of the activities or the pools but people seemed to be enjoying them. We stayed in a "covered wagon," which is basically a shed on wagon wheels made to look like a conestoga wagon with 3 very comfortable beds for a pleasant sleep. Picnic table outside. Showers and restrooms are all in a building a few minutes walk away and are clean. Pizza in the restaurant is fair. They do have pricier entrees which we didn't try but may have been good. Breakfast was buffet of basic eggs, bacon, juice and coffee with other stuff too. All basic but good. The whole place had a nice feel to it and is reasonably priced. Close to the east side of Zion park. I would return.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novi, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We stayed here with two other families and a total party of 13 people from 6/30/14-7/07/14 in the "Ranch House" vacation home. We did not stay at a "hotel" so hopefully the moderator will move this post if in wrong location.

The good: Proximity to Zion and Bryce Canyon National Parks. Nice view from the large and partially covered deck. Quiet/private lot. Nicely remodeled lower level bathroom and family room. Plenty of paved parking for vehicles next to the house. Hot showers. An array of family-friendly activities offered on-site. Responsive and pleasant staff.

So-so: Food at the on-site restaurant.

Not so good: Overall maintenance of the house/furnishings and grounds/common property.

The deck on the house is in poor condition and may even be hazardous. The gas BBQ had an over-flowing greese catch. Broken/missing screens in windows. Burn holes in furniture.

Broken patio furniture around the clubhouse pool. Huge weeds in landscaping around clubhouse pool. Missing tiles in clubhouse pool (sign posted on gate blamed harsh winter and "waiting on contractor to fix" during our July stay). Missing rubber off ping-pong paddles in Barn Game Room area.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Zion Ponderosa Ranch Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zion Ponderosa Ranch Resort

Address: Twin Knolls Road, PO Box 5547, Zion National Park, UT 84755
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Zion National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Zion National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Zion Ponderosa Ranch Resort 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the top of Zion National Park amidst a forest of Ponderosa pine trees, Zion Ponderosa Ranch Resort offers great lodging options; Vacation Homes, Cabins Suites, Cowboy Cabins, Western Wagons, and RV / Tent Campground. We offer excellent dining services at our Blue Belly Grill and Gus & Rosey's restaurants. We offer more activities on-property than any resort in the region, including horseback riding, jeep tours, zip line, climbing wall, canyoneering / hiking excursions, ATV tours, miniature golf, paint ball, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Zion Ponderosa Ranch Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zion Ponderosa Ranch Hotel Zion National Park
Zion Ponderosa Hotel
Zion Ponderosa Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zion Ponderosa Ranch Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.