We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect 1st time camping experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Zion Ponderosa Ranch Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Zion Ponderosa Ranch Resort to your Saves list
Zion Ponderosa Ranch Resort
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   Twin Knolls Road, PO Box 5547, Zion National Park, UT 84755   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Fall Offer
1 review
“Perfect 1st time camping experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

My family always wanted to try out the camping adventure. I'm very reluctant about the ideas of not having to shower for few days but this "resort" ranch convinced me to finally try the camping experience.
We actually tried to book for a cabin but they were booked and so we ended up doing the tent which was fine because like what I said we always wanted to try it out.

We got to the ranch at 12 pm and the check in time was not till 4pm but the staff were nice and they let us check in early and was able to find out a good tent space. At first they placed us to tent space #2 which we thought looking at the map that it was too far fr the restroom and swimming pool. However, the ranch manager (I think he's name is mark) took us to the tent site and gave us 3 other locations to choose from. We ended up choosing tent space #2 because it was a big space with a little tree for a shade which my inlaws (old folks) enjoyed sitting under during the day. In other words, the staff were friendly and helpful on this matter.

ACTIVITIES: We did ziplining, ranger rental, and swimming pool. My kids enjoyed the ranger. The view was beautiful up there. The staff that gave us the map was very helpful and gave us a really good suggestions as far as which trails to take the best. Although it was kinda hard to follow the map and hard to find our way back to the resort because some of the little signs on the trails were not written down on the map, however we just kept on driving and found our way back to the resort eventually. Pls update your trail map.
The swimming pool needs some fixing. The tile walls have broken off. Although my kids didnt mind it at all and still had a great time swimming. It was nice to have a relaxing pool after a long hike. The water was cold but my kids found a way to warm up in the jacuzzi which was fine and still had fun.
FOOD:
we didn't get to try the food they offer at their restaurant because we brought plenty of food to cook in our campsite but it was nice to know that they have it just in case we ran out or we can't start a fire since those times we stayed it rained a lot. One of the reason we came here for the first time camping experience knowing that we have backup for food just in case things went wrong and we can't cook out.
Location:
I was kinda disappointed that the ranch was 40 mins away fr the shuttle area to get to the hiking trails. Pls state that to the website so people will know that you actually have to pass the zion park thru the tunnel to get to the shuttle. We didn't get to see the Narrow trails because it was too far for us to get to the shuttle area. One of our thing to do was to hike the narrows but it was ok because we did do our own exploring/hiking inside the zion park. We parked our truck on side of the road and just went walking and still able to see the majestic rock formations up close. My kids actually climbed some of the rocks and had a great time.

The shower and restroom is the big plus to this camping experience. The showers were actually very clean each time I went to use it. The restroom needs some updating like the sinks were rusty looking but it was fine because I didn't expect much for a ranch. At least the showers have hot water which is the best for first time camping experience.
Overall, if ur first time campers, this is the best place to start. It has toilet and hot showers. The only camping experience that you will have that has a swimming pool to relax in after a long day of hiking.
We had a great time here and will go back again. We came to this place not having a "resort" expectations because of that we didn't get disappointed but thankful we had those resort amenities during our first time "Camping" experience.
Next time we come here, I will make sure to book early to get the cabins or maybe the rental house. Thank you ponderosa ranch for wonderful experience.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

562 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    277
    144
    58
    48
    35
See reviews for
242
137
8
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Campground, cabins & restaurant with pool and lots of activities. We didn't try any of the activities or the pools but people seemed to be enjoying them. We stayed in a "covered wagon," which is basically a shed on wagon wheels made to look like a conestoga wagon with 3 very comfortable beds for a pleasant sleep. Picnic table outside. Showers and restrooms are all in a building a few minutes walk away and are clean. Pizza in the restaurant is fair. They do have pricier entrees which we didn't try but may have been good. Breakfast was buffet of basic eggs, bacon, juice and coffee with other stuff too. All basic but good. The whole place had a nice feel to it and is reasonably priced. Close to the east side of Zion park. I would return.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novi, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We stayed here with two other families and a total party of 13 people from 6/30/14-7/07/14 in the "Ranch House" vacation home. We did not stay at a "hotel" so hopefully the moderator will move this post if in wrong location.

The good: Proximity to Zion and Bryce Canyon National Parks. Nice view from the large and partially covered deck. Quiet/private lot. Nicely remodeled lower level bathroom and family room. Plenty of paved parking for vehicles next to the house. Hot showers. An array of family-friendly activities offered on-site. Responsive and pleasant staff.

So-so: Food at the on-site restaurant.

Not so good: Overall maintenance of the house/furnishings and grounds/common property.

The deck on the house is in poor condition and may even be hazardous. The gas BBQ had an over-flowing greese catch. Broken/missing screens in windows. Burn holes in furniture.

Broken patio furniture around the clubhouse pool. Huge weeds in landscaping around clubhouse pool. Missing tiles in clubhouse pool (sign posted on gate blamed harsh winter and "waiting on contractor to fix" during our July stay). Missing rubber off ping-pong paddles in Barn Game Room area.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

The "Ranch" provides a basic, solid, varied place to get your necessities met while staying NEAR (but not IN) Zion and Bryce. Let's be clear: it is NOT a RESORT, nor, as others have pointed out, is it IN Zion. But as long as you know these things coming in, it can be a fantastic experience. Inexpensive, good food (especially the huge and varied complementary breakfast), helpful staff. We loved the pool, water slides, hot tub, foosball, pool tables, clean showers, etc.... It was a great place to retreat to after long hiking days in the Park. We stayed in a cowboy cabin, and it was just perfect for us. The place is old, and really shows some wear and tear in some ways (the barn with the kids activities is a bit broken down and dirty), thus my comment about this not being a "resort." But all that was fine with us. All our basic needs were met, and the kids LOVED the variety of activities. We wanted to stay longer.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grants Pass, Oregon
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

We booked a campground here in June because of the rave reviews and proximity to Zion. Upon driving in, it looked wonderful! Cute little cabins on the hillside, children swimming in the pool, teenagers playing miniature golf.....
When we were shown our campground spot, it was like just a clearing in the brush. Dirty (as in litter) no table, cookspot, etc. There were even 2 large mounds surrounded by old hay bales that looked hauntingly like horse graves. The space next to us was worse. There were piles of scrap lumber, metal building parts, etc. We were told that's where they dumped the extras. They did bring us a table and portable firepit. There weren't numbers assigned, so I was thinking they were full, didn't want to lose a customer, so just put us here. But we saw 2 very nice campsites empty right near the center (pool, bathrooms, etc.) that didn't have reserved signs. We stayed because it was late, but it was the worst night of a 12 day, 2,500 mile journey.

Room Tip: The cabins looked pretty good.
See more room tips
Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZionPonderosa, Public Relations Manager at Zion Ponderosa Ranch Resort, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Previously our online reservation system allowed guests to book a campsite even after our designated sites were filled. This has since been corrected and now guests are guaranteed a designated spot when they book online. Additional guests are welcome as walk-ins, but they are notified before booking that it is not a designated spot.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Page
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Unless you are bringing 10 kids with you- STAY AWAY!!! Overrun with kids is an understatement. We checked in around 7pm to our campsite and left and was in a hotel room by 9pm. Wifi is useless as we were trying to use it finding a new place to stay. We tried to get our money back- at least something and they refused. The tent sites are all open, no privacy. You will have dozens of people/kids walking by you to get to the pool and the bathrooms. The pool is very loud with kids and music until late into the evening. Then (as we were told by our neighbors) they turn on flood lights and your site becomes lite like a x-mas tree. It is also out of the way. The restaurant is just like a cafeteria you'd find in a school- for kids. There are several other places to stay in Zion, do not come here!!! HORRIBLE!!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZionPonderosa, Public Relations Manager at Zion Ponderosa Ranch Resort, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
There are a few times in summer when we have some large youth groups. We are sorry that this was not a good experience for this guest and will work on our group sizes in the future. You will see by our rating that most of our guests have a great experience with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Our family enjoys hiking and camping, but my two sons (10 and 12) LOVED the activities offered. We chose to stay here because of its proximity to Zion and Bryce Canyon. After most of the day off the property, we could come back and participate in low key kid-specific activities. I guess Zion Ponderosa is all things to everyone in my family, for different reasons. Recreation staff were always available so no reservations were needed; very convenient to just show up whenever we wanted. We also went white water rafting near Marysvale which was another highlight for everyone... and, of course, there is Zion and Bryce! We camped for 5 nights with our 24' trailer and the full hook-ups were great! Just a fantastic experience!

Room Tip: camping sites 1 - 4 are more private, the others had no shade
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Zion Ponderosa Ranch Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zion Ponderosa Ranch Resort

Address: Twin Knolls Road, PO Box 5547, Zion National Park, UT 84755
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Zion National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Zion National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Zion Ponderosa Ranch Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the top of Zion National Park amidst a forest of Ponderosa pine trees, Zion Ponderosa Ranch Resort offers great lodging options; Vacation Homes, Cabins Suites, Cowboy Cabins, Western Wagons, and RV / Tent Campground. We offer excellent dining services at our Blue Belly Grill and Gus & Rosey's restaurants. We offer more activities on-property than any resort in the region, including horseback riding, jeep tours, zip line, climbing wall, canyoneering / hiking excursions, ATV tours, miniature golf, paint ball, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Zion Ponderosa Ranch Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zion Ponderosa Ranch Hotel Zion National Park
Zion Ponderosa Hotel
Zion Ponderosa Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zion Ponderosa Ranch Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.