We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surrounded by natural beauty” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zion Lodge

Save Saved
You added Zion Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Zion Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   PO Box 925, Zion National Park, UT 84767   |  
Hotel amenities
GreenLeadersGold level
Western New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Surrounded by natural beauty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

This lodge is really great. We stayed in a cabin. We had 9 pm dinner reservations that we were just going to make, when we crossed the Arizona / Utah border and saw the time jump forward an hour and realized that AZ was not on daylight savings time. We called the lodge and they kept the restaurant open just for us. Wow what service.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

876 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    466
    296
    74
    34
    6
See reviews for
264
402
24
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

We loved our stay here! We booked a lodge suite and before our arrival, met up with some travelers who suggested room 212, so we called and asked for that room. It is on the second floor if the building next to the main lodge (no rooms at main lodge) and had a spectacular view......I am sure all views facing the front of building are good but this room was perfect! There were two main rooms....our bedroom and a living room with a large pull out couch with a door that closed between the rooms. The shower and toilet were shared, but sort of like connecting form rooms, there were two wash basin areas which really helped. Esthetic wise, there is lots of nice dark wood trim and matching wood furnishings......nicely done. They try to be green and they have a matching wood container to separate trash from recycle items. The beds were comfy and there were outlets by our beds for our devices and also a strip on the wooden desk where things could be plugged in. Only downside is that they limit room to two devices which let out our iPad since we chose to connect our two phones. If you have teenagers it would be a disappointment. My husband enjoyed the Keurig coffee maker. We stayed three nights and enjoyed every minute.......we are older and had a ten year old grandchild with us. Not normally the hiker types, we took two easy hikes to the Emerald Pool lower and the Riverside and even rented boots, socks and poles to do part of the Narrows which was a thrill for all if us. As a clutz, I took two poles for this and was glad I did......we are in our late 60's .....it was a great memorable adventure! Highly recommend "Ride with a Ranger" also for a great orientation.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

The lodge was rustic but had all the important amenities and all was in good order. The convenience of staying at the lodge cannot be be overstated. The food at the restaurants was very good and the service excellent.

We like to stay at the lodges inside the parks because of the convenience which gives us more time to explore the parks instead of losing time traveling to and from the park. The cost is higher but we are willing to pay for that and save elsewhere.

We stayed at the lodges inside Grand Canyon and Yellowstone and have always been impressed with the cleanliness of the rooms as well as the food. Xanterra does a great job running the establishments.

On our first visit to Zion we did all the obvious hikes the first time visitor is directed to do. It is a gorgeous park and the hikes are stunning. We ventured to the town outside the park and had a lovely time there as well.

The free shuttle service provided at Zion and Grand Canyon parks is a jewel which affords such convenience and ease to enjoying the parks.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Felt rustic, but not too rustic for me. The grounds are beautiful and well maintained, with lots of grass for the kids to run around. The room was spacious and clean with a porch facing the magnificent view. Conveniently located in the park, with helpful service in the lobby. Get all the info you need to plan your stay safely. I will be back, Zion Lodge!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Very peaceful cottages within walking distance to main lodge. Restaurant on site is excellent and they have a snack shop as well. Trams taking tourist instead of driving yourself is a real benefit. Very nice shop inside for small nic-nacs.

Room Tip: Try to get a small cabin
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collegeville, Pennsylvania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

I guess the title should actually read the "only" lodging in Zion National Park, but that doesn't detract from the ideal location and wonderful accommodations offered by this lodge. The lodge is located on the main canyon road in the park which is accessible only by shuttle in the summer time (rest assured, those with lodge reservations are given a pass to drive the road back to the lodge only during this time), and offers astounding views of the local wildlife and canyon itself. Quite simply, the location cannot be beat, and the price is comparable to that of many other hotels where we've stayed.

Our family of 5 (2 adults, 3 teenage daughters) fit comfortably in one of the hotel rooms with a roll away bed. There was enough room to accommodate us, although the lodging was a bit snug with the luggage factored in. While it wasn't cavernous, the room did allow us to rest comfortably without being on top of one another. Overall, the rooms and linens were clean. The covered porch was a nice touch and allowed us to sit outside in the evening and enjoy the views. Our building (and I think it's common to every building) had a common area for lounging or playing games. Perhaps my one main gripe was actually the location of our room in the building which was directly across from the housekeeping laundry facilities and was quite loud in the morning once the staff started up the machinery. Because we were in Zion to explore, this was not a major issue since our family was up early each day anyway. But, something to consider if like to sleep past 8am.

Wi-fi usage is limited to two devices per room at a time. A little issue that only slightly disappointed a few device-strapped kids, but we were all able to work around it (wi-fi usage in the main lodge is not similarly capped). Again, not a major issue for us, but something to be aware of.

Staff we encountered during our stay were very courteous and helpful. When we requested a rollaway bed at check-in, it was brought to our room almost immediately. Requests for extra towels and lines were also responded to immediately. Check-in was quick and friendly.

The main lodge included a gift shop and a restaurant that served breakfast, lunch and dinner, and also included a quick service cafe with more limited hours. For dinner, the restaurant requires advance reservations, but the lounge does not. Since we arrived a bit later in the evening, our family just opted for the lounge service. The dinner (consisting of several burgers and beverages, including two beers) was a bit pricey ($80 with tip), but not outside the realm of comparable options. The food and service were both very good.

Book early (we booked about 9 months in advance) to ensure availability as this lodge seems to fill-up very quickly.

All in all, a fantastic choice when exploring Zion. Location, value and comfort are really very good. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newburgh, Indiana
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

My daughter and her friend joined me on a hiking trip in Zion National Park, and we chose to stay at the only in-park hotel, the Zion Lodge. What a magnificent choice! The rooms were comfortable and our first-floor room had a porch on which we could sit and just stare at the incredible vistas of sandstone and gypsum cliffs. The lodge's Red Rock restaurant served excellent meals, and even in mid-summer, wasn't overly busy. And the service staff were very helpful, and gave great advice on hiking routes to take, the shuttle bus schedules, and weather outlooks. Everything is well-maintained, and you can't beat the easy access to all of the hiking trails.

Room Tip: Get a first floor room, and if you want close access to the main lodge, ask for a room in a building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Zion Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zion Lodge

Also Known As:
Zion Hotel Zion National Park
Zion Hotel Springdale
Zion Lodge Utah
Zion Utah
Lodge National Park Zion
Address: PO Box 925, Zion National Park, UT 84767
Location: United States > Utah > Zion National Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Zion National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Zion Lodge 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelsClick and Otel so you can book your Zion Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zion Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.