We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Zion Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Zion Lodge to your Saves list
Zion Lodge
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   PO Box 925, Zion National Park, UT 84767   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
Watford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We stayed in the hotel at the Lodge. Rooms are clean, comfortable and large. Food at the only restaurant is good and the staff very friendly. Buses stop running on the last Saturday of October so there were loads of cars around and it made it hard to visit some of the sites. Overall a nice place to vist as the scenery is beautiful.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room away from the road noise, you need to ask for a room at the back of the hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    649
    389
    89
    43
    8
See reviews for
361
554
31
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (307)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Pros: Great views, Ideal location in the midst of the Canyon Scenic Drive, served by the park shuttle during peak season, Wi-Fi connected, friendly staff, nice bed and bathroom, fearless Bambis wandering across the lawn, wild turkeys hanging out near the door.

Cons: can be costly depending on your budget, first floor rooms are dark, loud neighbors partying on their patio are easily heard in your room, no lights along the walk path to the Lodge (bring a flashlight).

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

The lodge at Zion National Park has excellent views from the side facing the parking lot. The accommodations are clean and well maintained. The staff were friendly and helpful. We were very pleased with our stay there.

Room Tip: Choose the parking lot side for the best views as the "canyon side" is too close to the wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa Bay, Florida
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

As always, I try to stay at least one night in the lodge when I visit national parks. While this was not as historically significant as some other lodges are, there is one huge benefit. The shuttle (the only vehicle transportation allowed to the north part of the park) stops right at the lodge. So you strap on your pack, grab your trekking poles and go! No lines, no crowds. Even though I arrived at Zion around noon, I could not get a campsite. I was headed for Springdale, which some people recommended to me but I stopped at the Visitors Center first. Am I glad I did! I booked my stay for the Lodge at the Visitors Center and paid about $180. I had a Western cabin. Fortunately the neighbors were quiet. The views were magnificent and the stars were so visible because they kept outdoor lighting to a minimum. There are several trails to take directly from the lodge also for an early morning walk. After dark, it seems like you have Zion all to yourself...it's so quiet! The restaurant served huge portions. I ordered a salad and then an appetizer for my main course and that was plenty for me. The outdoor cafe has ice cream...always a treat after a long day of hiking. You can stay just outside the park and pay a little less, but the conveniences of having the shuttle stop almost at your doorstep, coupled with the solitude and magnificence of this incredible national park are worth the money. I camped the second night at the campground and took the shuttle from the Visitors Center. What a crowd! You have huge parking lots, lines for the shuttles and generally a "Disney" type of atmosphere. I am glad I was able to enjoy the Lodge for one night.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagle, Michigan
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We stayed in Cabin 529 for 3 nights in October. We have stayed in National Park lodging in the past so expected the same basic, rustic rooms. The cabin here was a very nice surprise. The bathroom was wonderful, the bed was cozy and warm, and there was hardwood or laminate on the floor. There were other guests in the adjoining cabins but we never heard them. Cabin 529 is a long walk from the Lodge but we didn't mind the distance. It was nice to hop on the shuttle bus, hike for a couple of hours and then stop off at our room for a little while before heading out again. The last time we were here, we stayed in Springdale. The room there was less expensive but I think the opportunity to stay in the park is well worth the extra cost.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Stayed in a cabin for one night. Cabins updated in style of original design, including furnishings. Very pleasant rooms. Did find it amusing that they appear to have tried hard to replicate the original design, only for a large number of electrical cables to not quite be hidden behind the desk!
Bathroom and dressing area clean and presentable. Toiletries provided. In room safe and coffee making facilities. Remember, no TV - or mobile phone reception.
Cabins have a porch area with seating which was a nice touch.
Tried out the restaurant, which we were told at check in had to be booked. However, we tried our luck and they had a table...Turns out they had quite a few tables, so if you arrive late (as we did), give it a try. The food was quite pleasant but I felt it was overpriced. I suppose they can charge what they want as it's the only food available at the Lodge. A 10/15 minute drive out of the park will get you to the town and more options if that's what you want.
Zion Lodge is in the park. As such, the scenery is amazing. You'll take so many photos whilst walking around the Lodge!

Room Tip: Any room will have an amazing view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caldwell, New Jersey
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stayed one night each in the motel and a cabin. Our first floor motel room, though facing the back, didn't have much of a view. The neighbors upstairs were loud, dropping things on the floor and moving around on the wooden floors late at night. The bed was very comfy.

Our second night was in a cabin. Like our Bryce Lodge experience, there is a shared door with the adjoining room. Noise wasn't a factor as it was at Bryce but that was because the neighbors were decidely more quiet.

It is worth staying in the park because the setting is incredible. You walk out the door and just look straight up at these magnificent cliffs. One of the easier hikes originates right at the lodge. We saw and did a lot in our two day stay. The shuttle was great, very little waiting time.

Room Tip: If you're staying in the motel, try for a second floor room. There is no elevator, though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Zion Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zion Lodge

Address: PO Box 925, Zion National Park, UT 84767
Location: United States > Utah > Zion National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Zion National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2 star — Zion Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Despegar.com so you can book your Zion Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zion Hotel Zion National Park
Zion Hotel Springdale
Zion Lodge Utah
Zion Utah
Lodge National Park Zion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zion Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.