We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice ride” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kolob Terrace Road

Kolob Terrace Road
Zion National Park, UT
Improve this listing
Activities: Driving
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A winding road that climbs to a high elevation with beautiful scenery and very few visitors
Boulder City, Nv
Level Contributor
130 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 279 helpful votes
“Nice ride”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

The Crew and I were up working in Cedar City last week and after work I took a ride up Kolob Terrace Road on the way back to Cedar. You start out in Virgin Utah and head up the Canyon towards Kolob Lake. The drive gives you great views of red rocks and the forest,
You wind up at Kolob Lake which is way down due to Drought this last year. From the lake you can continue on on a dirt road ( County maintained) and come out on old County 91 just south of Cedar City. A great drive if you are in a 4wd or just a Pickup. The Meadows were all in bloom with yellow and purple flowerers and the greenest grass of the year. Made for some great photos and memories. I will be going back again next week for more work in the area and will be taking this Long Cut back from St George to Cedar again.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    7
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful drive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

Beautiful drive on a well paved road. Turning onto Lava Point Road there were some pot holes but we were in a Toyota Corolla and had no problem. Gorgeous view from the top of lava point. Worth the drive.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
351 reviews
207 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
“road all to myself, too bad for the rest of you”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

no one else in sight, which suits me fine... the snow showers and fog served to enhance the incredible beauty to be found along this road, which is easily accessible... past trips with my daughter, we camped here, rewarded with clear sky filled with stars, even a few meteors... even then, very few others were on road, so do not think it was weather keeping folks away, people just do not realize what they are missing

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
58 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Not Quite Zion”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We arrived in Las Vegas for a long planned bucket-list trip to the national parks the night before the government shutdown. Thank you Congress! Thank goodness for the NV, UT, CO, AZ state parks and Native American tourist sites. Just to the west of Zion National Park is a very small town called Virgin and a road leading north called Kolob Reservoir Road. In part it skirts the western edge of the park and provides access to several of the park’s trails. For our purpose it served as an alternative for exploring the Kolob Canyon area while the park was closed. Those portions of the road that are not in park land provide some interesting sights. Our favorite was Lambs Knoll. Park on teh dirt road and follow the hiking trail to the base of the mountain and you will find a slot canyon – not for the claustrophobic. Of course this pales in comparison to Zion itself but if you want a diversion into some of the back country, it is an interesting ride.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Georgia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Drove up in the dark...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

and pitched our camp at Lava Point. We awoke to find wonderful scenery, beautiful aspen trees and and breathtaking overlooks near the campground. But, the real prize was the drive back down Kolob Terrace. Road. Every turn will amaze you, and leave you speechless with the beauty of the scenery. It's about a 25 miles drive up from Virgin UT, but don't miss it. Even if you do not camp or explore the Kolob Reservoir, the scenery from the road makes it a side trip worth exploring.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kolob Terrace Road also viewed

Zion National Park, UT
 
Zion National Park, UT
Zion National Park, UT
 

Been to Kolob Terrace Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kolob Terrace Road, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.