We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Zion Park - Your tax dollars at work” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zion's Main Canyon

Zion's Main Canyon
Superintendent, Zion National Park, Springdale, Zion National Park, UT 84767
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$239*
and up
Bryce Canyon and Zion National Parks Small-Group...
Type: Canyons, Nature & Parks
Activities: Hiking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The most popular route through Zion, which includes the famous top-to-bottom Narrows Hike, Weeping Rock, Emerald Pools, and Hidden Canyon.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Tampa, Florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Zion Park - Your tax dollars at work”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

This was my first visit to a national park. It is about 2.5 hrs from Las Vegas.
Hotels are lined up about a half mile from park. (I stayed at Hampton Inn. Excellent choice)
The park is beautiful beyond words. Great vistas. Try the "Ride with a Ranger". Sign up at the Desk in visitors center. It's very clean and organized. Buses run the scenic trail every 5 minutes.
Seniors can get a pass for $10 for all parks for a year!
Go.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

814 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    701
    90
    15
    8
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
195 reviews 195 reviews
103 attraction reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“Great Secenery !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

I was here for 2 days spent one day on the small hikes and the other day Horse Riding up 2000 feet in the Park, The Shuttle Buses take you everywhere that you need to go, You will see wildlife just keep a eye out for them, There is much to see and do in this park with so many amazing views, Also spend some time in Springdale as it has quite a few Restaurants and some shops that you might like.

I had a great time here and would recommend Zion National Park to my Family and friends !!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zaandam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
37 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Zion's starting point”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

The main canyon is your starting point for everything there is to visit. You will drive through it by car (or by shuttle bus during the peak of tourist season). Some wildlife can be seen, but Zion mostly offers both short and long hikes, including The Narrows and the Angel's Landing trail.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Adventures await”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

We were staying in St George and took two different day trips to see Zion. The first day we made the mistake of not even trying to park inside the park. We took the Springdale Shuttle to the Zion shuttle, but had standing room only because we were the last stop. It's hard to do with 4 small kids (one in a back carrier), lunches, extra supplies (like diapers), and a camera to carry. Once we walked through the fee gate our group of 10 got on a Zion shuttle (although I think we cut in front of another group of waiting people, not sure, but there were no clear lines and it was so hot already at 10am). On the shuttle we tried to hear the tour recording, but there was a loud mouth behind us who wanted to let everyone know about her adventurous life. The views were amazing from the shuttle and we got to our destination (the Narrows) in about 45 minutes or less. The mile long river walk was ok with stops along the way to get into the Virgin River if one so desired. At the end of the river walk hike was a crowded pile up of people waiting for others or resting. They recommend having good hiking/water shoes, and a hiking stick/pole.The Outfitter store also sells neoprene socks (wetsuit for your toes), but people complained about them when they were hiking on dry land. Although I saw many types of shoes being worn and people with 2, 1, or no sticks I think everyone who came to the Narrows had some kind of adventure (I tell my kids an adventure is something you are doing that you have no idea the outcome, but you should still try it none the less).
Advice: I took off my jogging shoes and put on water shoes, big mistake! I should have had more support/protection under my arches. I wish my hiking sandals didn't break right before the trip (I guess it's better than during the trip). Also, I carried my youngest in a carrier on my back part of the way. That made my experience more trying and difficult. I had 5 other adult friends with me so I didn't have to worry about my other 3 young kids who were having a blast getting soaking wet. At one point one of my daughters lost her shoes twice. Each time we walked or swam down the river a ways and someone was putting the lost shoe in a place easy to find again. I lost my one of my own shoes that were tied to to the baby carrier on my back and found it tied to a tree near the entrance of the Narrows. So cool!!! I wanted to go further up the Narrows but I think I'm going to have to wait till my youngest is able to walk more on her own and next time I'll wear good hiking sandals. The walking stick was a life saver a few times.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Zion NP was just what I needed in getting away from the city. Great shuttle service into the park along with the guides pointing out things to see along the way. Most of the hikes were long of which I was not ready for. But the shorter hikes were great - especially to The Narrows and spend time in the river. Great time and views.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zion's Main Canyon also viewed

Zion National Park, UT
Zion National Park, UT
 
Zion National Park, UT
 

Been to Zion's Main Canyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zion's Main Canyon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.