We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All boat sites full” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ash River Visitor Center

Ash River Visitor Center
Highway 53, Meadwood Lodge, Voyageurs National Park, MN
218-374-3221
Improve this listing
Attraction details
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“All boat sites full”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

Scenic area, but campsites are first come first serve. All sites were full on our visit. Ones needs to travel many miles between campsites. It was very frustrating spending the day just looking for an empty campsite. Again beautiful area, but it frustrating, hopefully the park service can come up with a better systemin the future.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    9
    2
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Best Place To Go If You Don't Have A Boat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Our boat tour was cancelled due to sequestration. I wish I had come to Ash River before the other areas of the park. There are several short trails with overlooks which are very nice. If you aren't going on a boat tour or don't have a your own boat, then this is your next best option.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
580 reviews 580 reviews
329 attraction reviews
Reviews in 268 cities Reviews in 268 cities
306 helpful votes 306 helpful votes
“Quite, scenic beauty-probably the closest Voyageur experience without a boat.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

It was fairly early in the morning when I rolled into the Ash River section of Voyageurs National Park. This is a sleepy area, and I started down the forest overlook trail but as the trail melted away and the bugs overcame my desire, I turned back. I did make it through the beaver pond overlook and that was worth the hike and the extra bug spray. While at the visitors center (which was closed) I did enjoy the lone island off in the distance, a beaver making some breakfast out of a birch tree and what I imagine the best of the Voyageurs park without having a boat. These are the rocky shorelines I would expect to see...

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcell, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very interesting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

They have all types of maps and the staff is great. You can get all kinds of information about the area and the lake.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
International Falls, Minnesota
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Ash River”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

I brought my cousin there from Texas and he like the area so much we called about some property that was for sale close by.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ash River Visitor Center also viewed

Voyageurs National Park, MN
Voyageurs National Park, MN
 
Voyageurs National Park, MN
Voyageurs National Park, MN
 

Been to Ash River Visitor Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ash River Visitor Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.