We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous view of the badlands” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Painted Canyon Overlook

Painted Canyon Overlook
Theodore Roosevelt National Park, ND
Improve this listing
Type: Scenic/ Historic Walking Areas, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Begin your visit to the Teddy Roosevelt National Park with a spectacular view of the Badlands, a flat desert landscape broken by petrified wood and rock formations.
The Wilds of Montana
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Gorgeous view of the badlands”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Really scenic view from a rest stop off the Interstate. Gives one an excellent view of the badlands in this region. Note: may be closed int eh Winter.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    12
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
39 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Do the hike to the bottom!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

We arrived mid morning before it got too hot. We found the trailhead and spent about 45 min. exploring the canyon floor. It was the best hike of our trip because we were so close to the rock formations. It was pretty steep going back to the parking area, but the view was worth it! We should have brought more bottled water.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aiken, South Carolina
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
76 attraction reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“Painted Canyon Overlook is worth the stop.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

It was at least 105 degrees and the pavement and rocks were baking up at us, but the view was worth the stop. It wasn't at all what we expected. The Visitors' Center was a nice oasis of air conditioning and cold water fountains. This was our first stop in Teddy Roosevelt National Park. We had expected trees rather than rocks. This Visitors' Center is free. There is a charge for the North and South Units.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mass
Top Contributor
483 reviews 483 reviews
418 attraction reviews
Reviews in 188 cities Reviews in 188 cities
629 helpful votes 629 helpful votes
“Good stop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

While the overall vastness of the view is quite striking, with a name like "painted canyon" one would anticipate a much more colorful vista. We took the mile hike and got to feel a bit closer to the place which helped. Overall this was the best part of the park.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bismarck, North Dakota
Top Contributor
287 reviews 287 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 106 cities Reviews in 106 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“You will love the view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

What a wonderful view. Try being their early in the day or towards sunset. Colors are fantastic. Amazing to see what mother nature has done

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Painted Canyon Overlook also viewed

Theodore Roosevelt National Park, ND
Theodore Roosevelt National Park, ND
 
Theodore Roosevelt National Park, ND
 

Been to Painted Canyon Overlook? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Painted Canyon Overlook, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.