We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Views Little Wildlife” 3 of 5 stars
Review of North Unit

North Unit
208 Scenic Drive, Theodore Roosevelt National Park, ND 58854
Improve this listing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: One half of Theodore Roosevelt National Park, separated from the rest of the park by almost 50 miles.
Baker, Montana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Views Little Wildlife”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We had been here once before years ago and thought we'd go thru the park again as it was on the way to our destination. It's a lovely quite park with great views! Saw many birds, butterflies, mosquitos and 2 bison but no other wildlife. The scenery is quite lovely with many wild flowers, I'd never seen before, in full bloom.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    5
    5
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Broomfield, Colorado
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Worth the trek”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

The North Unit of TRNP is great half day trip. There are only about a half dozen scenic pullouts, but well worth the time. Be sure to get out and explore! Great places for photos and lots of bison. We only saw a handful of other cars while we were there in May.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malvern, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
394 reviews 394 reviews
56 attraction reviews
Reviews in 177 cities Reviews in 177 cities
322 helpful votes 322 helpful votes
“Rugged and wild...stunning scenary.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

The entire scenic route is now open. The route is out and back the same way, which is great to revisit your favorite vistas. The roundtrip mileage is approx. 28 miles. Currently, the North Unit visitor center is only open on the weekends. The auto route into the park starts near the Little Missouri River and winds its way up into the hills. There are some amazing views at the end of the route at the Oxbow Overlook and along the way at the Riverbend Overlook. Past the Riverbend Overlook area you are atop the broad hill and its expansive view. I personally enjoyed the views along the lower elevations. The Caprock Coulee trail is worth taking. Interesting formations at Cannonball Concretions. Drive slowly and watch for bison, many which graze alongside the road. It is not uncommon for bison to cross the road. They can be dangerous, so don't get too close and do not startle them. I can not compare the North with the South unit; each are unique and beautiful.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Top Contributor
207 reviews 207 reviews
136 attraction reviews
Reviews in 124 cities Reviews in 124 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“Go for a Hike, See Tons of Bison and Beautiful Vistas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Pros: Saw beautiful vistas, and more wild bison that I've seen anywhere else short of Yellowstone. Take the Caprock Coulee Nature Trail with the Upper Caprock Coulee Trail for the full 5 mile hike. It was fantastic!

Cons: Some of the bison were a little close, and none too pleased with our appearance. Had to wait for them to move off the trail to continue.

Note: Scenic drive was closed 6 miles in when we visited.

Tip: Travel in groups of three or more for safety. Make noise.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sidney, Montana
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“The prairie is not all flat.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

The North Unit is an oasis in the prairie. Deep cut valleys cut by the Little Missouri River, elk, bison, a good place for the family, especially if you like to hike

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed North Unit also viewed

Theodore Roosevelt National Park, ND
Theodore Roosevelt National Park, ND
 

Been to North Unit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage North Unit, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.