We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, Location, Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Skyland Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Skyland Resort to your Saves list
Skyland Resort
2.0 of 5 Resort   |   Mile 41.7 Skyline Drive, Shenandoah National Park, Shenandoah National Park, VA 22835   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
North Shore, MA
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Location, Location, Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Keep in mind that the reason you've come is for the breathtaking scenery, access to exceptional recreational activities and countless wildlife viewing opportunities - don't be fooled by the word "resort." Skyland is rustic, no frills lodging with limited amenities and the occasional spider and millipede! You may or may not have a tv in your room (we did - an "old school" set, but our friends did not). Paint was peeling on our friend's bathroom ceiling. Decor is dated. While we found the dining room food to be very good (order breakfast off the menu - buffet is lackluster), the service was horrendous. One morning we waited a half-hour before anyone took our order, at which point we summoned the manager. Carolyn, a waitress from another station, came to our rescue and was excellent. Another night in the Taproom the waiter was visibly shaken by our large party (and a bit rude) - not a good sign with Memorial Day weekend approaching! Our housekeeper, Carol was excellent - pleasant and accommodating - always remembering our extra packet of in-room coffee (which was excellent, by the way). All in all, the Skyland is a good value, especially if you are able to take advantage of a mid-week special. The views are spectacular and it is a wonderful place to relax. We were there to bicycle Skyline Drive with friends and it was a perfect place to stay for this purpose. We may try Great Meadows next trip.

Room Tip: Upper rooms afford the best views, but in warmer weather they may be hotter than the lower levels as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    489
    498
    147
    58
    32
See reviews for
390
591
51
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (480)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tiffin, Ohio
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

I enjoyed my stay at the Skyland Resort. We were in the lodge and the view from our balcony was fantastic. It is rustic with their panelled walls, but the room was clean and the beds comfy. Also, we were treated to a buffet for both dinner and breakfast and both were yummy. The pina colada at dinner was delicious.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parsippany, New Jersey, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Since, there are very few choices of food in Shenandoah valley and this is the first dining place when you enter the Skyline drive after visiting the Luray Caverns, this is the most obvious choice for people to replenish themselves during the lunch time, and that's exactly what we did. First of all there was a huge anaconda snake like queue of people waiting to be seated, there were very few people to serve (but those few, particularly one smiling lady were really busy and I seriously think the management should consider hiring more people for serving and taking hours). We waited for almost 30 mins in the queue and when our turn had finally come, we seated ourselves (Pls note that we had to seat ourselves as there was no one free to offer us a table), The table had not been cleaned and still had the dirty dishes from the previous lunch. We still waited for another 30 mins, we were starving and needed something atleast to fill our stomachs. However, there was no one to attend us. We, very embarrassingly tried attracting the attention of some of them to take our orders but each time we were told "we would be with you in few seconds". Those few seconds never came and we just walked away from the place. Angry and Starving, we stopped at the Big Meadows Dining hall where the service was much better and we could finally have something to eat. A terrible experience in the otherwise pleasant Skyline drive!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park Ridge, Illinois
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We had a recent stay at the resort for a family wedding. Basically you're a captive audience for the one dining room in the resort. We had a large party (12) and had to wait over 2 hours for our food! Then the food was marginal and actually bad in some cases to the point of sending items back. Supposedly they are under new management. Management- note to be attentive to your customers and get your kitchen service up to speed. We did not return to the dining room again.

Room Tip: Rooms are dated and pricey but the views are very pretty.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

This lodge is the place to stay if you want great hiking nearby and excellent views from your room. The staff are helpful when it comes to questions about hikes, but not very helpful with much else. I've stayed here twice and would do so again because you can literally watch the sunset from your room, the food is good and vegetarian friendly (and all local and sustainable) and the proximity to great hikes. The evening entertainment each night is an added plus!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

We made a reservation for a king size bedroom with a view. When we arrived we were put into a handicap room, no TV. When I asked the front desk, I was told that we didn't specify a tv...even though it was in the room description. I replied that the room had a toilet, but I didn't request that, so where do we draw the line. I was eventually moved to another room that was fine.

Now the restaurant or dining room was ridiculously slow. We were there for over two hours. Everyone waited over an hour for their food and it was inconsistent at best. Attaching a picture so you can see how a table is setup for a group of five.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

I stayed in the Trout Cabin for one night. The cabin was built in 1911 and has a wonderful rustic charm. It was terrific to stay in a place with a porch and screen door. There are hiking trails accessible by just walking out the door. There is a very pleasant dining room a few steps away via a lovely trail in the woods. I would stay there again and encourage people to go there. However, be warned that this and I think most other cabins are duplexes and the walls are the thinnest ever. I felt as if I were in bed with the couple next door as they spoke to each other. Though many cabins were empty on a weekday before Memorial day we were placed next door and sound really travels. Also the shower is very small. Still the charm is worth it.

Room Tip: You might ask about a cabin with no next door room or other suggestion to get a good night's res...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Skyland Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skyland Resort

Address: Mile 41.7 Skyline Drive, Shenandoah National Park, Shenandoah National Park, VA 22835
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Shenandoah National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Shenandoah National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Skyland Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 177
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Skyland Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skyland Resort Luray
Skyland Hotel Luray
Skyland Resort Virginia
Skyland Virginia
Skyland Resort Shenandoah
Luray Skyland Resort
Skyland Va

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Skyland Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.