We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, but a bit dated!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Skyland Resort

Save Saved
You added Skyland Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Skyland Resort
2.0 of 5 Resort   |   Mile 41.7 Skyline Drive, Shenandoah National Park, Shenandoah National Park, VA 22835   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Tiffin, Ohio
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Nice, but a bit dated!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

I enjoyed my stay at the Skyland Resort. We were in the lodge and the view from our balcony was fantastic. It is rustic with their panelled walls, but the room was clean and the beds comfy. Also, we were treated to a buffet for both dinner and breakfast and both were yummy. The pina colada at dinner was delicious.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

828 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    310
    343
    106
    45
    24
See reviews for
252
414
32
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (290)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Parsippany, New Jersey, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Since, there are very few choices of food in Shenandoah valley and this is the first dining place when you enter the Skyline drive after visiting the Luray Caverns, this is the most obvious choice for people to replenish themselves during the lunch time, and that's exactly what we did. First of all there was a huge anaconda snake like queue of people waiting to be seated, there were very few people to serve (but those few, particularly one smiling lady were really busy and I seriously think the management should consider hiring more people for serving and taking hours). We waited for almost 30 mins in the queue and when our turn had finally come, we seated ourselves (Pls note that we had to seat ourselves as there was no one free to offer us a table), The table had not been cleaned and still had the dirty dishes from the previous lunch. We still waited for another 30 mins, we were starving and needed something atleast to fill our stomachs. However, there was no one to attend us. We, very embarrassingly tried attracting the attention of some of them to take our orders but each time we were told "we would be with you in few seconds". Those few seconds never came and we just walked away from the place. Angry and Starving, we stopped at the Big Meadows Dining hall where the service was much better and we could finally have something to eat. A terrible experience in the otherwise pleasant Skyline drive!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park Ridge, Illinois
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We had a recent stay at the resort for a family wedding. Basically you're a captive audience for the one dining room in the resort. We had a large party (12) and had to wait over 2 hours for our food! Then the food was marginal and actually bad in some cases to the point of sending items back. Supposedly they are under new management. Management- note to be attentive to your customers and get your kitchen service up to speed. We did not return to the dining room again.

Room Tip: Rooms are dated and pricey but the views are very pretty.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

This lodge is the place to stay if you want great hiking nearby and excellent views from your room. The staff are helpful when it comes to questions about hikes, but not very helpful with much else. I've stayed here twice and would do so again because you can literally watch the sunset from your room, the food is good and vegetarian friendly (and all local and sustainable) and the proximity to great hikes. The evening entertainment each night is an added plus!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

We made a reservation for a king size bedroom with a view. When we arrived we were put into a handicap room, no TV. When I asked the front desk, I was told that we didn't specify a tv...even though it was in the room description. I replied that the room had a toilet, but I didn't request that, so where do we draw the line. I was eventually moved to another room that was fine.

Now the restaurant or dining room was ridiculously slow. We were there for over two hours. Everyone waited over an hour for their food and it was inconsistent at best. Attaching a picture so you can see how a table is setup for a group of five.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

I stayed in the Trout Cabin for one night. The cabin was built in 1911 and has a wonderful rustic charm. It was terrific to stay in a place with a porch and screen door. There are hiking trails accessible by just walking out the door. There is a very pleasant dining room a few steps away via a lovely trail in the woods. I would stay there again and encourage people to go there. However, be warned that this and I think most other cabins are duplexes and the walls are the thinnest ever. I felt as if I were in bed with the couple next door as they spoke to each other. Though many cabins were empty on a weekday before Memorial day we were placed next door and sound really travels. Also the shower is very small. Still the charm is worth it.

Room Tip: You might ask about a cabin with no next door room or other suggestion to get a good night's res...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lombard, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Our 4 night stay at Skyland Resort was good. We were there during a very rainy, foggy time in early May. We were in Appledore and had great views when the fog lifted. After reading the reviews we were concerned but we were delighted with our room and surprised to find a TV and coffee pot in the room. The beds were comfortable, the large picture window and balcony looked out on a beautiful mountain view and a town in the valley below. The water in the shower was hot and we had excellent housekeeping service daily.

The food in the lodge was very good most of the time. The seafood was excellent and the first night everyone in our party was very happy with their meals. A manager stopped at the table to see if everything was alright. We took all our meals at the lodge and noticed that the service was uneven, some days we would have to ask for things repeatedly. They do run out of menu items, one day it was turkey another day it was a fish selection. They were out of oatmeal and blueberries at breakfast our last 2 days. The chairs in the pub are more comfortable than the chairs in the dining room. We enjoyed the fresh healthy menu items offered. The prices seemed fair but we are from Chicago and used to higher restaurant prices. Nightly entertainment in the Pub was a nice surprise; one night we stayed and listened to a folk singer other nights we caught a few minutes of singers or dancers.

Make the trip for the wonderful view and hiking opportunities in Shenandoah National Park and don't expect a 5 star resort in a National Park and you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Skyland Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skyland Resort

Address: Mile 41.7 Skyline Drive, Shenandoah National Park, Shenandoah National Park, VA 22835
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Shenandoah National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Shenandoah National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Skyland Resort 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Skyland Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skyland Resort Luray
Skyland Hotel Luray
Skyland Resort Virginia
Skyland Virginia
Skyland Resort Shenandoah
Luray Skyland Resort
Skyland Va

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Skyland Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.