We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning views from your room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Skyland Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Skyland Resort to your Saves list
Skyland Resort
2.0 of 5 Resort   |   Mile 41.7 Skyline Drive, Shenandoah National Park, Shenandoah National Park, VA 22835   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Stunning views from your room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

This lodge is the place to stay if you want great hiking nearby and excellent views from your room. The staff are helpful when it comes to questions about hikes, but not very helpful with much else. I've stayed here twice and would do so again because you can literally watch the sunset from your room, the food is good and vegetarian friendly (and all local and sustainable) and the proximity to great hikes. The evening entertainment each night is an added plus!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,036 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    395
    431
    128
    55
    27
See reviews for
328
506
41
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (401)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax, Virginia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

We made a reservation for a king size bedroom with a view. When we arrived we were put into a handicap room, no TV. When I asked the front desk, I was told that we didn't specify a tv...even though it was in the room description. I replied that the room had a toilet, but I didn't request that, so where do we draw the line. I was eventually moved to another room that was fine.

Now the restaurant or dining room was ridiculously slow. We were there for over two hours. Everyone waited over an hour for their food and it was inconsistent at best. Attaching a picture so you can see how a table is setup for a group of five.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

I stayed in the Trout Cabin for one night. The cabin was built in 1911 and has a wonderful rustic charm. It was terrific to stay in a place with a porch and screen door. There are hiking trails accessible by just walking out the door. There is a very pleasant dining room a few steps away via a lovely trail in the woods. I would stay there again and encourage people to go there. However, be warned that this and I think most other cabins are duplexes and the walls are the thinnest ever. I felt as if I were in bed with the couple next door as they spoke to each other. Though many cabins were empty on a weekday before Memorial day we were placed next door and sound really travels. Also the shower is very small. Still the charm is worth it.

Room Tip: You might ask about a cabin with no next door room or other suggestion to get a good night's res...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lombard, Illinois
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Our 4 night stay at Skyland Resort was good. We were there during a very rainy, foggy time in early May. We were in Appledore and had great views when the fog lifted. After reading the reviews we were concerned but we were delighted with our room and surprised to find a TV and coffee pot in the room. The beds were comfortable, the large picture window and balcony looked out on a beautiful mountain view and a town in the valley below. The water in the shower was hot and we had excellent housekeeping service daily.

The food in the lodge was very good most of the time. The seafood was excellent and the first night everyone in our party was very happy with their meals. A manager stopped at the table to see if everything was alright. We took all our meals at the lodge and noticed that the service was uneven, some days we would have to ask for things repeatedly. They do run out of menu items, one day it was turkey another day it was a fish selection. They were out of oatmeal and blueberries at breakfast our last 2 days. The chairs in the pub are more comfortable than the chairs in the dining room. We enjoyed the fresh healthy menu items offered. The prices seemed fair but we are from Chicago and used to higher restaurant prices. Nightly entertainment in the Pub was a nice surprise; one night we stayed and listened to a folk singer other nights we caught a few minutes of singers or dancers.

Make the trip for the wonderful view and hiking opportunities in Shenandoah National Park and don't expect a 5 star resort in a National Park and you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
171 helpful votes 171 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

We have stayed at various NP accommodations and had a basic idea of what to expect. Mainly, we don't go in expecting high thread count sheets and down comforters.

First of all, location cannot be beat. Our room in the Appledore building was clean and well maintained. The bed was more comfortable than expected and the towels were thicker than expected as well.

The walls ARE thin! We always try to be as quiet as possible and use our inside voices. Sadly, not everyone does the same. The neighbors on our right were night owls AND early birds! Yep, it sounded like a party till around midnight and then they were up again for more at 5:30 AM. How rude!

Now, for the highlight of our stay. The AMAZING view. When we walked in the first day, the curtains were open. The large picture window afforded us a gorgeous view of the sun getting ready to set. That jaw dropping view made it so that I didn't even notice our basic accommodations.

We didn't try the dining room, so I can't comment on that. Staff, for the most part was polite and efficient. We are looking forward to a longer visit next time. My suggestion is to keep your expectations reasonable and you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north carolina
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

This is a resort I would place in a category between rustic and dilapidated. Way overpriced. Miserable Queen Mattress gave backaches. I expected no phone, no microwave, no refrigerator, some rooms do have a TV, but I did not expect thin walls. Great view from our room veranda. Entertainment was quaint, enjoyable: Clogging. Little to no service in Tap Room. Food service poor in Dining Room: Dirty dishes, no dishes, understaffed wait service, however food is good. You will pay dearly for it. Desk Clerk did not mention DNC membership which would have saved 20% on lodging and meals. DNC: Delaware North Companies, a concession vendor. Membership can be purchased at Big Meadows, a much better resort with knowledgeable upbeat Manager & friendly staff. Not far from Skyland. Manager at Big Meadows said DNC discount may possibly go up to 50% in 2014 but not sure. I will not return to Skyland again but will go to much cleaner, comfortable Big Meadows. Expect an additional $111 pending charge to be placed on your credit card to see if your credit card goes clears for lodging.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flemington, New Jersey
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

This is a beautiful park...great views, wonderful hiking, lots of history. BUT..the dining room....beautiful setting unfortunately not matched by the food. Seafood entrees were frequently overcooked and dry..and the food is expensive. Stick to Pizza!

Room Tip: The hotel rooms have great views and are more comfortable than the cabins
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Skyland Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skyland Resort

Address: Mile 41.7 Skyline Drive, Shenandoah National Park, Shenandoah National Park, VA 22835
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Shenandoah National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Shenandoah National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Skyland Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 177
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Skyland Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skyland Resort Luray
Skyland Hotel Luray
Skyland Resort Virginia
Skyland Virginia
Skyland Resort Shenandoah
Luray Skyland Resort
Skyland Va

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Skyland Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.