We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location to optimize time in National Park” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Skyland Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Skyland Resort to your Saves list
Skyland Resort
2.0 of 5 Resort   |   Mile 41.7 Skyline Drive, Shenandoah National Park, Shenandoah National Park, VA 22835   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
New York City, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great location to optimize time in National Park”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We stayed at the Skyland Resort for a couple nights while we were exploring Shenandoah National Park. The location cannot be beat and the price for our room (a cabin) was affordable. Booking a cabin at Skyland was absolutely the way to go for us and we were completely satisfied. We spent long days hiking outdoors and really only came back to our cabin to sleep, wind down and start over the next day. No television, no wifi in the cabin (but it is complimentary in the lodge) and cell service is shoddy at best (but that was fine with us!) - just a warm room with a bed and a bathroom - it was all we needed. If you are looking for more "luxury" this room is probably not for you, but it was perfect for us.
One REALLY IMPORTANT note about the time of day to arrive at Skyland - BE SURE to get to the National Park gates BEFORE 5PM. The park completely locks down at that point and you cannot get in. (Park fee is $15/week)
In addition, if you're PB&J+ travelers like we are, stock up before your arrival. The food at the lodge is just okay and is really your only option for an actual restaurant once you're in the Park. I will say, both my fiance and I are vegetarian and we did have options for food at the lodge (which is a huge plus) but next time we will be bringing a larger cooler.
Ultimately, I give this place a two thumbs up for location and the very friendly/helpful staff. At the end of a long day of hiking and exploring, it was perfect to come "home" to Skyland.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    446
    462
    138
    57
    29
See reviews for
357
547
46
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (440)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Our room overlooked the valley. We saw deer,bear, and many birds from our window. Fog came in one morning and covered the mountain with a light coating of snow Beautiful. We go into Lurray or front royal to eat. Uncle Bucks for breakfast is a good bet in Lurray(fried green tomatoes). The Apple Tree in Front royal( apple wood smoked BBQ).

Room Tip: The rooms that allow pets all have a great view of the valley. We watched eagles mate while sitting...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

I agree with a lot of what the other poster (sgc13) said about their Thanksgiving 2012 trip. We'd been to Shenandoah a number of times, but this was the first time we ever stayed at one of the "resorts" there. It was great to be right off Skyline Drive and jsut a drive or even a walk away from the trails. The food was very good and the Thanksgiving buffet was awesome - I was taken aback at first by the price (which was expensive but not out of line for a Thanksgiving meal out), but it was worth it - and the staff was terrific. Many had worked long days (we saw them at breakfast and then again at dinner, 10 hours later) on the holiday and you would never have known from their sunny attitudes. We plan to be back!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

I stayed here over Thanksgiving with my husband and toddler. We had a wonderful time hiking and relaxing. The resort is very family friendly, and the restaurant was very receptive to dining with a toddler. The staff is helpful without being pushy, and the rooms are comfortable. Skyland offers a Thanksgiving buffet which was amazing. Exploring the outdoors with my family was a memorable way to celebrate the holiday. We will absolutely be back!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Dated facility, but exceptionally managed and maintained. Comfortable bed, everything worked. Excellent food at a reasonable price. Entertainment at night by local musicians. Starbucks coffee. But beware, we were told the current management team (ARAMARK) is being replaced next year. We have travelled much of the US and Aramark managed properties always seem to be exceptional. Hopefully, this property will continue to shine with new management.

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the Birmingham rooms--others are nice too
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, Virginia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Skyland Resort is comfortable mountain lodge with pine-paneled rooms, magnificent views into the Shenandoah Valley, and easy access to the best hiking trails in the southern Appalachians. The air is pure, the scenery is spectacular and the eating is great at the restaurant inside the main building. Smell the wood burning in the big stone fireplace, look out the wall to wall windows and sit down to some excellent comfort food and smooth Virginia wine. A great National Park experience for families, old folks and everyone in between.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Onalaska, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

I don't know, maybe it is just us...but at 130/night,I don't want rodents. I do want smooth flooring. Rustic meaning "without TV or WIFI" is okay. Saying something is rustic when it really is neglected and in disrepair is a rip-off. Aramark is lucky they have the government contract and that there is no where else to stay once you get to the park. The conditions were terrible. Next time we will stay in a town like Luray and just do daytrips to the trail heads.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Skyland Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skyland Resort

Address: Mile 41.7 Skyline Drive, Shenandoah National Park, Shenandoah National Park, VA 22835
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Shenandoah National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Shenandoah National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Skyland Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 177
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Skyland Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skyland Resort Luray
Skyland Hotel Luray
Skyland Resort Virginia
Skyland Virginia
Skyland Resort Shenandoah
Luray Skyland Resort
Skyland Va

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Skyland Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.