We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Trip wonderful views dogs allowed” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Skyland Resort

Save Saved
You added Skyland Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Travelocity
and 6 more sites!
Skyland Resort
2.0 of 5 Resort   |   Mile 41.7 Skyline Drive, Shenandoah National Park, Shenandoah National Park, VA 22835   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Virginia Beach, Virginia, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Trip wonderful views dogs allowed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Our room overlooked the valley. We saw deer,bear, and many birds from our window. Fog came in one morning and covered the mountain with a light coating of snow Beautiful. We go into Lurray or front royal to eat. Uncle Bucks for breakfast is a good bet in Lurray(fried green tomatoes). The Apple Tree in Front royal( apple wood smoked BBQ).

Room Tip: The rooms that allow pets all have a great view of the valley. We watched eagles mate while sitting...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

686 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    258
    278
    92
    37
    21
See reviews for
214
340
28
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

I agree with a lot of what the other poster (sgc13) said about their Thanksgiving 2012 trip. We'd been to Shenandoah a number of times, but this was the first time we ever stayed at one of the "resorts" there. It was great to be right off Skyline Drive and jsut a drive or even a walk away from the trails. The food was very good and the Thanksgiving buffet was awesome - I was taken aback at first by the price (which was expensive but not out of line for a Thanksgiving meal out), but it was worth it - and the staff was terrific. Many had worked long days (we saw them at breakfast and then again at dinner, 10 hours later) on the holiday and you would never have known from their sunny attitudes. We plan to be back!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

I stayed here over Thanksgiving with my husband and toddler. We had a wonderful time hiking and relaxing. The resort is very family friendly, and the restaurant was very receptive to dining with a toddler. The staff is helpful without being pushy, and the rooms are comfortable. Skyland offers a Thanksgiving buffet which was amazing. Exploring the outdoors with my family was a memorable way to celebrate the holiday. We will absolutely be back!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Dated facility, but exceptionally managed and maintained. Comfortable bed, everything worked. Excellent food at a reasonable price. Entertainment at night by local musicians. Starbucks coffee. But beware, we were told the current management team (ARAMARK) is being replaced next year. We have travelled much of the US and Aramark managed properties always seem to be exceptional. Hopefully, this property will continue to shine with new management.

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the Birmingham rooms--others are nice too
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, Virginia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Skyland Resort is comfortable mountain lodge with pine-paneled rooms, magnificent views into the Shenandoah Valley, and easy access to the best hiking trails in the southern Appalachians. The air is pure, the scenery is spectacular and the eating is great at the restaurant inside the main building. Smell the wood burning in the big stone fireplace, look out the wall to wall windows and sit down to some excellent comfort food and smooth Virginia wine. A great National Park experience for families, old folks and everyone in between.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

I don't know, maybe it is just us...but at 130/night,I don't want rodents. I do want smooth flooring. Rustic meaning "without TV or WIFI" is okay. Saying something is rustic when it really is neglected and in disrepair is a rip-off. Aramark is lucky they have the government contract and that there is no where else to stay once you get to the park. The conditions were terrible. Next time we will stay in a town like Luray and just do daytrips to the trail heads.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danbury, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

On a trip from CT to visit my wife's sister in WV, we wanted to stay somewhere different than a chain hotel along the freeway. The single night reservation was made the day before and the Skyland Resort had a few rooms available when other "nicer" properties were full. We arrived at the property late due to a visit to the ER in Front Royal which resolved the problem quickly and other misadventures. So, we arrived in the dark and marveled at the brightness of the stars, nothing much else was visible.

Our room was in a single story building that had a small foyer with access to two rooms. To our surprise, the room was nice, new beds in a 1930's notty pine walls room, no TV and ahead of the curve on phones, no land line. The bathroom was period correct but everything worked and the rooms were warm. When we looked out of the large picture window at the rear of the room, we discovered a valley view that was spectacular.

As we walked out to the car to leave, we noticed people going to the building with the front desk which we had been told also contained a dining room. Again, the view was captivating as the property sits on top of a ridge in the Shenandoah National Park. The breakfast buffet was great, service was fast and friendly, the fireplace added just the right rustic touch for a couple of city slickers.

Although this is not a highly rated accomodation, for us, it was a nice surprise, good experience and one that was very enjoyable. The views from Skyline Drive were worth getting off the interstate and the rest is icing on the cake. We may even consider hiking on the trails next time.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Skyland Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skyland Resort

Also Known As:
Skyland Hotel
Skyland Resort Luray
Skyland Hotel Luray
Skyland Resort Virginia
Skyland Virginia
Skyland Resort Shenandoah
Luray Skyland Resort
Skyland Va
Address: Mile 41.7 Skyline Drive, Shenandoah National Park, Shenandoah National Park, VA 22835
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Shenandoah National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Shenandoah National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Skyland Resort 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Skyland Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Skyland Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.