We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced - unless you really like mice” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Skyland Resort

Save Saved
You added Skyland Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Skyland Resort
2.0 of 5 Resort   |   Mile 41.7 Skyline Drive, Shenandoah National Park, Shenandoah National Park, VA 22835   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Overpriced - unless you really like mice”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

I don't know, maybe it is just us...but at 130/night,I don't want rodents. I do want smooth flooring. Rustic meaning "without TV or WIFI" is okay. Saying something is rustic when it really is neglected and in disrepair is a rip-off. Aramark is lucky they have the government contract and that there is no where else to stay once you get to the park. The conditions were terrible. Next time we will stay in a town like Luray and just do daytrips to the trail heads.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

686 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    258
    278
    92
    37
    21
See reviews for
214
340
28
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Danbury, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

On a trip from CT to visit my wife's sister in WV, we wanted to stay somewhere different than a chain hotel along the freeway. The single night reservation was made the day before and the Skyland Resort had a few rooms available when other "nicer" properties were full. We arrived at the property late due to a visit to the ER in Front Royal which resolved the problem quickly and other misadventures. So, we arrived in the dark and marveled at the brightness of the stars, nothing much else was visible.

Our room was in a single story building that had a small foyer with access to two rooms. To our surprise, the room was nice, new beds in a 1930's notty pine walls room, no TV and ahead of the curve on phones, no land line. The bathroom was period correct but everything worked and the rooms were warm. When we looked out of the large picture window at the rear of the room, we discovered a valley view that was spectacular.

As we walked out to the car to leave, we noticed people going to the building with the front desk which we had been told also contained a dining room. Again, the view was captivating as the property sits on top of a ridge in the Shenandoah National Park. The breakfast buffet was great, service was fast and friendly, the fireplace added just the right rustic touch for a couple of city slickers.

Although this is not a highly rated accomodation, for us, it was a nice surprise, good experience and one that was very enjoyable. The views from Skyline Drive were worth getting off the interstate and the rest is icing on the cake. We may even consider hiking on the trails next time.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We absolutely loved our stay. Stunning views from our room and from the dining room as well - words can't express how nice the views are. Restaurant wait staff and food were excellent - the wait was a bit long but it was worth the wait and we enjoyed a drink at the bar and were able to watch a football game and the time passed quickly. Terrific live music after dinner - the music was so good that we stayed til they closed up shop. We will be back!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, Virginia, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We love Skyline Drive and find Skyland to provide a clean, friendly and relaxed environment. Beautiful views and lovely setting. Good for families and couples who like the outdoors!
The incredible view of this mountain top resort is the top selling point. The restaurant's menu was great and evening entertainment enjoyable. The staff of the restaurant and hotel were very helpful and gracious. The hotel room was clean and the view is excellent. We have returned again and again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We decided to spend a day hiking at Old Rag Mt, afterwards we tried to enter Shenandoah Park on 211W into Thornton Gap Entrance but the road was blocked off for couple of hours, so we ended up taking an hour or so detour north to enter from Front Royal, then drive down couple miles on Skyline Dr. It wasn't so bad because we saw the sun set as we drove through the winding road up the mountains. By the time we checked in the resort, it was already dark at 5pm. The line went quick, I was able to check in within 5 mins, staff was friendly. Our room happened to be right next to the office, so we didn't have far to go! Each room had patio furnitures, overlooking the city below and it was breathtaking (and very cold that night). There was still snow on the ground, but the room was nice and cozy. It was functional and had hot water! We enjoyed a light dinner and drinks at the Mountain Tap, while watching football, phone service was better there. But once back in the room, there were no phone service at all (we had Verizon). The bed was soft and comfy, but the pillows had no form to it so I had to fold it in half to get some shape to it. The walls aren't sound proof, but our next door neighbors weren't too loud. Checkout was quite easy, and we enjoyed a quick breakfast in the dining room. The view was obscured because this giant cloud came through the resort, but it was still a fun 2-day trip to get away from everyday life. We'll def come back to visit.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012 via mobile

NOTE: This review covers both the lodging and dining room.

My wife and I have stayed at Skyland Resort 4 times now over the past five years. Its location on the highest point on the Skyline Drive (3680 ft) on Mile 41 offers stunning views of the Shenandoah Valley below. This is a complex spreading over the mountainside with multiple rustic lodges and cabins.

The front desk is efficient and helpful.

The rooms we've had have been clean and comfortable and attractively rustic with moderately-firm king beds and walk-out balconies and a TV. (Note - some rooms don't have balconies or TV depending on the room type you specify). The room has a walk-in closet, and a smallish bathroom. There is plenty of electric heat for cold nights.

The Appalachian Trail passes in front of the lodge complex. Next to the complex is the trailhead for a rather easy hike up to Stony Man Peak. At 4010 ft it is the 2nd highest point in Shenandoah National Park and offers stunning views.

The dining room is where we had our dinners and it has windows facing westward with great views of the valley. The dining room is very family oriented; we saw people of all ages. The menu offers a moderate choice of entrees - from beef, chicken, turkey, and seafood dishes, salads, and desserts. The food quality is decent but not of the highest quality. The dining room offers blackberry-based desserts which are excellent - blackberry ice cream and sundaes, and blackberry cobbler. Main entree prices are a bit high - from $13 to $20+. Side salads are around $5 - $6.

The dining room also serves breakfast in the morning and provides boxed lunches upon request. We did not partake of those.

There is also a grill section adjacent to the dining room with a large LCD TV and offering a small subset of the dining room's entrees stressing sandwiches at lower prices.

Next to the dining areas is a nice gift shop which also offers sundry items.

This was our 4th time staying in Skyland in the last 5 years and we would return.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherry Hill, NJ.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

I just finished an unbelieveable 4 day stay at Skyland Resort. The incredible view of this mountain top resort is beyond description. The restaurants menu was superb! The staff of the restaurant and hotel were so overtly helpful and gratious. The hotel room was clean and the view is to die for.

I will return again and again! I cannot fond the proper wording to pharse my feeling for this woderful establishment.

Mike Horton Sr.

Room Tip: They're all good views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Skyland Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skyland Resort

Also Known As:
Skyland Hotel
Skyland Resort Luray
Skyland Hotel Luray
Skyland Resort Virginia
Skyland Virginia
Skyland Resort Shenandoah
Luray Skyland Resort
Skyland Va
Address: Mile 41.7 Skyline Drive, Shenandoah National Park, Shenandoah National Park, VA 22835
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Shenandoah National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Shenandoah National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Skyland Resort 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Skyland Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Skyland Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.