We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply lovely” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Skyland Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Skyland Resort to your Saves list
Skyland Resort
2.0 of 5 Resort   |   Mile 41.7 Skyline Drive, Shenandoah National Park, Shenandoah National Park, VA 22835   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Simply lovely”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

I stayed at the Skyland Resort while vacationing in Shenandoah National Park in early October. My room was clean and comfortable and with quite a view! The lodges at Skyland are spread out over a large area; my room happened to be located in a lodge near Skyland's office, restaurant, and gift shop, but those whose rooms are not can rest assured that there is ample parking available if you need to drive over to eat. Those who have never stayed in a national park need to know that these are not hotels with all the amenities; they are rustic, simple, and meant for sleeping and maybe a little relaxing on the patio/balcony. Skyland is heated, and provides a clock/radio (which is more than I've found elsewhere in the Parks) and the usual soap/shampoo/conditioner in eco-friendly wall dispensers. The beauty of Shenandoah, and the peace and quiet experienced here, very quickly brought rest to my body, mind, and soul.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    446
    462
    138
    57
    29
See reviews for
357
547
46
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (440)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Virginia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Skyland Resort on the Skyline Drive in Shenandoah National Park provides a beautiful and relaxing setting for enjoying the beauty of nature. The main building has a very good restaurant for breakfast, lunch & dinner as well as a bar/lounge with evening entertainment and a gift shop. Room are located in separate buildings adjacent to the main building and along the hillside below the main building -- most rooms have beautiful views of the valley below or of the close by wooded area. There is an abundance of walking/hiking trails for all levels of walkers/hikers as well as horseback riding.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

I am surprised that everyone does not agree that this is a great place to be. The rooms are clean and what would be expected in a park where folks go for scenery and to enjoy the great outdoors. We loved the entertainment in the lodge, the food, the rangers, the hiking, the scenery. What was not to like? Even our toddler had a wonderful time. A great family weekend away!

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burke, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

My husband and I have been coming to Skyland for many years and just returned from our latest trip. We always request one of two specific rooms and have been fortunate that we have always been able to get one of the two. Yes, the accommodations are rustic but honestly, we never spend a lot of time in the room and if we are there, we are usually sitting on our balcony. The rooms are comfortable but if you are one that likes luxury, this is not where you should stay. We enjoy the meals at the dining room...my husband had the turkey dinner (as always) and I had the trout this past time. I always have entree envy when I am there. This time it was for the roasted chicken breast....not the fried chicken platter (though that seemed quite popular). For dessert we had the blueberry cobbler...yum. Their house wine is from a Virginia vineyard and they serve other Va wines but surprisingly not a big selection of Va wines. We've never stayed up at the Tap Room for the entertainment. Wifi is only available in the main office building. That doesn't bother us because we aren't up there to be online. And in the fall, if we need to be online, it's nice to sit by the fire in the main room. The hiking is terrific ... Offering hikes for all abilities. Please be mindful of deer as you are driving. Speaking of deer, we are always treated to a visit or two by a deer family as we enjoy the views of Luray from our balcony. Skyland always provides a nice retreat for us from our busy day to day lives.

Room Tip: Can't give away our secret favorite rooms. Sorry!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Shores, Florida, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

This was our third visit to Skyland lodge, staying in the Pinnacles "traditional lodging." Our view was extraordinary and the room, like always, was clean, functional, and rustic. This is not a luxury hotel -- no TV or phone, but a comfortable bed with clean sheets. The furniture is worn, but sturdy -- it feels like a mountain retreat should feel -- cozy, comfortable and remote. Reminders are everywhere that you are in a nature area -- a recycling bin in our room, soap dispensers instead of plastic bottles of toiletries, reminders to save your towel and that sheets are not changed daily. Through hikers from the Appalachian trail share the lobby with the regular guests, as they stop to get a good meal and a shower. Special trash cans to keep out the wildlife are everywhere and signs to remind us to "leave no trace on the trails." Anyone who is in this type of atmosphere should "get" that its not a spa or a fancy resort. We've stayed in many lodges run by Aramark, including the Grand Canyon, Zion, and Bryce Canyon National Parks out west. Shenandoah is typical of these lodges and measures up nicely to their standards. We love the restaurants at Shenandoah and make sure we have a hearty breakfast before hitting the trails. To save money we bring a cooler and pack lunches for the trail, but we eat at least one dinner in Skyland and one in Big Meadows while we're visiting. Bottom line, do not expect luxury in your accommodations, but instead come prepared to be awed by the natural splendor you will find instead.

Room Tip: Ask for the Pinnacles for the view!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havre de Grace, Maryland, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

My wife and I made an inpromptu trip to the Skyline Drive and booked reservations for one night at the Skyland Resort. We paid $214.00 tax included for our cabin type room (Unit 114) which was clean, comfortale and cozy. I thought the price was a litle high but it was a nice stay. The flat screen TV had about 10 channels butr we weren't really there for the TV. We enjoyed the Skyline Drive, did a little hiking in the morning and had some decent food at the Tap Room and Dining Room in the main Skyland building. The room was clean and comfortable but nothing really remarkable. We didn't expect alot for a cabin type setting though. We would definitely return and/or recommend to friends for future visits.

Room Tip: Visitors should be aware of what to expect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

We stayed at Skyland Lodge in Shenandoah National Park (mile marker 41.7 on Skyline Drive) for a weekend while we we visiting Washington DC. We picked up a car in DC, and it was a straightforward two and a half hour drive West to the Blue Ridge mountains and Shenandoah - a stunningly beautiful place...!!
We stayed in one of the wooden cabins at Skyland Lodge. No phone or TV in the room - yep this is a peaceful break. Some cabins are in woodland, but ours looked straight down into the valley - spectacular. An ideal base for hiking - the park rangers will advise you on the trails and walks in the area. The trails range from a few hundred yards to many miles, and the rangers will give you basic maps to get you started. We walked up to the highest point in the mountains and the views were magnificent. Actually, you get a fabulous view from the top of the Stoney Man trail in the resort itself, and that only takes fifteen minutes to reach the viewpoint from the car park. The lodge itself has a restaurant and bar, with relaxing live music at the weekends, so you're all set for the evening. Don't miss the sunset from the restaurant...!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Skyland Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skyland Resort

Address: Mile 41.7 Skyline Drive, Shenandoah National Park, Shenandoah National Park, VA 22835
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Shenandoah National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Shenandoah National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Skyland Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 177
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Skyland Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skyland Resort Luray
Skyland Hotel Luray
Skyland Resort Virginia
Skyland Virginia
Skyland Resort Shenandoah
Luray Skyland Resort
Skyland Va

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Skyland Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.