We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An American Treasure!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Appalachian Trail

Appalachian Trail
Shenandoah National Park, VA
Improve this listing
Type: Hiking Trails, Sports
Activities: Hiking
Attraction details
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
39 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“An American Treasure!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

I used to live a few hundred yards from the AT when I lived in New Hampshire on the slope of Mount Cube. I have hiked several portions of the trail, but have never made a through hike. Lots of things to see and some very "interesting" people to meet!

Visited June 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    13
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Outdoor”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

Fun and refreshing ... Great outdoor family experience.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luray, Virginia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Piece of history”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

We have hiked parts of this trail in different locations and within the Shenandoah National Park you can get to short hikes or long hikes very easy from the Skyline drive. In late summer most of the trail is overgrown with grass and briers, hike early in the season.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Just do it, then you can say you did.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

Took friends on hikes on this right off Skyline drive. It was cool to be on it and just think of all the amazing people who have walked before you on those very same rocks. The things that have happened. If you open your mind, its like time travel. I love this trail like thousands of people before and after me. Everyone saw amazing views. We saw fresh scat but no animals but I suppose had we been quieter we might of. Everyone was happy and proud to say they "hiked the Appalachian Trail", even if only for a few miles.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miami
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Spyglass Rock”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

Great hike for newbies. About 4 miles. We had to do a little climbing but we were able to carry the dog.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Appalachian Trail also viewed

Shenandoah National Park, VA
Shenandoah National Park, VA
 
Shenandoah National Park, VA
Shenandoah National Park, VA
 

Been to Appalachian Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Appalachian Trail, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.