We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely not for whimps” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Old Rag Mountain Hike

Old Rag Mountain Hike
Shenandoah National Park, VA
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Caverns/ Caves, Forests, Mountains, National Parks, Nature/ Wildlife Areas, State Parks, Hiking Trails, Trails, Nature & Parks, Outdoor Activities
Attraction details
Sunnyvale, CA
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
41 attraction reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
151 helpful votes 151 helpful votes
“Definitely not for whimps”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Most of the hike is on nice trails, albeit quite steep. The part that is difficult is just the last bit - maybe half a mile - where you are basically bouldering. Make sure you have shoes with rubber soles for good traction: a lot of the high-traffic boulders are quite smooth from, well, high traffic,

Once you get to the summit you'll be happy you toughed it out.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    14
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Excellent, but difficult hike!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I rated this excellent for people that enjoy hiking long, strenuous trails. It is basically 2 miles of switchbacks up the mountain to a summit of 3,291'. Very tiring, all uphill. Then it is about 1.9 miles of rock scrambling, which is amazing. Some difficult parts, but very much do-able by most. The views are spectacular and your reward for killing yourself to get up there! From the summit your choice is to go back the way you came or continue downhill for the next 5.1 miles. Yes, it's downhill, but it is a really long walk. We went in early May on a Friday morning and crowds were not a problem. I suggest doing this hike first thing in the morning because afternoons I hear are very crowded. They say allow up to 7-8 hours. It took us 5 with several short breaks.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Dad not ready for this”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

but, it was great. Kids kicked my butt on the way up, but I kept up on the way down! You need to be in decent shape to make it through and up. But you can always take the safe route. enjoy.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Market, Virginia
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

This hike is one to take when you are in good shape and have a whole day to enjoy yourself. You can hike the fire road to the top or rough it some and climb through and over rocks. It is steep in parts but one you should experience.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia, United States
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Awesome hard and fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

This is without a doubt, the best day hike in the shenadoahs. Problem is everyone knows it. The scramble is so fun (watch out for angry rattlesnakes in the summer) I try to hike it once a year and I am never disappointed

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Rag Mountain Hike also viewed

Shenandoah National Park, VA
Shenandoah National Park, VA
 
Shenandoah National Park, VA
Shenandoah National Park, VA
 

Been to Old Rag Mountain Hike? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Rag Mountain Hike, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.