We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, but difficult hike!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Old Rag Mountain Hike

Old Rag Mountain Hike
Shenandoah National Park, VA
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Parks, Hiking Trails, State Parks, Caverns/ Caves, Mountains, National Parks, Trails, Forests
Attraction Details
Rochester, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent, but difficult hike!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I rated this excellent for people that enjoy hiking long, strenuous trails. It is basically 2 miles of switchbacks up the mountain to a summit of 3,291'. Very tiring, all uphill. Then it is about 1.9 miles of rock scrambling, which is amazing. Some difficult parts, but very much do-able by most. The views are spectacular and your reward for killing yourself to get up there! From the summit your choice is to go back the way you came or continue downhill for the next 5.1 miles. Yes, it's downhill, but it is a really long walk. We went in early May on a Friday morning and crowds were not a problem. I suggest doing this hike first thing in the morning because afternoons I hear are very crowded. They say allow up to 7-8 hours. It took us 5 with several short breaks.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    10
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Charlottesville, Virginia
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Dad not ready for this”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

but, it was great. Kids kicked my butt on the way up, but I kept up on the way down! You need to be in decent shape to make it through and up. But you can always take the safe route. enjoy.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Market, Virginia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

This hike is one to take when you are in good shape and have a whole day to enjoy yourself. You can hike the fire road to the top or rough it some and climb through and over rocks. It is steep in parts but one you should experience.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia, United States
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Awesome hard and fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

This is without a doubt, the best day hike in the shenadoahs. Problem is everyone knows it. The scramble is so fun (watch out for angry rattlesnakes in the summer) I try to hike it once a year and I am never disappointed

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Icy hike in winter”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We hiked Old Rag on New Year's Eve. Because the trail is rocky, it was particularly icy. Had much better luck on Pass Mountain, where the trail was compacted snow, with no ice.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Rag Mountain Hike also viewed

Shenandoah National Park, VA
Shenandoah National Park, VA
 
Shenandoah National Park, VA
Shenandoah National Park, VA
 

Been to Old Rag Mountain Hike? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Rag Mountain Hike, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.