We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Views, pack a picnic lunch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Old Rag Mountain Hike

Old Rag Mountain Hike
Shenandoah National Park, VA
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Parks, Hiking Trails, State Parks, Caverns/ Caves, Mountains, National Parks, Trails, Forests
Attraction Details
Rockville, MD
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Amazing Views, pack a picnic lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Old Rag mountain is topped with rocks allowing for amazing views in all directions. It is really special and I highly recommend this hike with the following notes. People who do cardio workouts several times a week will find this lovely hike through the woods for the first miles and a fun scramble over rocks toward the top. For people who don't do that much cardio, this is a difficult hike. You are hiking to the top of a tall mountain and there are parts of the hike that are strenuous. Just plan on taking a few breaks to catch your breath. It's very popular in the fall when the leaves are changing and can be crowded on weekends so if you can make it on a weekday, that is best. Parking is limited and you must have a Shenandoah Nat'l Park parking pass (you can pay at the parking lot - i think it is $15). PRINT OUT your driving directions from the park service website and follow them carefully. There is limited phone and gps around the mountain and gps may try to take you on roads that are not open to the public (I lost my ATT phone service until we got to the first big overlook spot several miles up the trail. My friend didn't have phone service at all with her verizon phone.) We packed our picnic lunch and enjoyed it while taking in the views (you need to take your trash out with you). Can't think of a better way to enjoy an afternoon but I was "ragged out" after that hike ;-)

This website gives you some great information... definitely check it out before you go: http://www.nps.gov/shen/planyourvisit/old-rag-hike-prep.htm

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    10
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Amazing View”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

The drive getting to the parking lot of this trail is a little far from the main road. Get in early, parking spaces fill up quickly. The map for Old Ridge said the trail is strenuous - for a beginner, it is true. This can also be an all day experience. From the parking lot tot he start of the trail is about a mile. The first two miles of the trail is okay, not much going on. A little pass mile 2, there are some rocks you can rest on and have a good view of the bottom forest. When you hit the beginning of the third mile, you can get a good view on the other side of the mountain. Good place for a picnic too. After this area, the rocky trail begins. I'm not a mountain climber but you need to have a good balance and stamina to get to the very top of the mountain. Some of the rocks can be slippery, so be careful. There is a sign that will tell you the highest peak of the mountain - it will be around mile 4. The view from the top is amazing. Even now, I still could not find the right word/s other than amazing to describe the feeling being on top of that mountain. I suggest going through the whole trail, saw many hikers who after reaching the summit turned around. The walk down from the summit requires a good amount of endurance. As a runner, I would have sped through but living in Florida you don't get to see and experience this much lush forestry and cool weather. It is a nice path to clear your head and just enjoy the scenery. Also If you find yourself in need of assistance, there are volunteers who goes around the trail on a daily basis and there is a phone on the second shelter where you can call for park rangers to pick you up. I suggest to bring liquids with electrolytes as they may come in handy and some snacks too.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pahoa, Hawaii
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Perfect escape from the beach, a mountain climbing experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

As I look at the reviews, I realize that people do not consider this a "beginner" hike. It's actually not that hard, you just need to be in some sort of shape and can walk at least 9 miles. The rock scramble was the hardest part and that was only because we wore slippery running shoes. I'm not a mountain climber and I rarely hike because I live on a giant sandbar (no real hikes here!). This is one adventure I cannot believe I did not know about until my friends in Richmond called me up. Amazing views, perfect to pack a lunch for & just all around fun in general. Do it if you know about it!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Culpeper, Virginia, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Rigorous hike with an oustanding reward!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

This hike is not for the beginner. Make sure you have good knees and can handle a little cardio activity. Mostly well groomed trails, a little bit of rock scrambling, and a chance to do some bouldering at the top. The views at the summit are breathtaking!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mays Landing, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“East coast must”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

If you are seeking a premier hike on the east coast then this is your challenge. The length is just short of 9 miles and is a test of strength and stamina. With an elevation gain in excess of 2k feet it will be a climb, but well worth the effort. The rock scramble to the summit is a test but the views are awesome. Bring sufficient water.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Rag Mountain Hike also viewed

Shenandoah National Park, VA
Shenandoah National Park, VA
 
Shenandoah National Park, VA
Shenandoah National Park, VA
 

Been to Old Rag Mountain Hike? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Rag Mountain Hike, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.