We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible, terrible, terrible!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Front Royal RV Campground

Front Royal RV Campground
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Shenandoah National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Front Royal RV Campground
Save Saved
You added Front Royal RV Campground to your Saves list
340 S. Front Royal, Shenandoah National Park, VA (Formerly Front Royal KOA)   |  
Hotel amenities
Boston, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Terrible, terrible, terrible!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Very disappointed. Sites are extremely small. Grounds are run by husband and wife and they are not camper friendly. Water slide? No water slide? Mini golf? Yeah if you can find yor golf ball among the over grown ourselves. They sell items people left behind in their store. We were so disappointed we left. Of course no refund either.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    5
    4
    5
    15
See reviews for
17
6
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Damascus, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

My wife & I visited this site 7 years ago when it was run by KOA. We loved it back then & were waiting to the day we could come back. We finally returned and were severely disappointed. The water slide was overrun with vegetation. The fire pit for our site was 3/4 filled with ash, the hot tub was broken down and covered over with plywood, the playground equipment was run down and looked like it had dry rot. After 1 night we decided to head home although we paid for 2 nights. We are never coming back here again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

We booked for two nights with an 8 person party. We had two cabins, one of which the A/C did not work, both had cobwebs and smelled bad. The amenities that are listed on the website are not what is available. The bathrooms and showers were dirty and overrun by spiders. We stayed one night of our stay and left because of the conditions and the fact that the kids were not even enjoying themselves. We were told that we were not going to recieve a refund because we chose to leave. We have also reported them for false advertising with Good Sam and KOA.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

The place is quiet and peaceful with access to wonderful areas not a bad value at all. Rv connection and park cleanliness were very adequate. Our party had a wonderful time. Do not set your expectations too high and you will enjoy the experience!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Nothing wrong with broken English! This is AMERICA where English isn't always the first language of everyone! The place isn't a five star campground, but it offers a great place to camp without being on top of your neighbors. The facility offers you quick access to Shenandoah National Park. The showers had hot water!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012 via mobile

We stayed one night enroute home. Thinking of the beauty of the land we figured a KOA address was a safe bet. Not so. Broken english owners, marginal camp store with leftover dominos box of pizza, loud obnoxious campers in cabins, worn out pool with little maintenance, hot tub covered with weathered plywood, playground falling apart, overgrown landscapes, working showers with the old KOA curtains that have been painted over... My 8 year old even said we should have stayed at a walmart! A big disappointment in such a lovely part of the country.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynchburg, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

We stayed at this facility on Memorial Day weekend, and selected it without seeing any marketing materials (web site, brochure, etc.). The private/family land where we had planned on spending the weekend did not work out, and of course, Shenandoah National Park had no available sites on Memorial Day weekend, but they were nice enough to help us find another. The rangers at the National Park called this campground the "Front Royal KOA," but as we discovered, it has not been a KOA in quite some time. Perhaps the fact that they had a vacancy on a holiday weekend should have been a warning sign, but we needed a place to stay. We are tent campers and our needs are simple and expectations were low. We were assigned a campsite that clearly had not been used in quite some time...our picnic table had been flipped upside down and was rotting...we traded the table for one from a vacant site next door. We also grabbed the other site's fire ring since ours was missing. The campsite was wooded and pleasant, and it was nice having water available at the site. While basically full, the campground was very quiet and everyone seemed well-behaved. We didn't use many of the "amenities" offered at the campground, partially because we weren't prepared for them (we had planned on spending a weekend fishing in the mountains, not at at poolside), and partially because they weren't available (like others have said, the waterside on the camp map is no longer in use). The restrooms and dish washing area were clean enough for us. The showers have recently been re-tiled (with actual tile) and were more than adequate. Because we just used the place as a "base of operations" and didn't spend much time there, it served our purposes. If we had planned on spending three days and three nights there on the property, this review would be less favorable than it is. Overall, I have been to worse campgrounds, but it is clear that this place needs an overhaul...some of the landscape features, buildings, and structures that are not in use could simply be removed rather than fixed up and the place would look/operate much better. I'd rather see no waterslide than one that doesn't work. No mini golf rather than one that needs weeding, new carpet, and painting. What is most important about the trip is that our 4-year-old had a BLAST and didn't care about the weeds and run-down facilities. He said to us as we were breaking camp, "Daddy, I know this trip didn't work out like you planned, but I think this place is just fine, and I had fun." The weekend was a success.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Front Royal RV Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Front Royal RV Campground

Address: 340 S. Front Royal, Shenandoah National Park, VA (Formerly Front Royal KOA)
Location: United States > Virginia > Shenandoah National Park
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Shenandoah National Park
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A private campground near the entrance to the park. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Front Royal Rv Campground Hotel Shenandoah National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Front Royal RV Campground, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.