We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No longer what it may have been” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Front Royal RV Campground

Front Royal RV Campground
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Shenandoah National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Front Royal RV Campground
Save
You added Front Royal RV Campground to your Saves list
340 S. Front Royal, Shenandoah National Park, VA (Formerly Front Royal KOA)   |  
Hotel amenities
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“No longer what it may have been”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012 via mobile

We stayed one night enroute home. Thinking of the beauty of the land we figured a KOA address was a safe bet. Not so. Broken english owners, marginal camp store with leftover dominos box of pizza, loud obnoxious campers in cabins, worn out pool with little maintenance, hot tub covered with weathered plywood, playground falling apart, overgrown landscapes, working showers with the old KOA curtains that have been painted over... My 8 year old even said we should have stayed at a walmart! A big disappointment in such a lovely part of the country.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    5
    4
    5
    15
See reviews for
17
6
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lynchburg, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

We stayed at this facility on Memorial Day weekend, and selected it without seeing any marketing materials (web site, brochure, etc.). The private/family land where we had planned on spending the weekend did not work out, and of course, Shenandoah National Park had no available sites on Memorial Day weekend, but they were nice enough to help us find another. The rangers at the National Park called this campground the "Front Royal KOA," but as we discovered, it has not been a KOA in quite some time. Perhaps the fact that they had a vacancy on a holiday weekend should have been a warning sign, but we needed a place to stay. We are tent campers and our needs are simple and expectations were low. We were assigned a campsite that clearly had not been used in quite some time...our picnic table had been flipped upside down and was rotting...we traded the table for one from a vacant site next door. We also grabbed the other site's fire ring since ours was missing. The campsite was wooded and pleasant, and it was nice having water available at the site. While basically full, the campground was very quiet and everyone seemed well-behaved. We didn't use many of the "amenities" offered at the campground, partially because we weren't prepared for them (we had planned on spending a weekend fishing in the mountains, not at at poolside), and partially because they weren't available (like others have said, the waterside on the camp map is no longer in use). The restrooms and dish washing area were clean enough for us. The showers have recently been re-tiled (with actual tile) and were more than adequate. Because we just used the place as a "base of operations" and didn't spend much time there, it served our purposes. If we had planned on spending three days and three nights there on the property, this review would be less favorable than it is. Overall, I have been to worse campgrounds, but it is clear that this place needs an overhaul...some of the landscape features, buildings, and structures that are not in use could simply be removed rather than fixed up and the place would look/operate much better. I'd rather see no waterslide than one that doesn't work. No mini golf rather than one that needs weeding, new carpet, and painting. What is most important about the trip is that our 4-year-old had a BLAST and didn't care about the weeds and run-down facilities. He said to us as we were breaking camp, "Daddy, I know this trip didn't work out like you planned, but I think this place is just fine, and I had fun." The weekend was a success.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011 via mobile

We only stayed one night the office was closed when we pulled in, but we called the office and they responded immediately. Showers were clean, plenty of hot water, the sites were level. The owner was very friendly.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amissville, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

Do not waste your money, the map shows a waterslide....which is now (non operationable) a flower pot for overgrown honeysuckle. The tiny golf course has not been updated or repaired since the 70's. Not only is the pond dried up but the walk to get to it is very steep and dangerous. The kids were swimming in the pool (which has a deck around it that is a splinter trap) and came out with blue marks all over them....come to find out the pool had been recently painted and was still sticky. The flower beds are overgrown there are weeds everywhere, the playground equipment is falling apart. They also advertise a game room....but there are no games in it. We stayed in our own camper thank goodness because the cabins looked like no one had stepped foot in them to clear away the leaves, change light bulbs on the deck light fixtures, or brush off the cobwebs...I'd hate to see the conditions on the inside. You can tell this was once a beautiful KOA (because all the KOA signs are still up...someone just spray painted over the KOA names...even on the shower curtains in the bathrooms)....but with just 2 people "taking care of the place" they have let the whole place go into disrepair!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Maryland
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

Our group rented 8 cabins (7 one room & 1 two room). All but the one 2 room cabin had to be bombed & or cleaned top to bottom for rodents and insects. The 7 cabins were filled with mouse droppings, roaches, mice, spiders and silverfish. We were planning on having a pleasant vacation with family and friends but the first 3 hours of our stay were spent removing mattresses and cleaning from top to bottom. There were boards underneath the mattresses that were covered in black mold (those were tossed outside and not brought back in). The picnic tables were literally falling apart and since there is no level area on the sites you always feel like you are falling forward, backward or to the side. At least two of the cabins had large burn holes inside of them.

The website advertises a pool, hot tub, fishing pond, mini golf, game/ TV room, and a waterslide but the only accessible recreation was the pool, which at initial appearance looked clean until you got in it. I took my family to the pool and once I got in I noticed the pool floor was dirty, the skimmers did not appear to be functioning and once I saw a "lugger" pass by I was done with that! The fishing pond is not accessible for anyone with children or with any type of disability or disease that affects walking (which we had two in our group that suffer with balance due to injury & disease).

The rest room facilities are dirty and run down. There is a sign that says restrooms cleaned from 11am-noon but even after the gentlemen went in to clean the women's bathhouse it was still dirty, so those in our group had to dump bleach all over the showers before using them. the sinks had the same dirt, bugs and grime in them on Sunday as they had on Friday when we arrived. There were no toilet seat covers even though the boxes were on the wall. The shower curtain looked as if it has been there for years and one of the restroom doors didn't even have a latch on it (leaving only 2 toilets to use).

I am seriously considering contacting a lawyer for false advertisement because this place was a complete waste of money and full of misleading advertisements, not to mention was the ruin of our once a year vacation.
Every year our family takes a camping trip as our vacation. Without a doubt this was the worst experience we have ever had and a huge disappoint to all of us.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling, Virginia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2011

We booked a last second cabin reservation at the RV Park, and honestly chose them because no one else in the area had cabins opened that were pet friendly. We became concerned before we left because the reviews were not great - but we went anyways.

I can only speak for the cabin that we stayed in, but it was extremely clean and was maintained well - air conditioner also worked. There were no holes anywhere, however since we are in the woods bugs do get in when you open the door - but again this is the woods - so no insect problems that you wouldn't have anywhere else. The outside around the campsite was clean and they had wood gathered in our fire pit when we arrived. I cant speak for the mini golf, playground, or pool area because we did not use those facilities. I can say that the cabins were very clean, the RV/camper spots looked to be well maintained, and the bathrooms and showers were VERY clean. The couple that owns the place do have accents but definitely not hard to understand them - and they are very nice.

Now there is the "fishing pond" - We took our dogs down 3 times, definitely would not recommend the trail for anyone who actually needs a trail - because it is more of a ditch - but we liked it and the dogs had a great time in the water.

Anyways, we had a great time in the area - close to restaurants, vineyards, and the Skyline caverns. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Front Royal
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2010

Every thing that is said about this place is true. If I had read this first I would not have come. As it said KOA on my GPS I thought I was safe. Only one night so thats ok. Charge was $37.00 highest so far and not worth it. No picnic table and one next site was burnt. Ashes and tins on site.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Front Royal RV Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Front Royal RV Campground

Address: 340 S. Front Royal, Shenandoah National Park, VA (Formerly Front Royal KOA)
Location: United States > Virginia > Shenandoah National Park
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Shenandoah National Park
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A private campground near the entrance to the park. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Front Royal Rv Campground Hotel Shenandoah National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Front Royal RV Campground, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.