We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cabin was nicer than expected.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lewis Mountain Cabins

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Lewis Mountain Cabins to your Saves list
Lewis Mountain Cabins
Skyline Drive, Shenandoah National Park, VA   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
FL
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Cabin was nicer than expected.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2009

Ok- overall I really liked the cabin. It was clean- unlike the last review I read- I actually found the cabin to be cleaner than expected. The bathroom was nice- shower was clean, floors, bed, sheets, dresser, outside area- was all clean. It was located in a great spot. Has a nice fire pit. Cabins aren't too close together.

My only problem- and it's kind of a big one- I heard rats/mice in the walls all night. I kept waking up and looking for them and I am 99% sure they were only in the walls and not roaming around the room. But honestly- the cabins are in the middle of the woods- I don't know how there wouldn't be critters. PLUS- it had been raining for 14 days in a row- I'm sure that drove them indoors as well. I would stay here again- but not during the raining season.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    29
    4
    2
    3
See reviews for
34
31
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2009

The cabins are rustic with outdated decore and bedding. However, the moutains and the trees surrounding the cabin more than make up for (or add to) the rustic experience. the cabins have bathrooms and large living space. Only table is outside near the fire pit. If it's raining you'll get wet just to eat at a table.

I love cabins, but this one fell short. It could have been much cleaner. There were visible, multiple mouse droppings along one wall behind the metal bed frame. It was infested like the another reviewer mentioned, but they should have cleaned the room.

Also, upon check-in they charged an additional $10 fee b/c the rates just changed (without notice). For $107/night, we could have stayed in a clean hotel room--but not in the mountains.

I'd be embarrased to recommend staying here, b/c it just wasn't very clean.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2008

In July I took the Inn-to-Inn hike starting at Skyland, then to Big Meadows, to Lewis Mountain Cabins, then turned around and went back to Big Meadows and finished at Skyland. Of the three facilities, I enjoyed my evening spent here the most. The cabin was clean and very comfortable. Previous reviewers have complained about rodents, but I neither saw nor heard any evidence of infestation. The only critters about were deer and a few insects. The two staff persons I met were very friendly and helpful. They operate a small store that has just about everything you need for your stay. The store closes at 6:00 PM and from then til nine the next morning you are on your own. You prepare your own meal in the grill provided and eat outdoors. I spent the evening reading, watching deer, and just enjoying the solitude. Slept very well. Evening was cool for July and did not miss a/c at all. Just an all around great experience!!

  • Liked — The staff and the solitude
  • Disliked — Nice if the store opened earlier in the morning
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bighungryguy
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2007

I was looking for information on the tent cabins when we set up this trip and couldn't find much so maybe this will be helpful to others. The tent cabin was described accurately to me by the staff at Lewis Mountain when I called to reserve it. It is extremely simple. There are 2 metal bunk beds with mattresses, and a wood stove on the concrete floor. the walls are constructed of wood and covered in a combination of carving and grafitti, but i did not notice anything profane or inappropriate. there is a back porch with a picnic table and a bear box. there are 2 windows on the back porch that are screened in and are secured by a sliding piece of wood. there is also a fire ring and water pump directly behind the cabin. It's not apparent from the pictures, but all of the cabins sit pretty close together. I was hoping the experience would be a little more remote as the cabins sit pretty close to the road. the public facilities consist of a locking private bathroom with a pay shower at the campstore which was actuallly pretty cool and in very good condition. there is also a bigger bathroom facility with no shower in the center of the tent campgrounds. the lewis mountain trail was nice and the view was awesome. I chose the tent cabin because i have small children and wanted to be able to contain the at night and keep the bears out with something stronger than nylon. All in all it was roughly the experience I expected. The one disappointment i had was that the park management is handled by Aramark. The cost efficiency efforts show. Also, bring groceries, beverages, marshmallows etc. with you as the prices at the campstore are sky-high.

  • Liked — proximity to hiking trails
  • Disliked — condition of interior of cabin
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baltimore, maryland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2007

these cabins are VERY rustic and sparsely furnished. ours was not particularly clean. after dark, we realized it was infested with mice. not just one or two. we were prepared to sleep in the car, but were able to get a room at big meadows, which was much better. i would never go back to this place.

  • Stayed May 2006, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conshohocken, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2006

I stayed two nights in the Lewis Mountain Cabins for one weekend in August 2006. The cabins were clean and nicely decorated. I picked the cabins because they offered a compromise between the camping experience and the hotel experience. I liked being able to cook and spend my evenings outside by a campfire, but then was able to sleep inside. If you don't care about the campfire or the outside cooking, then you should probably stay at Big Meadows or Skyland Lodges. The prices are not all that different.

The outside picnic area was nice. I was in cabin 7, which is one of the cabins that has the picnic area attached to the cabin. There is a pit grill that uses either wood or charcoal. There is also an outdoor storage box for food--so you can secure it from the bears. This is very important, as bears do approach the cabin area. We even had a bear on our patio one morning.

Overall, I enjoyed the cabins--they were exactly what I was expecting--and I would stay in them again.

  • Liked — I liked being able to have a campfire.
  • Disliked — The bathrooms
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park City, UT
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2005

August 26,27, 2005. Lewis Mountain Cabins. Cabin 8. Shenandoah National Park is within 100 miles of a couple million eastern city folks. These cabins would seem to target the locals who wish to have a "camping" experience, but not actually stay at the campground. The cabins offer your own hot shower, with soap, conditioner, shower gel dispenser. No tub, except for cabin 13 which is wheelchair accesible. Sink and toilet also in the small, cramped bathroom. Leaking toilet, easily remedied by turning off the supply while sleeping, but surprising since much lip service is given to conserving water. Large main room since there's only one double bed, a dresser, and two chairs. No tables anywhere inside for laying out papers or such. Only one electrical outlet, as far diagonally from the bathroom as possible--so if you have a corded shaver, no mirror to be used. Electric heater worked fine. Picnic table and grill behind, but not reachable in inclement weather without going outside and around first. Campstore, with supplies and some food for your own preparation, is across the street. The campstore is also the registration area--and not set up to accompany late check-ins. It closes at 6:00pm most days, 7:00pm on Fridays and Saturdays. There's probably some method for getting your key if you come later; but I didn't see what it was. Also, they don't open until 9:00am, so early departure is done by just leaving your key in the room and driving off. If these cabins were priced half way between the campground and the lodge--or even two thirds up from the campground, these could be a reasonable value. As is, though, there's no sensible reason to stay here rather than 7 miles away at Big Meadows Lodge where service is better, amenities are more, activities are greater and price is essentially the same. $86.90 a night.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shenandoah National Park
7.7 mi away
The Mimslyn Inn
The Mimslyn Inn
#1 of 8 in Luray
4.5 of 5 stars 704 reviews
5.2 mi away
Days Inn Luray Shenandoah
17.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Woodstock / Shenandoah Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
The Cardinal Inn
The Cardinal Inn
#3 of 8 in Luray
3.5 of 5 stars 99 reviews
17.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Woodstock
6.4 mi away
Skyland Resort
Skyland Resort
#1 of 1 in Shenandoah National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 1,358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lewis Mountain Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lewis Mountain Cabins

Address: Skyline Drive, Shenandoah National Park, VA
Location: United States > Virginia > Shenandoah National Park
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Shenandoah National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 32 site campground with laundry and shower facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Lewis Mountain Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lewis Mountain Campground Hotel Shenandoah National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lewis Mountain Cabins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.