We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Labor Day camping” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mathews Arm Campground

Mathews Arm Campground
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Shenandoah National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mathews Arm Campground
Save Saved
You added Mathews Arm Campground to your Saves list
Mile 22.1 Skyline Drive, Shenandoah National Park, VA   |  
Hotel amenities
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Labor Day camping”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

This campground provided exactly what we needed for an overnight stay outdoors. The fire pit, picnic table, and restroom facilities were a welcome convenience. Our group hiked the 5 mile trek to the waterfalls, and although it looked more like a trickle when we got there, the other views made up for it. The general store 2 miles down Skyline also was a pleasure to discover. The only downside to this location was that the campsites were pretty small and very close together- at one point I woke up in the middle of the night and could hear someone snoring from the campsite next to ours. We will likely visit this location again, but hopefully on a less crowded weekend so we could enjoy a little more privacy.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    12
    2
    2
    3
See reviews for
9
2
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toms Brook, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

I have stayed at Matthews Arm many times and have always had a great stay! Beautiful scenery. Great hiking. Lots of wild life in the surrounding areas. Nice campground for the price. Friendly, helpful rangers.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012 via mobile

My daughter and I stayed here in tents. Clean, fairly secluded sites , tent pads. Though there are no showers or hook ups the place is spectacular. Saw two bear, one in an overlook sitting on someone's vacant car! Also saw several deer. The skyline drive is simply beautiful.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012 via mobile

This is the second campground that I've stayed in at Shenandoah and I had another great stay in the park. This campground is located 22 miles from the park entrance in Front Royal; it's also the first campground you'll come to from this entrance. The sites are well maintained and offer a modest amount of privacy. A store to buy camping supplies like wood is located 2 miles south of the grounds. There aren't showers located at the campground, so keep this in mind if you'll need to shower before departing. The closest showers are several miles away. Between Mathews Arm and Lott Mountain, I prefer Loft Mountain personally but this is still a good site if you're in the norther part of the park. See my review of Loft Mountain for more information about that campground.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

Matthew's Arm is a great campground. The camping lots are spacious and laid out very well. There's room for two tents easily and maybe even three. The fire pits are well made.
I walked the 6.5 mile trail, which has a beautiful overlook pay off at the end, but is a straight 3.25 mile uphill hike on the way back. So, keep that in mind. There hadn't been much rain fall. So, the spectacular waterfall was a little sparse on water, but still the view was just breath taking.
It's easy to get drinking water, but it was interesting that there were no showers present. Not a deal breaker by any means, but this was the first campground I'd been to without showers. They also ask that you wash your dishes at your site instead of the sinks.
There's a place where nature talks are given. Keep a lookout for bears. Black bears are prevalent.
There's also a store two miles south with anything you could need or want, including firewood, gas... and alcohol.
The drive there is glorious, as any ride on skyline drive is. This is the most northern campground in the National Park and Luray Caverns isn't too far away. So, that's another great way to spend some time.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011 via mobile

The sight was pretty. Everyone was friendly and lots of campers brought their pets. We stayed at C146. This sight faced trees but had campers on both sides. The entire sight lacks privacy. There were some more private spots in the A section. We didn't see any bears around the site, but we did see lots of deer. On thing that I really did not like, was the people who brought the loud generator! They totally ruined the peace. If you are a party animal trying to get wasted and loud, I do not suggest the park period. There are campsight host who keep the peace when the rangers are off duty. So someone is always watching. If you do plan on partying, start early because silence starts at 10pm and ends at 6am. Six AM is also about the time that the garbage man comes. I was able to sleep it off though. The nights were really cold and the mornings were wet from the dew. Make sure your tent repels water and spiders. We did two trails: Little Stoney Man and the Appalachian Trail. Little Stoney Man was bumpy and my feet kept slipping off the stones. The view at the end was beautiful though. The is a good rock for those of you who rock climb. We heard there were a lot of bears on the Appalachian Trail, but when we went, we didn't see them. The Appalachian is kind of steep, so take some water to stay hydrated. Also, wear layers when hiking because you start out freezing and then get hot! If you are going to be hiking all day and just need a spot to rest at night, Mathews Arm is good enough.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moorestown, New Jersey
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2011

i've been going for years ,about 10 or 12 years now. i think it's a great place to go for camping,hiking,and sight seeing. I'm getting older now, and wish I could still hike like I used to, but still do the campground loop,and other short hikes. I wish I new of this place when I was younger. The bears are a big atraction,and the deer are neat too. the only thing that i don't like is there are no showers.

Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mathews Arm Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mathews Arm Campground

Address: Mile 22.1 Skyline Drive, Shenandoah National Park, VA
Location: United States > Virginia > Shenandoah National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Shenandoah National Park
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A campground with no showers. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mathews Arm Campground Hotel Shenandoah National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mathews Arm Campground, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.