We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short Hike Yet Challenging Rock Climbing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bearfence Mountain

Bearfence Mountain
Shenandoah National Park, VA
Improve this listing
Type: Mountains
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Popular scenic area.
Portsmouth, VA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Short Hike Yet Challenging Rock Climbing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

On our last day at Massanuttten, we wanted to go a quick hike before the long car trip home. We did a quick search on Tripadvisor and stumbled upon Bearfence Mountain. All the reviews are quite accurate. We've gone on several hikes throughout our years visiting the mountains and this is by far the most scenic view you could find. Once to the top, a 360 degree scenic view awaits you. Mind you, you have to climb a few rocks to get there, but it is well worth it. If you hike the trail and come to the rocks, don't stop there. Follow the blue makers over the rocks and keep climbing until you get to the top. You will be glad you did. If you are not sure footed, don't try the hike with the rock scrabbles as they will be too treacherous for you. If you are sure footed, go for it. No hiking experience required. There are times you might have to pull yourself up, but at 53, I didn't have any problems. The 1.2 mike hike took us about 1 - 1.5 hours to complete. Access to the hike located at milepost 57 (if I recall correctly) is through the Skyline Drive.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    11
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“fun with rocks; excellent view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

For most of the five hundred plus miles of hiking trails in Shenandoah NP, you will be walking among woods. This one is different. If you enjoy rock scrambling, you should definitely check this out. Short and sweet; round trip less than two miles with excellent views.

Hiked up on a sunny Saturday morning in September. We were probably the first people out there at 7:30 am; stayed among the boulders until 10:30 am and saw only five other hikers. Peaceful & quiet.

You start the trail by walking across the Skyline Drive from the Bearfence parking lot into the woods, but very soon you will see rocks. Though the rocks are not difficult to navigate, eventually you will have to use your hands. This is a class two scrambling, so you'll be exposed to the height (albeit very briefly) along the scrambling path. The exposure only adds to the excitement.

Once we reached the view point, the view of the rolling hills in both directions is excellent. I decided to stop here and manually create a time-lapse of the expanding sea of clouds. Very rewarding experience.

If you enjoyed this hike, should also check out the longer rocky hikes, like the Old Rag (8 miles rt), and the Stony Man mountains (+little Stony Man to make it 5 mile r/t) .

P.S. My hiking guide book says that the view point has a better view than the summit.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
No. California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great, quick hike”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

We really had a great time on this hike. It could be crowded on a weekend, because there were a fair number of folks even on a weekday, but it was worth the fun of the rock scrambling and the views. We were even able to get a 2nd hike in a little later in the day.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oswego, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A night to remember”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

We climbed this superb peak at midnight! The rock scramble was as challenging as exciting!Although clouds blew in fast and rains came the adrenaline was pumping . Went from sweet dry rock crags to wet and slippery fast. the hike itself is short and sweet and the peak is ever rewarding. A must visit if your in Shenandoah

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amissville, Virginia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

A good rock scramble to get here - if you go at the right time you can see the sunset, spend the night there and awake to the sunrise.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bearfence Mountain also viewed

Shenandoah National Park, VA
Shenandoah National Park, VA
 
Shenandoah National Park, VA
Shenandoah National Park, VA
 

Been to Bearfence Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bearfence Mountain, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.