We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“spectacular.views” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Skyline Drive

Skyline Drive
Shenandoah National Park, VA
Improve this listing
Activities: Driving, Biking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: 105-mile scenic drive built in the 1930's goes through the entire length of the park.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“spectacular.views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We loved the parkway. We were staying nearby and had the opportunity to visit 4 times. At night the deer were out feeding. The views were lovely even tho there was some haze. Trees changing, cooler days. Nice for the Florida gal tired of heat

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

865 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    671
    162
    29
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“A splendid Saturday on the Skyline drive!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

I just love road trips, especially through national parks and am always looking for scenic drives. Even if it took me 6 hours to get down here from NYC in Friday night rush hour traffic,Skyline drive, VA, is absolutely magnificent and worth it! I arrived at the north entrance by Front Royal 8am on a Saturday morning at the end of September and the park ranger at the entrance informed me that is was a 'fee-free' day! Yippee! Off to a great start (even if I'd pay the 15 dollars to support this beautiful park any day :)). There are so many amazing lookout points along the route and I'm sure I stopped at at least half of them! There are adjecent hiking trails almost at every look out point, so it is easy to get the exercise done. There are a few visitors centers in the park worth stopping at to watch a movie, enjoy the exhibitions and browse in the shops. Since I decided to start exploring the park early on and going from north to south, I never encountered any crowds or traffic along the route. The 35mph speed limit is just right as the beauty is just overwhelming,especially now with the foliage. The sightings of wildlife included; wrens and hawks, deer, woodchucks, squirrels and even a coyote! A weekend in Shenandoah National Park is a must for anyone who loves nature, epic landscapes and a little bit of 'quiet'.:)

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Blue Ridge mountains, Shenandoah River...Life is good there”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Great mini-vacation for DC/Baltimore residents. About a 2-3 hour drive and lots to do. Plenty of trails and the park service offers many resources to support options. The drive through the mountain was nicer than we would have imagined it could be in the summer time. Most folks venture out this way in the fall to see the changing of the season and leaves. But summertime was a great visit as well. We saw plenty of wildlife -- deer and bear! Amazing!
There was a one time entrance fee that allowed a week access to the mountain roads.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uniontown, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Beautiful, inspirational scenery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Our family enjoys the Fall foliage here each year from beginning to end. Each overlook is unique. Big Meadows is especially fun to frolic in and watch all of the wildlife.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“A Perfect Fall Drive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

The drive through the mountains is absolutely breathtaking. The sunrise and sunset's here are amazing. I wish we had gotten here a little later to see the leaves change...they make for an incredible vista. During this trip we took part in a ranger guided tour talking about the volcanic history of the area. It was very informative, I had no idea some of these areas existed in the park. We plan on going back again this week to explore more of the area.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Skyline Drive also viewed

Shenandoah National Park, VA
Shenandoah National Park, VA
 
Shenandoah National Park, VA
 

Been to Skyline Drive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Skyline Drive, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.