We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A splendid Saturday on the Skyline drive!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Skyline Drive

Skyline Drive
Shenandoah National Park, VA
Improve this listing
Type: Scenic Drives, Bodies of Water
Activities: Driving, Biking
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: 105-mile scenic drive built in the 1930's goes through the entire length of the park.
New York City, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A splendid Saturday on the Skyline drive!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

I just love road trips, especially through national parks and am always looking for scenic drives. Even if it took me 6 hours to get down here from NYC in Friday night rush hour traffic,Skyline drive, VA, is absolutely magnificent and worth it! I arrived at the north entrance by Front Royal 8am on a Saturday morning at the end of September and the park ranger at the entrance informed me that is was a 'fee-free' day! Yippee! Off to a great start (even if I'd pay the 15 dollars to support this beautiful park any day :)). There are so many amazing lookout points along the route and I'm sure I stopped at at least half of them! There are adjecent hiking trails almost at every look out point, so it is easy to get the exercise done. There are a few visitors centers in the park worth stopping at to watch a movie, enjoy the exhibitions and browse in the shops. Since I decided to start exploring the park early on and going from north to south, I never encountered any crowds or traffic along the route. The 35mph speed limit is just right as the beauty is just overwhelming,especially now with the foliage. The sightings of wildlife included; wrens and hawks, deer, woodchucks, squirrels and even a coyote! A weekend in Shenandoah National Park is a must for anyone who loves nature, epic landscapes and a little bit of 'quiet'.:)

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

620 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    477
    121
    20
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Blue Ridge mountains, Shenandoah River...Life is good there”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Great mini-vacation for DC/Baltimore residents. About a 2-3 hour drive and lots to do. Plenty of trails and the park service offers many resources to support options. The drive through the mountain was nicer than we would have imagined it could be in the summer time. Most folks venture out this way in the fall to see the changing of the season and leaves. But summertime was a great visit as well. We saw plenty of wildlife -- deer and bear! Amazing!
There was a one time entrance fee that allowed a week access to the mountain roads.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uniontown, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Beautiful, inspirational scenery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Our family enjoys the Fall foliage here each year from beginning to end. Each overlook is unique. Big Meadows is especially fun to frolic in and watch all of the wildlife.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“A Perfect Fall Drive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

The drive through the mountains is absolutely breathtaking. The sunrise and sunset's here are amazing. I wish we had gotten here a little later to see the leaves change...they make for an incredible vista. During this trip we took part in a ranger guided tour talking about the volcanic history of the area. It was very informative, I had no idea some of these areas existed in the park. We plan on going back again this week to explore more of the area.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Beautiful Views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

We initially entered Skyline Drive at Thorton Gap and drove to the Northern end. Beautiful views and with the numerous overlooks that allow you to see all of the valley it is worth the drive. The wildlife that roams along the way is also great we saw 3 bears, one which ran in front of us across Skyline. Great trip just allow for extra time in your trip as the speed limit is only 35.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Skyline Drive also viewed

Shenandoah National Park, VA
Shenandoah National Park, VA
 
Shenandoah National Park, VA
 

Been to Skyline Drive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Skyline Drive, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Skyline Drive to your Saves list