We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Blue Ridge mountains, Shenandoah River...Life is good there” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Skyline Drive

Skyline Drive
Shenandoah National Park, VA
Improve this listing
Type: Scenic Drives, Bodies of Water
Activities: Driving, Biking
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: 105-mile scenic drive built in the 1930's goes through the entire length of the park.
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Blue Ridge mountains, Shenandoah River...Life is good there”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Great mini-vacation for DC/Baltimore residents. About a 2-3 hour drive and lots to do. Plenty of trails and the park service offers many resources to support options. The drive through the mountain was nicer than we would have imagined it could be in the summer time. Most folks venture out this way in the fall to see the changing of the season and leaves. But summertime was a great visit as well. We saw plenty of wildlife -- deer and bear! Amazing!
There was a one time entrance fee that allowed a week access to the mountain roads.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

602 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    463
    118
    19
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Uniontown, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Beautiful, inspirational scenery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Our family enjoys the Fall foliage here each year from beginning to end. Each overlook is unique. Big Meadows is especially fun to frolic in and watch all of the wildlife.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“A Perfect Fall Drive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

The drive through the mountains is absolutely breathtaking. The sunrise and sunset's here are amazing. I wish we had gotten here a little later to see the leaves change...they make for an incredible vista. During this trip we took part in a ranger guided tour talking about the volcanic history of the area. It was very informative, I had no idea some of these areas existed in the park. We plan on going back again this week to explore more of the area.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful Views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

We initially entered Skyline Drive at Thorton Gap and drove to the Northern end. Beautiful views and with the numerous overlooks that allow you to see all of the valley it is worth the drive. The wildlife that roams along the way is also great we saw 3 bears, one which ran in front of us across Skyline. Great trip just allow for extra time in your trip as the speed limit is only 35.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport News
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful drive in the mountains”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

The drive has so many overlooks to stop at and gaze at the beauty of the mountains. Also along the drive there are several campgrounds, picnic grounds and hikes to enjoy.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Skyline Drive also viewed

Shenandoah National Park, VA
Shenandoah National Park, VA
 
Shenandoah National Park, VA
 

Been to Skyline Drive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Skyline Drive, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Skyline Drive to your Saves list