We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful drive in the mountains” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Skyline Drive

Skyline Drive
Shenandoah National Park, VA
Improve this listing
Type: Scenic Drives, Bodies of Water
Activities: Driving, Biking
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: 105-mile scenic drive built in the 1930's goes through the entire length of the park.
Newport News
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Beautiful drive in the mountains”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

The drive has so many overlooks to stop at and gaze at the beauty of the mountains. Also along the drive there are several campgrounds, picnic grounds and hikes to enjoy.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

673 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    519
    131
    21
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Williamstown, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Breath taking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

This was our first trip here. We started at the Northern end and went 65 miles south. It was so peaceful and what a view. We walked a few trails(not completely) just to get a feel of it. It was everything we had heard about it. wish we had time to see the entire length. We had deer come right up to the car and walk around at the way station.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Very pretty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

A pretty ride with some fantastic views. The highlight of the drive was a bear in a tree. Traffic became backed up for quite a way, but it was fantastic to see the bear climb down and walk away. Pack a picnic lunch and enjoy it on one of the many pull overs while you enjoy the view.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ankeny
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“lovely drive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We took a drive on a portion of Skyline Drive and it was wonderful. We saw a black bear mom with her two cubs right by the road. We also saw deer. This is meant to be a slow drive if you want to enjoy the surroundings. We made some stops for pictures and plan to go back another time. Unfortunately several motor cycles seemed to think it was a speedway for them. So to them - go elsewhere if you find the need to speed around each other.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beardsley, MN
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Beautiful scenery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Very long, windy drive. Beautiful scenery with plenty of Overlooks for photos. Did have to stop for a bear cub to cross & plenty of deer roaming around

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Skyline Drive also viewed

Shenandoah National Park, VA
Shenandoah National Park, VA
 
Shenandoah National Park, VA
 

Been to Skyline Drive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Skyline Drive, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.