We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Views all along the drive - A Must See” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Skyline Drive

Skyline Drive
Shenandoah National Park, VA
Improve this listing
Type: Scenic Drives, Bodies of Water
Activities: Driving, Biking
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: 105-mile scenic drive built in the 1930's goes through the entire length of the park.
Ipswich, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
50 attraction reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Beautiful Views all along the drive - A Must See”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We visited this in April and while there was a chill in the air, the views were still spectacular. Would be even better in the fall. We drove the entire Skyline Drive and finding a bathroom in April was a challenge - most of the park does not open until 1 May, so be forewarned! You can get off at several exits and find services, though, just not many are right on the parkway in April, except for the Visitor's Center at the northern entrance. The road is very well maintained and there are many pullouts for scenic overlooks. We did find a restaurant that was open in the park and had a nice lunch with a beautiful view. By driving this in April, we pretty much had the drive to ourselves, another plus, and I can see that it would get crowded in the summer. There is a fee for entering the National Park but it is free if you have a Senior Pass, or other National Park pass.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

727 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    562
    140
    23
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Browns Mills, New Jersey, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Unbelievable Views and Natural Beauty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We went to the park on Monday June 11th and really enjoyed the views from the pull offs along Skyline Drive.Also took a 1.4 mile round trip hike down to a beautiful waterfall called Dark Hollow Falls.Going down wasn't bad ,but the long climb back up the mountain was brutal>Still ,we really enjoyed it and arrived back at our car just as another thunderstorm started up.We will be going back there in the future*They have a nice stop at Big Meadow where you can get fuel,souvenirs,food and camping supplies*

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fallston, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“WOW.....saw not one but TWO bears!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We had a busy day of traveling, but decided to take the skyline drive scenic route. Sure glad we did. Pulled in around 6 pm and had wildlife everywhere. Several groups of deer and two different bears at two different locations in the park. We will never forget the drive. Just amazing!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Bask in the Valley”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

My wife and I drove to skyline to avoid the busy hustle abd bustle of I95. And man it was worth it..took us out of the way. But we love the back roads and came across Sky Line Drive. This was well worth it. We stopped to look at the many overlooks available. Some being refurbished. But many to stop and just view the canvas which is our country. The lil country store to grab a quick bite was a good call. The service was great, food fresh and restrooms clean. So think about the next time your not in a hurry. Take this route. You will love it. We are goung back the next time to hike. And to really enjoy the canopy of this great country.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgewater, United States
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Drive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Skyline Drive is a wonderful place to see the beauty of nature. It starts at Front Royal, Virginia and ends in Waynesboro, Virginia. I have traveled Skyline Drive for 19 years and every time I do up there I still enjoy it. A great place to see deer, a lot by Big Meadows and an occasional bear. I was up there today and there were tons of butterflies.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Skyline Drive also viewed

Shenandoah National Park, VA
Shenandoah National Park, VA
 
Shenandoah National Park, VA
 

Been to Skyline Drive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Skyline Drive, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.