We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Any time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Skyline Drive

Skyline Drive
, Shenandoah National Park, VA
540-999-3500
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence
Activities: Driving, Biking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: 105-mile scenic drive built in the 1930's goes through the entire length of the park.
Myersville
Level Contributor
87 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Any time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Something for anybody-beautiful mountain vistas, history, hikes to breathtaking spots-good exercise and fun watching the critters.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    895
    200
    45
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auburn, Maine
Level Contributor
249 reviews
97 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“I really like this trip / drive / area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

This is one of my favorite areas to visit when I am in the area. The drive is very scenic, pleasant, slow paced.

I have been lucky enough to catch some small Black Bears in the road, as well as deer. The deer were nipping my tires at the hotel the next morning, which was cool, but I did make sure they didn't make a meal out of them.

There are no less then 25 Scenic turnoffs along the drive, and several other great little hikes.

Skyline drive is a Toll Road, but worth every penny to drive it. The first part is some 100 miles long, and the prettiest and best maintained part. This is part of the Blue Ridge Parkway and the whole road is some 200 miles +- long.

There isn't much in the way of places to eat and or gas, so MAKE sure you have stuff to eat, and a FULL tank of gas, if you drive Skyline and Blue Ridge Drives in one shot.

Yes, there a (Very) few points to exit, and if you need to, get off when you see one and don't wait until the next one.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Stunning fall color”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

I wasn't sure what we'd see, since the fall had been very warm, but the colors from the ridge looked fantastic. I'd love to go Big Meadow Lodge for a sunset dinner.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Love love love -- 365 days a year!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I usually only travel Skyline Drive in the summer or fall (for the colors), but recently spent a weekend at a nearby cabin. My better half and I spent two full days hiking the trails and it couldn't have been more perfect. Middle of winter or not -- Skyline Drive is gorgeous and a must-see.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
94 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

It's a nice relaxing drive with plenty of places to pull over and enjoy spectacular views. The speed limit is 25mph so don't be in a hurry.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Skyline Drive also viewed

Shenandoah National Park, VA
Shenandoah National Park, VA
 
Shenandoah National Park, VA
 

Been to Skyline Drive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Skyline Drive, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.