We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love love love -- 365 days a year!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Skyline Drive

Skyline Drive
Shenandoah National Park, VA
Improve this listing
Type: Scenic Drives, Bodies of Water
Activities: Driving, Biking
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: 105-mile scenic drive built in the 1930's goes through the entire length of the park.
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Love love love -- 365 days a year!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I usually only travel Skyline Drive in the summer or fall (for the colors), but recently spent a weekend at a nearby cabin. My better half and I spent two full days hiking the trails and it couldn't have been more perfect. Middle of winter or not -- Skyline Drive is gorgeous and a must-see.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

707 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    545
    137
    23
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bangor, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

It's a nice relaxing drive with plenty of places to pull over and enjoy spectacular views. The speed limit is 25mph so don't be in a hurry.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
309 reviews 309 reviews
237 attraction reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
“Fall Color to Die For....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

but make sure you have a map of the trail you plan to hike. For my first Autumn back in the US in 4 years, I decided a drive down Skyline Drive was just what the doctor ordered. It had rained the day before so when I entered the park there was a low level fog that made for an eerie drive. But as I moved along, the fog started to clear and the color was just awe inspiring. I had heard about a great hike on the Rose River Trail and all the waterfalls along it. I found one end of the trail head and started along, but I must have missed a turn. I ended up at a lovely waterfall (later found out it was the Dark Hallow Falls) and took the trail from there. I ended up a mile from my car. So if you decide to go for a hike make sure you know EXACTLY where you are suppose to go. Otherwise it was a great morning in a beautiful place....

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful Virginia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

This drive is one of the most beautiful on the eastern Seaboard. Breath taking views and worth going in every season.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Majesty of Nature Twelve Months a Year”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

One hundred five miles of natural beauty. Skyline Drive is located in the Shenandoah National Park. It begins at the northern park entrance at Front Royal Virgina and extends south to near Waynesboro, Va and the start of Blue Ridge Parkway. Along the east and west side of the drive are numerous overlooks providing vista of the mountains, valleys, rivers and communities of the Blue Ridge. The park is teaming with wildlife; it is not unusual to see hawks, owls, bear and deer in the course of a drive. It can be awe inspiring at anytime of year, but the fall colors are beautiful beyond words. In addition to the scenic drive there are several formal campsites, the Big Meadows nature Center and Museum and thousands of hiking trails. Vehicle access to the park ranges from $10 to $15US.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Skyline Drive also viewed

Shenandoah National Park, VA
Shenandoah National Park, VA
 
Shenandoah National Park, VA
 

Been to Skyline Drive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Skyline Drive, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.