We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Skyline Drive

Skyline Drive
Shenandoah National Park, VA
Improve this listing
Type: Scenic Drives, Bodies of Water
Activities: Driving, Biking
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: 105-mile scenic drive built in the 1930's goes through the entire length of the park.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
50 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Beautiful !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We visit almost every year during summer and fall. Great drive with spectacular views. Many of the look out points have beautiful views. There are many hiking trails as well. Highly recommended !

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

603 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    464
    118
    19
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Charlottesville, Virginia, United States
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful mountain views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

It's a nice drive with beautiful views, there are many stop off points. It is most beautiful in the fall when the leaves are changing.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Skyline Scenery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

We went to VA for a long weekend and drove part of the Skyline Drive. I thought we would drive more of it but the slow pace was starting to lose it luster, so we only did a little less than half. The lookout points on both sides of the valley were breathtaking and it is a very worthwhile experience, so glad to know that it is there for generations to enjoy.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
58 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Trails for people of all ages, even wheel chair bound”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

This is my absolute favorite place near DC. My husband and I took so many trips here to hike with our kids in backpacks and even strollers on the wheel chair accessible trails. We loved watching bears, deer, birds, and squirrels, climbing on rocks, picnicking in the meadow, and seeing the forest in all of the seasons. The visitor areas were nice too with really sweet souvenirs for the little ones. Staying in the cabins and lodges were fun also, especially once when a storm hit and took out our electricity! The lodge had a generator, so there was a very festive air when all of the guests gathered there to keep warm and drink hot chocolate and coffee. There's nothing like sitting on your cabin porch and watching deer come within three feet of you to eat acorns off the ground in the fall. Sweet, sweet memories.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Culpeper
Top Contributor
258 reviews 258 reviews
157 attraction reviews
Reviews in 112 cities Reviews in 112 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
“Nice drive so take it slow”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

leaves were peaking during visit, just making it all the better, some superb trails to the side- watch for the distracted driver though, had some very close calls

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Skyline Drive also viewed

Shenandoah National Park, VA
Shenandoah National Park, VA
 
Shenandoah National Park, VA
 

Been to Skyline Drive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Skyline Drive, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Skyline Drive to your Saves list