We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful mountain views” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Skyline Drive

Skyline Drive
Shenandoah National Park, VA
Improve this listing
Type: Scenic Drives, Bodies of Water, Sights & Landmarks, Nature & Parks, Outdoor Activities
Activities: Driving, Biking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: 105-mile scenic drive built in the 1930's goes through the entire length of the park.
Charlottesville, Virginia, United States
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful mountain views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

It's a nice drive with beautiful views, there are many stop off points. It is most beautiful in the fall when the leaves are changing.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

859 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    668
    159
    29
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Skyline Scenery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

We went to VA for a long weekend and drove part of the Skyline Drive. I thought we would drive more of it but the slow pace was starting to lose it luster, so we only did a little less than half. The lookout points on both sides of the valley were breathtaking and it is a very worthwhile experience, so glad to know that it is there for generations to enjoy.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
62 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Trails for people of all ages, even wheel chair bound”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

This is my absolute favorite place near DC. My husband and I took so many trips here to hike with our kids in backpacks and even strollers on the wheel chair accessible trails. We loved watching bears, deer, birds, and squirrels, climbing on rocks, picnicking in the meadow, and seeing the forest in all of the seasons. The visitor areas were nice too with really sweet souvenirs for the little ones. Staying in the cabins and lodges were fun also, especially once when a storm hit and took out our electricity! The lodge had a generator, so there was a very festive air when all of the guests gathered there to keep warm and drink hot chocolate and coffee. There's nothing like sitting on your cabin porch and watching deer come within three feet of you to eat acorns off the ground in the fall. Sweet, sweet memories.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
288 reviews 288 reviews
165 attraction reviews
Reviews in 130 cities Reviews in 130 cities
173 helpful votes 173 helpful votes
“Nice drive so take it slow”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

leaves were peaking during visit, just making it all the better, some superb trails to the side- watch for the distracted driver though, had some very close calls

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Trails - trails - trails”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

My wife and I love to go to Skyline Drive in Virginia's Shenandoah National Park. This graceful drive is filled with amazing sites and we often see black bear, deer, and other animals from the road. What we love to do is hike the various trails scattered throughout the park. Each stop yields 2-3-4-5 or more trails. We live close and have been going consistently for four years and have not had to hike the same trail twice (however - we have chosen to hike a couple of them a 2nd time just because of the beauty).

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Skyline Drive also viewed

Shenandoah National Park, VA
Shenandoah National Park, VA
 
Shenandoah National Park, VA
 

Been to Skyline Drive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Skyline Drive, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.