We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trails for people of all ages, even wheel chair bound” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Skyline Drive

Skyline Drive
Shenandoah National Park, VA
540-999-3500
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence
Activities: Driving, Biking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: 105-mile scenic drive built in the 1930's goes through the entire length of the park.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
136 reviews
83 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Trails for people of all ages, even wheel chair bound”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

This is my absolute favorite place near DC. My husband and I took so many trips here to hike with our kids in backpacks and even strollers on the wheel chair accessible trails. We loved watching bears, deer, birds, and squirrels, climbing on rocks, picnicking in the meadow, and seeing the forest in all of the seasons. The visitor areas were nice too with really sweet souvenirs for the little ones. Staying in the cabins and lodges were fun also, especially once when a storm hit and took out our electricity! The lodge had a generator, so there was a very festive air when all of the guests gathered there to keep warm and drink hot chocolate and coffee. There's nothing like sitting on your cabin porch and watching deer come within three feet of you to eat acorns off the ground in the fall. Sweet, sweet memories.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,062 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    829
    189
    40
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
351 reviews
207 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
“Nice drive so take it slow”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

leaves were peaking during visit, just making it all the better, some superb trails to the side- watch for the distracted driver though, had some very close calls

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Trails - trails - trails”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

My wife and I love to go to Skyline Drive in Virginia's Shenandoah National Park. This graceful drive is filled with amazing sites and we often see black bear, deer, and other animals from the road. What we love to do is hike the various trails scattered throughout the park. Each stop yields 2-3-4-5 or more trails. We live close and have been going consistently for four years and have not had to hike the same trail twice (however - we have chosen to hike a couple of them a 2nd time just because of the beauty).

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
133 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Breathtaking views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

The only negative about the park, which is why I rated it 4 stars, was the cost. We decided to start at the Front Royal entrance and work our way up and down the hillside to get to Luray Caverns. For the 24 miles of Skyline Drive we drove, we spent $15 to get in (a little pricey but it does allow entrance over 7 days). I will say though, once you get up to one of the highest peaks an look over into the valley, the cost disappears. The beautiful fall colors amongs the trees is peaceful and a little piece of serenity. I just wish I had more time to spend!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“amazing tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

so much exciting long drive with lots to see with scenic beauty! There is more chances to see wild animals like dear and etc

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Skyline Drive also viewed

Shenandoah National Park, VA
Shenandoah National Park, VA
 
Shenandoah National Park, VA
 

Been to Skyline Drive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Skyline Drive, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.