We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Monthly visit!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Skyline Drive

Skyline Drive
Shenandoah National Park, VA
540-999-3500
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: 105-mile scenic drive built in the 1930's goes through the entire length of the park.
Culpeper, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Monthly visit!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

My family goes to Skyline Drive about once a month. We usually stay on the part that runs between Big Meadows and Rappahannock Co. There are a lot of hikes we love to go on. In the past, we usually did the mile trail that is handicap accessible because it is flat and easy to push a stroller on . Plus, if the kids want to get out and walk, it is very easy for them. There are a lot of benches on this trail so you can sit and enjoy the scenery.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Rebecca B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Lake Ridge, Virginia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Even on a drizzly day, still beautiful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Even though many of the leaves were "past peak" -- although the website said there were still plenty of green leaves, we didn't see any! It was still a lovely drive from Luray down to the bottom, Waynesboro -- even with the drizzle and chill! Plenty of color left and all very pretty!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank momworkdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
70 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Skyline Drive in the fall”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Traffic was extremely heavy this year but the changing tree colors were awesome. Worth the time to stay a night or two if you have the time.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Paula S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Go in October to see the leaves”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

It was gorgeous with all the autumn leaves turning such wonderful colours. We saw some deer and chipmunks but no bears even though we were looking!!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank KobbyUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bisley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
348 reviews
144 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Another brilliant drive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Took in the whole of Skyline as part of our fly drive vacation this Fall - joining it in the south from Blueridge Parkway. The drive along this road is excellent and interestingly very different from its neighbour the Blueridge. The woods and much closer in than on Blueridge but the views are simply stunning from the many overlooks that are provided at regular intervals looking both east and west from the driveway. The Fall colour was brilliant under clear blue skys when we travelled the length of the roadway and to be honest there can be few more beautiful sights than this. Everyone seemed very friendly on the trip - explorers together perhaps even though this is just a few miles from large towns and cities. There are plently of short walks to be taken just off the driveway which suit a variety of abilities - but beware as the weather can change quickly so don't get caught out without the necessary equipment and supplies even for what would be a very short walk you have planned. Not suggesting that you need to go prepared for an artic journey in the middle of summer but at least the right coat, shoes and a drink and a snack might prevent you getting into trouble. Local rangers and the various shops etc along the route provide excellent advice for the traveller planning their trip. Overall a trip to be savoured and not forgotten - even though this was not our first journey along this beautiful roadway.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank GTSSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Skyline Drive also viewed

Shenandoah National Park, VA
Shenandoah National Park, VA
 
Shenandoah National Park, VA
 

Been to Skyline Drive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing