We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Montecito Sequoia Lodge is THE perfect vacation spot for multigenerations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Montecito Sequoia Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Montecito Sequoia Lodge to your Saves list
Montecito Sequoia Lodge
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   63410 General's Hwy, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93633   |  
Hotel amenities
Bay Area, California
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Montecito Sequoia Lodge is THE perfect vacation spot for multigenerations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2009

This was our second visit to the week long family summer camp and we'll be coming back year after year. The variety of activities for kids and adults, day and night, is unbelievable. We tried new things (fencing! mountain biking! archery!) in addition to our regular pastimes (rock climbing! swimming in the pool and the lake! crafts! tennis! trampoline! singing in the talent show!). The food is yummy, the staff is wonderfully energetic, talented and professional and the setting is outstanding. In addition to our own extended family of kids, aunt and grandparents, there were two large family reunions this year, which just underscored what a wonderful place it is for multigenerations. MSL is a gem!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    106
    30
    23
    27
See reviews for
175
117
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carmel, CA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2009

When planning a vacation, my three girs (ages 13,12,10) choose winter or summer - Montecito Resort. I know why. My husband and I can venture out and know the children are
are having the time of their lives. Whether it is snow boarding, cross country skiing, sailing,
archery, horseback riding or even one of the many arts and crafts, there are endless activites.
Evenings are spectacular with special dinners lakeside, or in the lodge for live music. Dining at Montecito will spoil anyone. Montecito Resort is breathtaking, rustic, and staff is one in a million! Do not miss out on this all inclusive format! It is truly a wonderful getaway!

The Rice Family
Carmel ,CA

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Altos, CA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2009

We reserved Dandy's Cabin because we were told by the reservation office it had a kitchen. The website also says this cabin has a kitchen. When we arrived with 10 bags of groceries and found no kitchen equipment in the kitchen we were shocked and disappointed. The oven was even missing all racks. The sink had a bad odor. There was not one stick of cooking equipment or eating utensils. The chef loaned us what he could but it was totally inadequate. We paid a serious upcharge because it was a holiday weekend. We had no place to go because it was a holiday and all other facilities were booked. I complained to the reservation office when I got home. I requested some money back because we didn't get what was promised. The reservation office said the management would not return any money. While we were there person at the front desk said it had happened before that people arrived expecting a kitchen and not getting one. This practice is dishonest. The place is shabby. There was construction tape across the deck because the railing was missing. I could not recommend Montecito. We paid $543 per holiday night and it was definitely not providing the class of service I expect for that money. Too bad because the location is pretty and convenient.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
301 helpful votes 301 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2009

This is in the middle of the wilderness inside Sequoia National Park. There is pretty pound in front of the lodge. The property was quiet during our weed day visit. It’s much busier on the weekends and in the summer months. This is lodge style motel so it’s not luxury. The main lodge has the large dining room where they server buffet style breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Each meal is served for 1 hour and they take food away right on time. If you’re late, you’re out of luck with food. Non-alcoholic beverage selection was surprisingly good and available all day long. 3 meals and beverages are included in the room rate. We booked our room on the national park site. The rate was very reasonable for a room with a queen size bed and 3 meals a day. The food was very salty, but it’s there when we were hungry. There is no restaurant nearby.
We arrived at 6:30 pm. Dinner is serve 6 – 7 PM. The front desk receptionist is busy with a few check – in. He was very friendly but no rush to get things done fast. We waited for 20 minutes and decided to eat dinner while we wait. It was good that we ate because dinner was put away promptly at 7 pm. Others that came in after 7 pm were left being hungry, without dinner. The receptionist didn’t seem concern that guess miss dinner because they waited for check in or came in after 7 pm. If you will be late, then try to arrive before 7 pm to get dinner or eat somewhere else before going to the lodge. The very positive side of the meal service is the lunch bag. We fill out a lunch form to request them to pack us a bag lunch with sandwich, chips, fruit, chewy bar, and a drink for the next day. You can choose the bread, sandwich meat and cheese. We completed the lunch form the night before by 8 pm. Then the lunch bag is ready at the counter at breakfast at 9 am. This is very convenient when we were driving around the park during the day and didn’t have time to go back to the lodge to have lunch. Food is not easy to find in the park.
Our room was #108 in the main lodge. It’s convenient to stay at the main lodge since the dinner room and game room are in the main lodge. The room was small and simple. There is a ceiling fan and a very old fashion heater on the wall. There is no AC and I don’t know if you need one since it’s in the mountain and high elevation. It probably doesn’t get hot even in the summer. The carpet is old and the mattress is old with stain and uncomfortable. There is no TV and no phone. The bathroom was small but it seems like renovated with nice tile floor and newer tub and sink. The towels were colorful, not white. Sheets weren’t white either. There were plenty of tissues boxes, I think there are 4-5 boxes of tissues in the small room. I don’t think there is room service during the stay. Don’t expect hotel style service. It’s a place to stay in the park and much better than camping. The value is good since meals were included. After staying there for 2 nights, a 2 star motel would feel like luxury to us. The surrounding was very peaceful and natural. It’s a place to unwind and take in the nature. We didn’t have cell signal throughout the park and we use Verizon wireless. They do have free wifi in the main lodge. We could get the signal from our room so we were not totally detached from the rest of the world.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trussville, Alabama
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2009

Four of us travelled for two weeks toCalifornia in May 2009 and spent two nights of our trip at the Montecito Sequoia Lodge. The location is beautiful...the lodge and surrounding cabins are situated around a beautiful small clear lake and from the back deck of the lodge there is a nice view of the snow-covered mountain tops. The lodge is set up to cater to families with children and even though we didn't have any, we enjoyed the two nights there. It might have been different during the summer months when lots of children were there, but for families it would be great. If you don't like lots of kids, stay away.

We stayed in a two room suite (one bedroom had a king bed and two sets of bunk beds, the other bedroom had one king bed and one set of bunk beds). There was lots of room for storing gear and would be great for a week-long stay. The only complaint I have is that there is not an elevator in the lodge to get to the second floor. We had lots of luggage and the only way to get it into the lodge was from a parking lot on the side all the way around to the front and up a steep flight of stairs. The room is not luxurious in any sense as it is after all a family camp, but the beds were comfy and the linens were clean. The plumbing in the lodge is old and cranky so the water pressure is not the greatest and the temperature is hard to regulate, but not too much of a problem.

The food is included in the price and is pretty good, not excellent, but tasty. The one day we would have been there for lunch, we were going to be out in the park, so they packed us a nice sandwich, granola bar and apple for lunch. Just let them know the night before and it will be ready to go in the morning. The dinners always have a couple choice of meat/chicken and one vegetarian dish, plus a nice salad bar and several veggie choices; plus dessert. There is usually a nice crockpot full of soup that sits out most of the afternoon and evening if you get hungry early or late; plus there is a self-serve area that has lots of cereals, breads, bagels, etc. open 24 hours. Breakfasts are scrambled eggs, bacon or sausage, potatoes, waffles, etc. The second day of our stay, they had eggs cooked to order, but the cook wasn't too happy and didn't want to make omelettes, so we had over-medium which was fine. The only problem with the type of meals they serve is that they only leave it out for one hour at each meal, which doesn't leave a lot of flexibility in your schedule.

The staff seem to be college students and all seemed cheerful and helpful. All in all we enjoyed our stay at the Montecito and would return again if in the area.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2009

The Montecito Sequoia Lodge is a nice place to stay unless you are used to staying at places like the Marriott, Hyatt, Four Seasons... I would almost compare it to a large B&B. The rooms are not very sound proof so we heard everyone coming and going up the stairs with their luggage. The room is plain, and if you like to watch TV in bed at the end of the day then this is not the place for you. I'm not sure how the rest of the rooms are, but our room did not have a television. The shower and sink were clean but the toilet had some remnants of prior occupants. Meals are served promptly at the times posted and the food was quite good. The staff is very friendly and helpful. There seemed to be a lot of kid-friendly activities so a good place if you have kids.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
evanston IL
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2009

Wow. This was the best vacation of my adult life. I mean, I love the outdoors but what makes Montecito truly special in my eyes is how my children were engaged, entertained and cared for while I got to experience this stunning National Park at my own pace.

Wasn't sure what to expect. I had never been to anything called a Family Camp. We took our girls (8 & 12) for a weeklong stay. Basically the kids go off in age bracketed groups to experience you name it: -horseback riding-archery-sailing-rockclimbing-pottery-nature walks-water skiing-stone carving-tons of stuff. while you get to go off like you did before you kids were born and do whatever; take long hikes or hard core mountain biking. You see the kids at meals and there are many opportunities to participate in parent/child activities.

Aside from this wonderful structure, the lodge has Starbucks on tap. What more do you need? Good Food! A trip is nothing without good food of course. I'd say the daily offerings were better than good. It's a buffet style so we are not in the excellent category right off the bat although the prime rib was excellent. Buffets are buffets in my book but you can see Montecito makes the effort as is required to keep the parents coming back. Kids could not care less.

What didn't you like? I didn't enjoy the watercolor painting activity. The instructor plays the artist and wants you to play grateful student. I was looking to mess around with watercolors and just kind of come up with something. This appeared to upset the instructor who seemed to want everbody to paint just like her sample.

All the other instructors struck me as laid back people who were happy to be around, doing what they were doing.

Another thing that struck me was how talented and funny the councelors were. These people have high energy and were very entertaining.

So yeah. Thanks for the great time Montecito. I wrote this for you. Nobody reads these things do they? See you next Year! The Sullivans from Evanston IL.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Montecito Sequoia Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montecito Sequoia Lodge

Address: 63410 General's Hwy, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93633
Location: United States > California > Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Montecito Sequoia Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Rustic Mountain Lodge & Summer Family Camp located in Sequoia & Kings Canyon National Parks, California. Spectacular view of the Great Western Divide of the Sierra Nevada Mountains. Buffet Meals and seasonal activities included in room rate. All Lodge Rooms have private bath. Cabins have shared bathhouse. Open year-round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Montecito Sequoia Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montecito Sequoia Hotel Sequoia And Kings Canyon National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Montecito Sequoia Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.