We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Family Vacation Ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Montecito Sequoia Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Montecito Sequoia Lodge to your Saves list
Montecito Sequoia Lodge
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   63410 General's Hwy, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93633   |  
Hotel amenities
new york
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Family Vacation Ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2009

We have been to Montecito two years in a row and we are planning our third trip for this summer. If you have tweens and young children, value the outdoors and all its scenic beauty, and enjoy a warm caring family atmosphere this is the place for you! We hike, swim in the pool and lake, ride horses and enjoy connecting with new and old friends at Montecito. The activities for children are supervised by camp counselors, many who were themselves family campers at Montecito at one time. What I like best is that Montecito has motivated my children to get away from the TV, video games and other couch activities to master new skills that are healthy for them (e.g. rock climbing and mountain biking). They have also been able to explore their inner artist through the arts and crafts and story telling. And the meals at Montecito are good too!

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    103
    30
    23
    27
See reviews for
173
115
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Visalia, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2009

The staff were great and helpful. We called the front desk to find out what activities were available. They told us there were hills for tubbing and that the tow rope can bring us back up the hill. However noone manned the tow rope, even though several staff stood around watching us as we all tubbed down the hill. There were only two hills available to tube down and they were not really good at all. Before we made the reservations we asked about night entertainment and were told that they would be having Karaoke the evening we were staying. There was NOTHING going on during the evening. We paid $169 a night for our room which included two meals. Thought it was very overpriced for what we got. Our friends had booked a room for three people, but about a week before we were to leave one of the friends had to cancel out. Our friend called the reservation desk to delete that one person from the reservation. When we got to the lodge, the front desk stated that it was not their problem, but that they would have to telephone the reservation desk on the next business day. The front desk stated that they and the reservation desk are two seperate entities and cannot speak for them. Tubbing and Cross Country Skiing (which we dont do) were the only activities available to us. The rooms are not that great, but they were rooms. My wife locked the door to the bathroom, then the door would not unlock, so we had to call maintenance who had to take off the door knob. I know this can happen to anyone, so this really did not bother us. This lodge was just not the value for the money. And it seemed that what they advertise on the web, is not really what they offer. Its just to entice you to drive up and stay at their lodge. For the money, it just is not worth it and I would not recommend this lodge.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2009

We booked a stay here to stay with some friends. The reservation process was a real hassle because they are pretty disorganized. After attempting to cancel our reservation within the 48 hours stated on our confirmation, the reservation personnel said we would still have to pay, as there was a 30 day cancellation policy. Our confirmation page said the cancellation was 48 hours and we were not made aware of any other terms. I didn't know how we could be held to that policy without 1) being told about the terms of cancellation or 2) not having those terms in writing. The manager stated only 'everyone knows it was a holiday' and thus the special holiday policy was therefore in effect.

Stayed January 2009
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSLodge, Owner at Montecito Sequoia Lodge, responded to this review, February 4, 2009
As an owner of Montecito-Sequoia Lodge, I would like the TripAdvisor community to know the following regarding this reviewer's reservation:

First and foremost, we did refund this woman's full deposit when she cancelled her reservation 2-days before her arrival for the Martin Luther King Holiday Weekend. We did this despite the fact that our Holiday Reservations policy, as it appeared on this woman's Reservation Confirmation, clearly stated that there will be "No refunds at any time. Our cancellation policy is strictly enforced and does not allow for any exceptions." This guest attempted to recover her deposit by quoting from our 48-hour cancellation/refund policy that applies to our non-holiday and non-group reservations.

Secondly, under the Reservation Notes section of this reviewer's Reservation Confirmation, where our reservationists can make any special notes/requests that are specific to an individual guest's reservation, it states: "Guest is aware of Holiday Policy. Please keep both rooms as close as possible."

I have provide TripAdvisor with a copy of this reviewer's Reservation Confirmation as proof of the accuracy of our account.

Sincerely,
T.S. Dally,
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tivy Valley, CA
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2009

Although we have visited the Montecito Lodge over the years and even eaten dinner there as a part of Grant Grove's National Christmas Tree event, we had never lodged there. This Winter we decided to try it out. We arrived December 30th and checked into the Sequoia (main) Lodge. To be sure the lodge is a bit quirky; Like someone's hobby construction project. The second floor hallway is a good example. To get from one end to the other you must climb up and down seven steps in the middle. This is NOT a complaint. These features give the lodge character that fascinate young and old.

The outdoor winter activities are excellent and have been reviewed by others. What hasn't been made enough of is both of the big common rooms: dining and bar have huge, air circulating, stone fireplaces surrounded by big leather couches. The bar has a window wall and deck that overlooked the beautiful snow-capped Sierra Mountian range. When the outdoor fun was done these are the places everyone gravitated.

Although Montecito was just recovering from a Christmas blizzard that still had their business internet system down, the staff was displaying esprit de corps and aggressively putting things back together. Their New Year's party was perfect family fun. We'll be back.

  • Liked — Staff, Fireplaces, Meals, Access to the Sequoia N.F.
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2009

My family and I stayed a week in late December at the Montecito Sequoia and we absolutely loved it. The staff is just wonderful, so friendly. The vibe of the place is very relaxed and informal, which matches our style. It was wonderful not to have to worry about cooking meals or going to a restaurant, all you had to do was show up and eat. The food was good, not gourmet, but everyone liked it. The kids loved the activities and the parents loved having that time to go ski together as a couple. The room was a bit small, but we didn't spend much time in the room anyway. My only minor nit is that they did not have a white board or something stating what the menu for that day was.

We seriously did not want to leave this place and are already planning our next trip there!

  • Liked — Family-style meals and kid activities; beautiful setting/views
  • Disliked — No sign stating what the day's menu was
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, CA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2008

My wife and I stayed at Montecito in mid-September '08 as part of a group from American Thunder (M/C Riding Group). I cannot say enough about the lodge. We enjoyed every minute of our stay(4days/3nights). We enjoyed perfect weather and absolutely beautiful scenery! Our group consisted of approx. 40 people (and 23 bikes) from SoCal. It was our first trip, but the group had been here before. Our room overlooked the lake, a short walk from the Main Lodge. If you're expecting 5-star amenities, its not for you, but the rooms, food, and activities were MORE than adequate! The staff was excellent! We met and made many new friends, including many europeans on vacation, local families, etc. It was a very pleasant experience! The price/value we felt was excellent! We definitely plan on coming back! Thank you to Montecito for such a wonderful trip!

  • Liked — Location, scenery, variety of people, activities!!
  • Disliked — What?
  • Stayed September 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles, california
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2008

Our family stayed at the Lodge for Thanksgiving weekend 2008. We have returned for the last several years because we have enjoyed the opportunity to have programs scheduled for each member of our family, and meals prepared, giving us the time to enjoy our family and friends.

Accommodations are simple - and we appreciate the updating of the facilities - we, again enjoyed our extended weekend in the Sequoias. But, do not cut too much. By cutting programs and food diversity/quality, the appeal of the weekend is diminishing.

This year we found that programs were limited. Options for hiking were limited to a single hike each morning. (HIstorically, there were two options in the morning and one more in the afternoon.) Other programs such as mountain biking, naturalist walks, paint ball, and yoga, were virtually non-existent. (Historically, all of these programs were available, this year only paint ball was offered.) Additionally, staples such as riflery and archery were offered on a limited basis, disappointing many of the children and young adults.

Food diversity/quality also needs improvement. Historically, options were available for those on special diets (like vegetarians), breakfasts were offered "hot" and fresh, and most meals were prepared fresh versus defrosted/fried frozen food. We would like more heart healthy food especially as we have selected a natural venue for our vacation.

To ensure our continued return, with those of our friends (we have historically been a group of 15-20 people), we appreciate increased activities and time options.

  • Liked — location in the national forest/national park
  • Disliked — limited programs, food was frozen or fried, cleanliness
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Montecito Sequoia Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montecito Sequoia Lodge

Address: 63410 General's Hwy, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93633
Location: United States > California > Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Montecito Sequoia Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Rustic Mountain Lodge & Summer Family Camp located in Sequoia & Kings Canyon National Parks, California. Spectacular view of the Great Western Divide of the Sierra Nevada Mountains. Buffet Meals and seasonal activities included in room rate. All Lodge Rooms have private bath. Cabins have shared bathhouse. Open year-round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Priceline and Tingo so you can book your Montecito Sequoia Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montecito Sequoia Hotel Sequoia And Kings Canyon National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Montecito Sequoia Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.