We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Family Vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Montecito Sequoia Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Montecito Sequoia Lodge to your Saves list
Montecito Sequoia Lodge
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   63410 General's Hwy, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93633   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
valley village
Level Contributor
73 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great Family Vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Our Family of 12 - children & grandchildren spent a wonderful week of summer camp. The grandchildren, ages 4-14 were active every day swimming, hiking, fencing, archery, target shooting, sailing, canoeing, horseback riding, playing tennis .... and the list goes on. The counselors were fantastic. Almost one counselor for every two kids. The food was great as well as the Luau night by the lake as well as the unbelievable color fight by the lake. The evening campfire, the morning pow-wows were fun. We had two of the new two story cabins which were beautiful and two of the lodge rooms which were ok. The lodge rooms are very basic. A small fridge in the room would have been nice. The cabins did have coffee machine as well as a fridge and an upstairs bedroom & bathroom for the kids. It was an expensive week, however, for the number of included activities and the number of counselors, it was well worth it.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    134
    35
    24
    31
See reviews for
214
135
16
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

My partner and I happened upon this diamond in Sequoia National Park, the lodge has an all inclusive deal which included breakfast andd dinner. The entire staff was excellent starting from Scott at checkin. The forest cabin itself is like your very own cottage at the edge of the forest, it was comfortable and very tranquil not to mention beautiful.

I wold highly recommend Montecito Sequoia to anyone regardless of age or sexual orientation. Plan ahead as it cozy and appears to book quickly.

We have recommended it to several people who fell in love by looking at our photos!

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

This place offers a vacation for everyone in the family. The wife does not have to cook, she can yoga, hike, paint etc. I get to do guy stuff (mt biking, hiking, rock climbing, water sports etc). Kids go crazy with all the activities and crafts. My daughter discovered she loves archery. My niece loves fencing. My wife has no kids asking her what to do. We do some paddle boarding then maybe a guitar lesson. There are too many options. You will not have enough time. You will need to return! You will make lots of friends (yeah Margarita night). You will try new things. You will fear the day you must leave.

They will care for your kids while you play! Or you can hang with your kids. My daughter and I sailed, swam, played ping pong and mt biked together. She also did 2 performances in the talent show.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, CAlifornia, USA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

we just returned from our 9th consecutive Summer Family Camp. This is the best part of the year for everyone in the family. If you want outdoor activities in a beautiful natural setting, fun creative group activities, and strong positive role models for your kids, this is the place for you. If you want full service, high-end luxury accomodations, it might not be for you. The food is good, some of the accomodations are a little rustic but comfy.

The programs are fun for children and adults, with lots of variety, including hikes, music, art, athletics, and watersports. The counselors are an amazing bunch whom your kids will truly love. The days start with silly Powwow songs and end with singalong campfire songs. A sense of community is quickly established between old friends and new. Kids can go with their age groups for very fun activities but also have other options, including parent-child pursuits. Teenagers who do the multiweek counselor-in-training program (Kilts) will become real leaders, besides having the time of their lives. The setting is simply stunning high Sierra forests and meadows.

If you have had trouble getting your kids interested in outdoor pursuits, this camp is the answer. If they are already there, they will appreciate it even more. And happy kids mean happy parents with time to have their own fun.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toluca Lake
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

We live in LA and very rarely get to enjoy the beautiful wilderness and mountain ranges not too far north of us. This is our second time here and it is a wonderful, exciting, entertaining and peaceful week for our family of five (11,8 and 4). I would highly recommend it to any family looking to enjoy the wonders of nature and some non-electronic peace.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Great alternative for camping, ideal for families with kids, and the price is more than reasonable. You get all the amenities, tasty buffet food for breakfast/dinner (can order lunch bag too), and beautiful views with a great location inside sequoia park.
Again... It's great alternative for camping, don't be expecting a luxury 5 star hotel in the middle of the forest, be realistic. I read some bad review that I have to disagree with. Also if you don't like kids running around, choose a different lodge. This lodge is aim toward families.
I took my whole family: husband, kids (2,6,11and 16yrs old), grandma and grandpa, we all have a blast. They have activities for all ages. The food was good, and the cook was extremely friendly and helpful. Some tips:
its better if you go off season, try to avoid June, July, mid August since those are the most crowded and hot months (unless you are planning to go for summer camp program).
Also if you go out, make sure you are back to to lodge on time for meals which are serve at a certain time.
It's better is you reserve directly through their own website or call them that way you can get better rooms. And if you reserve with time it's the same price as if you reserve with Expedia or similar site.

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
83 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

I went to Montecito for one night. It is the picturesque lodge with a lake... for kids and adults. It was really a good experience for folks that know they are not going for luxuries... but for fun.

Quick notice before I go on. Expedia has a lower rate than if you call the lodge directly... However if you reserve through expedia, they will give you a cabin without a bathroom with 1 large bed and 2 sets of bunkbeds (for 4 people). The cabin will also have an amazing amount of spider webs. Just be aware of that and don't freak out.

The main problem is of course the lack of a bathroom and shower, not the spider webs.

If you call them on the phone the price will be slightly higher... but apparently you will have a bathroom in your cabin (maybe a shared bathroom) but a bathroom nonetheless.

As for the grounds...

Wow... I mean double wow..

My kids spent a lot of time "fishing" with nets and bits of bread. They had a lot of fun catching and releasing the fish. I went off on a canoe by myself, and at night the staff built a fire... and we roasted marshmallows.

It was perfect for my kids and I. I will probably end up going again. My kids even spotted deer coming to have a drink at the lake. It was a great time.

Room Tip: Call them directly, don't use Expedia
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
5.9 mi away
John Muir Lodge
John Muir Lodge
#2 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 250 reviews
9.0 mi away
Wuksachi Lodge
Wuksachi Lodge
#3 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 1,532 reviews
16.5 mi away
Sierra Lodge
Sierra Lodge
#6 of 6 in Three Rivers
3.0 of 5 stars 209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.6 mi away
Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn
13.1 mi away
Cedar Grove Lodge
Cedar Grove Lodge
#4 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 76 reviews
18.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montecito Sequoia Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montecito Sequoia Lodge

Address: 63410 General's Hwy, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93633
Location: United States > California > Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Montecito Sequoia Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All Meals and seasonal activities included in the room rate: A Rustic Mountain Lodge & Summer Family Camp located in Sequoia & Kings Canyon National Parks, California. Spectacular view of the Great Western Divide of the Sierra Nevada Mountains. All Lodge Rooms have private bath. Cabins have shared bathhouse. Open year-round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Montecito Sequoia Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montecito Sequoia Hotel Sequoia And Kings Canyon National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Montecito Sequoia Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.