We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best unexpected find!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Montecito Sequoia Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Montecito Sequoia Lodge to your Saves list
Montecito Sequoia Lodge
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   63410 General's Hwy, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93633   |  
Hotel amenities
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Best unexpected find!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

My partner and I happened upon this diamond in Sequoia National Park, the lodge has an all inclusive deal which included breakfast andd dinner. The entire staff was excellent starting from Scott at checkin. The forest cabin itself is like your very own cottage at the edge of the forest, it was comfortable and very tranquil not to mention beautiful.

I wold highly recommend Montecito Sequoia to anyone regardless of age or sexual orientation. Plan ahead as it cozy and appears to book quickly.

We have recommended it to several people who fell in love by looking at our photos!

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    106
    30
    23
    27
See reviews for
175
117
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orange County, California
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

This place offers a vacation for everyone in the family. The wife does not have to cook, she can yoga, hike, paint etc. I get to do guy stuff (mt biking, hiking, rock climbing, water sports etc). Kids go crazy with all the activities and crafts. My daughter discovered she loves archery. My niece loves fencing. My wife has no kids asking her what to do. We do some paddle boarding then maybe a guitar lesson. There are too many options. You will not have enough time. You will need to return! You will make lots of friends (yeah Margarita night). You will try new things. You will fear the day you must leave.

They will care for your kids while you play! Or you can hang with your kids. My daughter and I sailed, swam, played ping pong and mt biked together. She also did 2 performances in the talent show.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, CAlifornia, USA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

we just returned from our 9th consecutive Summer Family Camp. This is the best part of the year for everyone in the family. If you want outdoor activities in a beautiful natural setting, fun creative group activities, and strong positive role models for your kids, this is the place for you. If you want full service, high-end luxury accomodations, it might not be for you. The food is good, some of the accomodations are a little rustic but comfy.

The programs are fun for children and adults, with lots of variety, including hikes, music, art, athletics, and watersports. The counselors are an amazing bunch whom your kids will truly love. The days start with silly Powwow songs and end with singalong campfire songs. A sense of community is quickly established between old friends and new. Kids can go with their age groups for very fun activities but also have other options, including parent-child pursuits. Teenagers who do the multiweek counselor-in-training program (Kilts) will become real leaders, besides having the time of their lives. The setting is simply stunning high Sierra forests and meadows.

If you have had trouble getting your kids interested in outdoor pursuits, this camp is the answer. If they are already there, they will appreciate it even more. And happy kids mean happy parents with time to have their own fun.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toluca Lake
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

We live in LA and very rarely get to enjoy the beautiful wilderness and mountain ranges not too far north of us. This is our second time here and it is a wonderful, exciting, entertaining and peaceful week for our family of five (11,8 and 4). I would highly recommend it to any family looking to enjoy the wonders of nature and some non-electronic peace.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Great alternative for camping, ideal for families with kids, and the price is more than reasonable. You get all the amenities, tasty buffet food for breakfast/dinner (can order lunch bag too), and beautiful views with a great location inside sequoia park.
Again... It's great alternative for camping, don't be expecting a luxury 5 star hotel in the middle of the forest, be realistic. I read some bad review that I have to disagree with. Also if you don't like kids running around, choose a different lodge. This lodge is aim toward families.
I took my whole family: husband, kids (2,6,11and 16yrs old), grandma and grandpa, we all have a blast. They have activities for all ages. The food was good, and the cook was extremely friendly and helpful. Some tips:
its better if you go off season, try to avoid June, July, mid August since those are the most crowded and hot months (unless you are planning to go for summer camp program).
Also if you go out, make sure you are back to to lodge on time for meals which are serve at a certain time.
It's better is you reserve directly through their own website or call them that way you can get better rooms. And if you reserve with time it's the same price as if you reserve with Expedia or similar site.

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

I went to Montecito for one night. It is the picturesque lodge with a lake... for kids and adults. It was really a good experience for folks that know they are not going for luxuries... but for fun.

Quick notice before I go on. Expedia has a lower rate than if you call the lodge directly... However if you reserve through expedia, they will give you a cabin without a bathroom with 1 large bed and 2 sets of bunkbeds (for 4 people). The cabin will also have an amazing amount of spider webs. Just be aware of that and don't freak out.

The main problem is of course the lack of a bathroom and shower, not the spider webs.

If you call them on the phone the price will be slightly higher... but apparently you will have a bathroom in your cabin (maybe a shared bathroom) but a bathroom nonetheless.

As for the grounds...

Wow... I mean double wow..

My kids spent a lot of time "fishing" with nets and bits of bread. They had a lot of fun catching and releasing the fish. I went off on a canoe by myself, and at night the staff built a fire... and we roasted marshmallows.

It was perfect for my kids and I. I will probably end up going again. My kids even spotted deer coming to have a drink at the lake. It was a great time.

Room Tip: Call them directly, don't use Expedia
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Crescenta, California
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

This was the best vacation we have ever had. Just got back from a great week at Family Camp. The location could not be more beautiful. The staff was universally great! Fun, helpful and clearly loved their jobs. Tons of activities for both the adults and kids. Gorgeous hikes in the Sequoia National Park, mountain biking, rock climbing, archery, art, yoga and more. I could not recommend this place highly enough. We already know we are going back next year!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Montecito Sequoia Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montecito Sequoia Lodge

Address: 63410 General's Hwy, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93633
Location: United States > California > Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Montecito Sequoia Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Rustic Mountain Lodge & Summer Family Camp located in Sequoia & Kings Canyon National Parks, California. Spectacular view of the Great Western Divide of the Sierra Nevada Mountains. Buffet Meals and seasonal activities included in room rate. All Lodge Rooms have private bath. Cabins have shared bathhouse. Open year-round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Montecito Sequoia Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montecito Sequoia Hotel Sequoia And Kings Canyon National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Montecito Sequoia Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.