We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful week for the family” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Montecito Sequoia Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Montecito Sequoia Lodge to your Saves list
Montecito Sequoia Lodge
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   63410 General's Hwy, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93633   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
Toluca Lake
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful week for the family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

We live in LA and very rarely get to enjoy the beautiful wilderness and mountain ranges not too far north of us. This is our second time here and it is a wonderful, exciting, entertaining and peaceful week for our family of five (11,8 and 4). I would highly recommend it to any family looking to enjoy the wonders of nature and some non-electronic peace.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    126
    32
    24
    28
See reviews for
196
133
16
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Anaheim
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Great alternative for camping, ideal for families with kids, and the price is more than reasonable. You get all the amenities, tasty buffet food for breakfast/dinner (can order lunch bag too), and beautiful views with a great location inside sequoia park.
Again... It's great alternative for camping, don't be expecting a luxury 5 star hotel in the middle of the forest, be realistic. I read some bad review that I have to disagree with. Also if you don't like kids running around, choose a different lodge. This lodge is aim toward families.
I took my whole family: husband, kids (2,6,11and 16yrs old), grandma and grandpa, we all have a blast. They have activities for all ages. The food was good, and the cook was extremely friendly and helpful. Some tips:
its better if you go off season, try to avoid June, July, mid August since those are the most crowded and hot months (unless you are planning to go for summer camp program).
Also if you go out, make sure you are back to to lodge on time for meals which are serve at a certain time.
It's better is you reserve directly through their own website or call them that way you can get better rooms. And if you reserve with time it's the same price as if you reserve with Expedia or similar site.

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

I went to Montecito for one night. It is the picturesque lodge with a lake... for kids and adults. It was really a good experience for folks that know they are not going for luxuries... but for fun.

Quick notice before I go on. Expedia has a lower rate than if you call the lodge directly... However if you reserve through expedia, they will give you a cabin without a bathroom with 1 large bed and 2 sets of bunkbeds (for 4 people). The cabin will also have an amazing amount of spider webs. Just be aware of that and don't freak out.

The main problem is of course the lack of a bathroom and shower, not the spider webs.

If you call them on the phone the price will be slightly higher... but apparently you will have a bathroom in your cabin (maybe a shared bathroom) but a bathroom nonetheless.

As for the grounds...

Wow... I mean double wow..

My kids spent a lot of time "fishing" with nets and bits of bread. They had a lot of fun catching and releasing the fish. I went off on a canoe by myself, and at night the staff built a fire... and we roasted marshmallows.

It was perfect for my kids and I. I will probably end up going again. My kids even spotted deer coming to have a drink at the lake. It was a great time.

Room Tip: Call them directly, don't use Expedia
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Crescenta, California
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

This was the best vacation we have ever had. Just got back from a great week at Family Camp. The location could not be more beautiful. The staff was universally great! Fun, helpful and clearly loved their jobs. Tons of activities for both the adults and kids. Gorgeous hikes in the Sequoia National Park, mountain biking, rock climbing, archery, art, yoga and more. I could not recommend this place highly enough. We already know we are going back next year!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Täby
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

We loved it. In the heart of Sequoia close to many trails. Has both a pool area and its own little lake with a beach. It is camp standard with high service level and a lot of all inclusive activities. The walk to Big Baldy starts here and was great. We saw Marmot at the top and a bear on the way back. We will be back.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chardon Ohio
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
193 helpful votes 193 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

We stayed at the Montecito Sequoia Lodge for one night while visiting Sequoia National Forest in mid-May. It is right in the Park and we had no problem with the roads and the snow was gone except for some small remnants in shady areas. We really liked this place and wish we were staying another night. It felt like we were pulling into a summer camp. There are both multi room cabins and single cabins spread out near a large main lodge that houses the dining room, rec room, and is also where you check in.

The guys that checked us in were great. We arrived late and when they heard we drove there strait from Las Vegas and were hungry they took us in the kitchen and pulled out leftovers from the barbeque dinner and told us to help ourselves…in fact they said we could eat anytime we wanted 24 hours a day. The leftovers and cereal are always available. They also had fountain drinks, juice, coffee, tea, hot chocolate, espresso and cappuccino available 24 hours. This came in handy for our early morning bird walk before breakfast. We did have breakfast at the normal time and they had all the normal breakfast stuff served buffet style. Our meals were included in our room price.

The lodge has a large dining room and another large recreation room. This room has a TV, Ping Pong table, dart board, and a bunch of tables with various board games. The Lodge also has a large deck that overlooks the pool and an unbelievable view of the mountains and the forest. The mountain peaks had snow on them while we were there and lots of photos were taken.
Our room was in one of the cabins closer to the main lodge. Ours was called Red Fir Lodge and it also houses the ski shop in the winter. It is a bit of a walk with your luggage to get to any of the cabins, but I think they have people that will deliver your luggage to your room or cabin. Our room was on the second floor and the steps did not have a landing, so they were fairly steep. Ask for a ground floor room if you think you will have trouble with the steps. Our room was small but very clean and functional. It had a queen sized bed and a set of bunk beds. There was also a dresser, night table, refrigerator, and coffee pot. The room would be a bit tight with more than two people, but you do not really want to spend much time in your room. The water was hot in the shower and had good pressure. It was great to sleep with the windows open.

The grounds were great. There are a series of trails a pond with boats, a pool, and lots of staff led activities. There is an agility course, trampoline, tons of kids toys, a larger campfire area with a fire each night after dinner. We only had time to go on a few hikes but it looks like we could have had fun for a few days.

This is not a luxury hotel, there is no TV or phone in the room…but they have a great staff, everything is clean, lots of little extra in the dining area, and a vibe that just makes you want to be in a good mood. We would recommend it to anyone wanting to stay right in the Sequoia/Kings Canyon Forest.

Tip: The pop out of the vending machine in the recreation room is less expensive than the pop in the cooler near the front desk.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area, California
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Our extended family has come for seven consecutive summer camp weeks and one Thanksgiving and every single time, we all have a great time, enjoying an insanely wide range of indoor and outdoor activities run by warm and skilled counselors (many who return year after year), delicious meals, stunning setting, great other guests.

My sense is that weekends and non-family camp times have a very different feel, maybe a little bit more low-key; not bad, just different and great for people who can make their own fun. When we first starting coming to camp, our kids were quite young and it wasn't a real relaxing vacation for us if we had to entertain and supervise them the entire time (we tried that at another "family camp" and it was exhausting). During Montecito family camp, the kids are completely engaged and happy with other kids their age and wonderful counselors, leaving us grown ups to paint, do yoga, play tennis, rock climb, hike, make jewelry, mountain bike and read by the pool or lake as much or as little as we like. We still see them quite a lot, though, giving us all a chance to talk about who we've met, what we've done and what we're looking forward to for the rest of the day.

The rooms are completely comfortable and fine, especially considering you spend very little time in them and...You're. In. A. National. Park. Sure, some are louder or more rustic than others, but after one visit, you quickly recognize what your own family's needs are and plan accordingly for the next one. The main lodge tends to be louder in the mornings, but some appreciate being so close to the dining room and the center of the action. The other lodge buildings around the camp are quieter. Some appreciate the option of saving money and don't mind sharing a bathroom with other guests. The brand new Forest cabins are super beautiful and swank, but a teeny bit farther out and some find it's odd for the bunk room to have its own room while the "grown up" bed is in the main room, without any privacy. Whatever. If you're looking for a five star luxury hotel, completely insulated from nature or other people, then maybe family camp of any kind isn't for you. But Montecito Sequioa is for everyone else!!

Check out their Facebook page for more photos and testimonials:

https://www.facebook.com/MontecitoSequoiaLodgeandFamilyCamp?ref=br_tf

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Montecito Sequoia Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montecito Sequoia Lodge

Address: 63410 General's Hwy, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93633
Location: United States > California > Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Montecito Sequoia Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All Meals and seasonal activities included in the room rate: A Rustic Mountain Lodge & Summer Family Camp located in Sequoia & Kings Canyon National Parks, California. Spectacular view of the Great Western Divide of the Sierra Nevada Mountains. All Lodge Rooms have private bath. Cabins have shared bathhouse. Open year-round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Montecito Sequoia Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montecito Sequoia Hotel Sequoia And Kings Canyon National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Montecito Sequoia Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.