We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spoiled us” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Montecito Sequoia Lodge

Save Saved
You added Montecito Sequoia Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Montecito Sequoia Lodge
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   63410 General's Hwy, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93633   |  
Hotel amenities
Wasilla, Alaska
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Spoiled us”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

Our trip started out like most- long flight, grab a rental car, get on the road... We were meeting up with a friend, but things went a little sideways-thanks to the California highway system and my Garmin. Needless to say, we were running late for check in, and dinner. Since we had already paid for the meals I was bummed to miss out. I called the lodge to let them know we would be late. They kindly offered to make up three plates and save some dessert. We got there an hour later, wore out and starving. we were greeted by friendly staff and check in was expedited quickly. We were shown to the kitchen, where three plates had indeed been made up for us about 5 minutes before we arrived. Baked Salmon, and roasted chicken, brussel sprouts, cuscus, and rice pilaf. Cheesecake for dessert. Beautiful end to the day. We soon discovered that all the meals are that grand, beautiful buffet style breakfast lunch and dinner. there activities galore for the kids and hiking trails into the mountains straight from the lodge. I will definitely be back.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    143
    94
    26
    20
    27
See reviews for
149
99
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

Montecito is a great hotel to stay, both as a couple or a family or a group of friends. Very nice location inside Sequoia National Forest as well as Kings Canyon National Forest. Hotel has great facilities. Very beautiful surroundings - next to a small lake makes the stay very nice. Staff is very cheerful and helpful. Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner are included in the price!

The food is really good and best of all, has a lot of vegetarian choices. They even pack a lunch-to-go if you cannot come back for lunch! Chefs are very helpful and, given some notice time, can even prepare something specific as well!!

Room Tip: Try a room facing the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

The lodge is perfectly positioned for those exploring the Kings Canyon/Sequoia area. The room was well provisioned and at a reasonable price. This is especially true with all meals included. There were two minor drawbacks though, the internet access was poor (making last minute planning tricky) and the main lodge was full of noisy families with nowhere to escape for some peace. All in all, good.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

As part of a party of 6 we stayed in this wonderful lodge. It was a perfect way to end a day enjoying the natural beauty of the park.
It was by chance that I found the lodge on-line and booked it. It isn't fancy but rustic and beautiful!
We checked in late in the day and where assigned our rooms immediately in the lodge itself. There are out buildings available also. The rooms are clean and much to some of our groups dismay, no Tv's, but you rally don't miss them.
Wr enjoyed the views and the SNOW. We where there the beginning of April and being from Florida thought this was for us alone!
The meals are part of the cost and are buffets. We enjoyed the dinner and breakfast buffets and they where fabulous.
I can't say enough wonderful things about our stay and plan on going back when we are out on the west coast again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

OK, let's be real. This is not five-star. Hey, folks, it's the Sierras, this is a lodge, not a hotel. If a great, caring staff, simple, wonderful food, great facilities for activities, comfortable beds and a substantial box lunch so you can enjoy the country are important to you, you will appreciate your experience as much as my family did. Being able to wander into the kitchen to get yourself a snack anytime means a lot when you are with teenagers! Hearing over and over from them, "This is great!" Clean, warm, hospitable. The flank steak and scalloped potatoes were awesome, breakfast amazing, dessert every night, I was delighted. We will be back! All this and the Sierras, Giant Sequoia, the night sky. You will love it if life us more than WiFi to you.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014 via mobile

Amazing value for a family of five with all meals included, of very high standard and comfortable rooms. This is a beautiful, picturesque place for a family trip to the snow, and was thoroughly enjoyed by all. The kids loved the endless free hot chocolate and free sledding, there were plenty of optional cheap activities including cross country skiing, and the family Bingo night was enjoyed by all. Great kids program too! Service exceptional. We would highly recommend this beautiful lodge!

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambria, California
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

We didn't know what to expect, as 14 of us headed to the lodge. We had reserved the forest cabins as well as one additional suite, for our family trip. The cabins were gorgeous! We all hiked and had some fun archery time for the first couple of days. Then it snowed! The lodge opened their rental facility to allow all of us to be outfitted with cross-country skis. We had 2 glorious days in the snow, before it melted. Just before we left, Ian (great, enthusiastic teacher) was teaching fencing. The food was great, the accommodations far exceeded expectations, the dance night was amazing, and we are all looking forward to a return trip sometime in the future.
All 14 of us had a wonderful time!!

Room Tip: Rooms in the lodge can be noisy, but are perfect for groups with young children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Montecito Sequoia Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montecito Sequoia Lodge

Address: 63410 General's Hwy, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93633
Location: United States > California > Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Montecito Sequoia Lodge 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Rustic Mountain Lodge & Summer Family Camp located in Sequoia & Kings Canyon National Parks, California. Spectacular view of the Great Western Divide of the Sierra Nevada Mountains. Buffet Meals and seasonal activities included in room rate. All Lodge Rooms have private bath. Cabins have shared bathhouse. Open year-round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Montecito Sequoia Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montecito Sequoia Hotel Sequoia And Kings Canyon National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Montecito Sequoia Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;