We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise in the snow” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Montecito Sequoia Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Montecito Sequoia Lodge to your Saves list
Montecito Sequoia Lodge
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   63410 General's Hwy, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93633   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Paradise in the snow”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014 via mobile

Amazing value for a family of five with all meals included, of very high standard and comfortable rooms. This is a beautiful, picturesque place for a family trip to the snow, and was thoroughly enjoyed by all. The kids loved the endless free hot chocolate and free sledding, there were plenty of optional cheap activities including cross country skiing, and the family Bingo night was enjoyed by all. Great kids program too! Service exceptional. We would highly recommend this beautiful lodge!

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    130
    35
    24
    30
See reviews for
207
135
16
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambria, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

We didn't know what to expect, as 14 of us headed to the lodge. We had reserved the forest cabins as well as one additional suite, for our family trip. The cabins were gorgeous! We all hiked and had some fun archery time for the first couple of days. Then it snowed! The lodge opened their rental facility to allow all of us to be outfitted with cross-country skis. We had 2 glorious days in the snow, before it melted. Just before we left, Ian (great, enthusiastic teacher) was teaching fencing. The food was great, the accommodations far exceeded expectations, the dance night was amazing, and we are all looking forward to a return trip sometime in the future.
All 14 of us had a wonderful time!!

Room Tip: Rooms in the lodge can be noisy, but are perfect for groups with young children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Visalia, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

I was there from April and checked out on the 6th, a nice guy Nick was helping me and it was very busy. there was a lot of people attempting to check out but the desk clerk Nick was trying his best as I observed the manager sitting there next to him. She was not helping and she was just doing nothing. I saw another girl her name was Jennifer, and she was just yelling and slamming the phone down and yelling.

This was rude and the poor man helping us felt embarrassed as he was left to check us out as well as others. You could tell by the reactions of the other guests attempting to check out they as we where very unhappy with the guest services.

The time there was nice, but the guest service with the manager and host (female) was rude and juvenile. During our stay we where told the wifi was working, but it was not. I spoke to a male adult he said he was the maintenance supervisor "Norm or Norman" he replied, if I did not like it, I can always go to another hotel. Wow, rude.

Our stay was nice, other staff members were friendly and assist. Aside the manager and the rude assistant our trip was ok. Im not sure I will return, I might take up the advice of Norm and go elsewhere.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonoma, CA
Level Contributor
59 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

Booked with booking.com and got a great deal on a Forest Cabin for 4 with meals included. Really nice separate cabin away from the lodge, quiet, clean and new. Upstairs has a bunkbed and toilet/sink room, downstairs has king bed with reading lamps, full bath, walk in shower, small kitchenette (no microwave), seating/eating area, plus a private deck. There is also a fold out couch downstairs. Comfortable for all 4 adults. Meals served in the lodge were ok, expect lots of kids, go early and grab a table. We did not do any of the activities, but if you had kids between ages 5 and 9; this place would probably be fun for them. We enjoyed our short stay and used this as our halfway point to see both parks. Most of the facilities are well-worn, but our cabin was great.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Altos, California, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

This place is fabulous. You get to experience a lot of activities while being in a phenomenal location. When we were there we hike, did archery, cross country skied, paint gun, dance, etc.
Their staff is friendly and very knowledgeable they treated us with astronomy and a great informative slide, they even thought the kids how to build a fire. Love this place! I highly recommend it to families.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

Stayed here for the night whilst visiting the National Park, dumped half a foot of snow whilst we were here which was an unexpected surprise. Staff were very nice and even checked us in early. Rooms are very basic but as long as you know this going in you won't be disappointed. Communal areas have TV and Wifi.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tilburg, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
116 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

Yes it is rustic and the rooms are basic. Our room was in the main lodge and was clean. The bed was good with a descent matras. The lighting of the room is very poor and everything has a dark color so that makes it a fine place to sleep but not to hang out.
The lobby downstairs is where the meals (all included) are used. Diner was OK, lots of veggies incl salads, crab, meat. The staff is great and can be described as authentic. No trained smiles here. The fire place is great and really cool to hang out.
The lodge is in the park.

Room Tip: Main lodge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
9.0 mi away
Wuksachi Lodge
Wuksachi Lodge
#3 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 1,482 reviews
5.9 mi away
John Muir Lodge
John Muir Lodge
#2 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 230 reviews
16.5 mi away
Sierra Lodge
Sierra Lodge
#6 of 6 in Three Rivers
3.0 of 5 stars 203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.6 mi away
Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn
13.1 mi away
Cedar Grove Lodge
Cedar Grove Lodge
#4 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 67 reviews
18.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montecito Sequoia Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montecito Sequoia Lodge

Address: 63410 General's Hwy, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93633
Location: United States > California > Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Montecito Sequoia Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All Meals and seasonal activities included in the room rate: A Rustic Mountain Lodge & Summer Family Camp located in Sequoia & Kings Canyon National Parks, California. Spectacular view of the Great Western Divide of the Sierra Nevada Mountains. All Lodge Rooms have private bath. Cabins have shared bathhouse. Open year-round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Montecito Sequoia Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montecito Sequoia Hotel Sequoia And Kings Canyon National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Montecito Sequoia Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.