We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Surroundings, Less than acceptable accommodations” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Montecito Sequoia Lodge

Save Saved
You added Montecito Sequoia Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Montecito Sequoia Lodge
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   63410 General's Hwy, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93633   |  
Hotel amenities
Bakersfield, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Beautiful Surroundings, Less than acceptable accommodations”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

The surrounding are beautiful. There is not question about that. My question is what other people see in this place. If we hadn’t been on our trip to Monticeto Lodge with group of other families we would have never stayed past the first night. My husband wanted to leave within a few hours of arriving at the lodge. This lodge is more than rustic. It wasn't clean. Besides that our idea of having the kids go to kids camp so we could have time to relax or venture out without the kids was pipe dream, many of us had stomach trouble on the trip likely from the food, and we were less than impressed with the customer service. There is a reason this lodge doesn’t have photos on their website of the rooms. I am uploading mine from the Sugarpine building. My friends that stayed in the main lodge had a slightly cleaner room, but only slightly. I was sick from the lack of cleanliness at the lodge. I wish I had brought my own sheets and towels and cleaning supplies. The room we had smelled. It had cobwebs in the corners by the bunk bed and my child was afraid to sleep in the bed because of them. The towels were like rags. They smelled bad and were dark colors so it was hard to tell if they were really clean. One towel had a long hair on it as if they just folded them and reused them from guest to guest. The toilet and sink also had hairs on them from prior guests. The sheets were so worn the wouldn’t stay on the mattress when you were sleeping. The wall heater in our room was barely attached to the wall. The paint was peeling in the bathroom. The walls in the bedroom were dirty. The bathroom sink would not drain, the water pressure for showers was a joke, and the toilet barely flushed. The carpet looked like it had never been vacuumed. The porch to the room had a patio but to get to the stair required stepping in a puddle that was about a foot deep (we were there during rain and snow). Even the welcome mat going into the room had a large chunk out of it. The dining tables in the main lodge were not clean and the floor in the ponderosa room and kitchen area was always sticky. The food was not family friendly. I only had one really good meal. It was made by a cook that made cook –to-order eggs one morning. He was friendly and made a good breakfast. The other meals were mediocre at best and the other cooks were less than friendly. One was down right rude. My child had to eat cereal most of the visit. The food was like bad cafeteria food that they were trying to make gourmet. They served crab, lamb soup and things like coos-coos. My child likes hamburgers, spaghetti, hot dogs and things like that. And, they told me on the phone prior to the visit they always serve a vegetarian dish. Their idea of that must be the salad bar. The first night the only thing they had vegetarian was the salad bar and a side dish of potatoes. Otherwise, the food was giving a number of people in our group intestinal trouble. There was one young gentleman at the front desk that was polite and helpful, but otherwise the women were not very friendly or helpful. We didn’t leave our kids with the counsel for kids camp because he didn’t seem to be that responsible. He was nice enough, but was more like a snow bum than a qualified counselor. At one point on our trip a kid who was not with our party was out in the snow alone. He had been separated from the counselor. It was snowing and the kid was looking for the counselor. We told the child to stay with us until the counselor came looking for him. About 30 minutes later the counselor showed and wasn’t even concerned. The same counselor makes the s’mores at night and I doubt he washes his hands first by the look of them. It was gross. We did have a nice time with our friends, but not because of the accommodations or service at this lodge. Very disappointed with the lodge.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    148
    95
    27
    20
    27
See reviews for
153
101
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

We have been coming here for a few years and always have a great experience. We have tended towards winter, snow shoeing is our favorite. The trails are beautiful, some not too strenuous, well groomed. The cost is reasonable, the experience is rustic, if you love rustic you will love this place. And the cost is very reasonable, for bed and 3 meals. Coffee always available and good. A professionally run place, they always have a good attitude. Just step out the door and snow shoe away, immediately into beautiful trees. Or hike away.

Room Tip: Separate cabins are quieter, but the main building is reasonably quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bell Gardens, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

The lodge is about 1 1/2 hours into the park, a little long, but once your there the scenery is just beautiful. We arrived later then we thought but when we went into the main lodge we found they had saved us our dinner with plenty of leftovers in the fridge and a help yourself sign on it. (awesome!)The dinner, and breakfast the next morning were very tasty, way better then we expected and best of all, included in the price of the room. The main lodge itself was very warm and comfy with toys for our children to play with and a tv. Staff was extremely friendly. Our cabin was really nice, spacious and clean with a whole wall being a window so you could take in the scenery. The only issue we had with it was there was no t.v. and having a 1 and 3 year old that would of been nice but if it was just me and my husband it wouldn't have bothered us. Wi-fi good in the main lodge but not in the room. Overall we really loved our visit there, and wished we could have stayed a few days and done some of the activities. The price is extremely fair considering all your getting and the location. We will definitely be going back, and highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Recommend the family cabin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pismo Beach, California
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

Our whole family LOVED staying here for the 1st time. We will be back! It will be a tradition in our family!! The staff was EXCELLENT!!! They were friendly & helpful. The food was great and was included. We had so much fun on the hike and doing the archery. The fireplace, games, food, & scenery...can't go wrong. THANK YOU EVERYONE.

Room Tip: We stayed in the lodge. It was great. If you want a QUIET sleeping area, you might want to stay in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

We spent 2 nights at Montecito last winter (Jan 2013). Overall we had a very nice time. The food was good, buffet style. The rooms were basic, but had all necessary amenities and were clean. Heater worked well. We stayed in the rooms off of the lodge, which seemed to be ideal as we heard the noise around the lodge was a bit much at times. Our room was nice and quite however. We rented cross country skis one day and snow shoes the next. Cost was extremely reasonable. The snow shoeing was a blast. LOTS of kids. This is a great place for families. We were here as a couple, and it was still fun. We ended up meeting some lovely families during dinner, which is 'family style' meaning people sit at large tables and interact w/ other guests. The location is remote. Very serene and peaceful. Overall I would recommend this place, especially to families w/ kids and if there is snow, the snow shoeing was great.

Room Tip: Pick one of the rooms outside, adjacent to the lodge, not directly attached for a quiet nights sleep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013 via mobile

MSL has something for everyone. Great family environment, fun couple's retreat, and not bad for single people if you can handle a trillion kids at meal times ;-) and no night life.
Inexpensive and all-inclusive makes this resort one of my faves for snow trips. The food ranges from delicious to mediocre. (May have been that the chef was just having a bad day. It happens to the best of us.)
Snow fun, for around $15 you'll get 24 hours of interchangeable snow boards, snow shoes, or boots, poles, & skis. There's free tubing, a variety of free lessons, musical instruments & games for check out, and plenty of food to keeps one busy all day. In the fall there was free canoing, instrument lessons, and fencing!! They even have a wee bar to purchase drinks (or BYOB). No night life per se unless ping pong, Foosball, and s'mores by the fire are your idea of an exciting eve. All in all, I still love this cozy place with a "hearts of gold" staff.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marina, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

All meals were included. Service was excellent....very nice folks! Plenty of activities for the kids and for us. We had a great time...if you are not there for lunchtime, when they serve a hot meal, just let them know the night before and they fix a very full bag lunch for you all! Scenery was magnificent. They could not have done anything to make us feel more welcome! Will definitely return, maybe in the cold months next time.

Room Tip: We only used one room, on the ground floor, because we have mobility issues. So cannot help.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Montecito Sequoia Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montecito Sequoia Lodge

Address: 63410 General's Hwy, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93633
Location: United States > California > Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Montecito Sequoia Lodge 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Rustic Mountain Lodge & Summer Family Camp located in Sequoia & Kings Canyon National Parks, California. Spectacular view of the Great Western Divide of the Sierra Nevada Mountains. Buffet Meals and seasonal activities included in room rate. All Lodge Rooms have private bath. Cabins have shared bathhouse. Open year-round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Montecito Sequoia Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montecito Sequoia Hotel Sequoia And Kings Canyon National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Montecito Sequoia Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.