We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great deal. Diamond in the rough.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Montecito Sequoia Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Montecito Sequoia Lodge to your Saves list
Montecito Sequoia Lodge
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   63410 General's Hwy, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93633   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great deal. Diamond in the rough.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

We spent 2 nights at Montecito last winter (Jan 2013). Overall we had a very nice time. The food was good, buffet style. The rooms were basic, but had all necessary amenities and were clean. Heater worked well. We stayed in the rooms off of the lodge, which seemed to be ideal as we heard the noise around the lodge was a bit much at times. Our room was nice and quite however. We rented cross country skis one day and snow shoes the next. Cost was extremely reasonable. The snow shoeing was a blast. LOTS of kids. This is a great place for families. We were here as a couple, and it was still fun. We ended up meeting some lovely families during dinner, which is 'family style' meaning people sit at large tables and interact w/ other guests. The location is remote. Very serene and peaceful. Overall I would recommend this place, especially to families w/ kids and if there is snow, the snow shoeing was great.

Room Tip: Pick one of the rooms outside, adjacent to the lodge, not directly attached for a quiet nights sleep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    130
    35
    24
    30
See reviews for
207
135
16
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
CA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013 via mobile

MSL has something for everyone. Great family environment, fun couple's retreat, and not bad for single people if you can handle a trillion kids at meal times ;-) and no night life.
Inexpensive and all-inclusive makes this resort one of my faves for snow trips. The food ranges from delicious to mediocre. (May have been that the chef was just having a bad day. It happens to the best of us.)
Snow fun, for around $15 you'll get 24 hours of interchangeable snow boards, snow shoes, or boots, poles, & skis. There's free tubing, a variety of free lessons, musical instruments & games for check out, and plenty of food to keeps one busy all day. In the fall there was free canoing, instrument lessons, and fencing!! They even have a wee bar to purchase drinks (or BYOB). No night life per se unless ping pong, Foosball, and s'mores by the fire are your idea of an exciting eve. All in all, I still love this cozy place with a "hearts of gold" staff.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marina, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

All meals were included. Service was excellent....very nice folks! Plenty of activities for the kids and for us. We had a great time...if you are not there for lunchtime, when they serve a hot meal, just let them know the night before and they fix a very full bag lunch for you all! Scenery was magnificent. They could not have done anything to make us feel more welcome! Will definitely return, maybe in the cold months next time.

Room Tip: We only used one room, on the ground floor, because we have mobility issues. So cannot help.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waynesville, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

We got up to Sequoia late- and knew we needed to stay close. Although the trip in was 22 miles it felt like 99. We stopped on the chance of a room (Thanksgiving weekend) and they had a cabin available for the weekend for a party of 5. We were welcomed like family. Very helpful and friendly staff!! The family atmosphere is wonderful. The all inclusive price can't be beat! If ever I were to come back to Sequoia I would go again and again!

Room Tip: We stayed in the cabins. Be sure to get up early and watch the world come awake!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

This is our second time to Montecito Sequoia Lodge. We had a group of 19 people ranging from 2 to 48 and there was something to do for everyone. No need to cook or clean, other than your plate from each meal. The scenery is awesome any way you look. The staff was very friendly and so much fun. We hope to make this a family tradition.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013 via mobile

MSL has something for everyone. Great family environment, fun couple's retreat, and not bad for single people if you can handle a trillion kids at meal times ;-) and no night life.
Inexpensive and all-inclusive makes this resort one of my faves for snow trips. The food ranges from delicious to mediocre. (May have been because the chef was just having a bad day. It happens to the best of us.)
Snow fun, for like $15 you get 24 hours of interchangeable snow boards, snow shoes, or boots, poles, & skis. The free tubing, variety of lessons, musical instruments & games for check out, and of course food keeps one busy all day. In the fall their was free canoing, instrument lessons, and fencing!! They even have a wee bar to purchase drinks (or BYOB). No night life per se unless ping pong, Foosball, and s'mores, by the fire are your idea of an exciting eve. All in all, I still love this cozy place with a "hearts of gold" staff.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

My room was very cozy and nice, exactly what I was looking for in the middle of the forest. I visited as a solo traveler, and didn't realize that this place is probably more geared towards families with children.

Your room includes dinner and breakfast, but these meals are buffet style at very specific hours (one hour windows). I believe dinner was 7-8pm, and breakfast was 8-9am. Most of the food was good -- dinner even had crab legs, and breakfast had an omelette station that cooked to order.

Overall, it seemed a little strange being there as a solo traveler amongst a bunch of couples with their kids, but I suppose I should have researched more to know what I was getting into. Really, though, there was nothing that made me feel uncomfortable...everyone was very friendly and welcoming. It just had a YMCA camp kind of feel to it, with all kinds of planned activities (S'Mores roasting, archery classes, etc).

I think this would be great for people with kids, but if you don't have kids you may feel more at home elsewhere. Overall, though, it was a great experience with beautiful scenery all around and a very friendly staff.

Room Tip: There are about a dozen rooms in the main lodge, and then there are separate cabins on site. I stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
9.0 mi away
Wuksachi Lodge
Wuksachi Lodge
#3 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 1,483 reviews
5.9 mi away
John Muir Lodge
John Muir Lodge
#2 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 230 reviews
16.5 mi away
Sierra Lodge
Sierra Lodge
#6 of 6 in Three Rivers
3.0 of 5 stars 204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.6 mi away
Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn
13.1 mi away
Cedar Grove Lodge
Cedar Grove Lodge
#4 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 67 reviews
18.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montecito Sequoia Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montecito Sequoia Lodge

Address: 63410 General's Hwy, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93633
Location: United States > California > Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Montecito Sequoia Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All Meals and seasonal activities included in the room rate: A Rustic Mountain Lodge & Summer Family Camp located in Sequoia & Kings Canyon National Parks, California. Spectacular view of the Great Western Divide of the Sierra Nevada Mountains. All Lodge Rooms have private bath. Cabins have shared bathhouse. Open year-round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Montecito Sequoia Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montecito Sequoia Hotel Sequoia And Kings Canyon National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Montecito Sequoia Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.