We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Montecito Sequoia Lodge

Save Saved
You added Montecito Sequoia Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Montecito Sequoia Lodge
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   63410 General's Hwy, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93633   |  
Hotel amenities
Eugene, Oregon
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We have stayed at Montecito Sequoia a few times before, but there's something new that I didn't see on the website-- new beautiful 2-story cabins. They are more like condos. I didn't stay in one because I didn't know about them when I booked, but new friends (met over a game of Scrabble our first night) let us take a peak. OK, back to our main lodge room experience. The Lodge rooms are comfortable and clean. We were in 102, which looks out over the Western Divide. Yummy meals. Plus juice, coffee, soup, etc. available all the time. We mostly did day hikes, rode bikes, and rowed around the lake. You can pretty much head in any direction from the lodge to get fabulous views. We hiked the nordic ski trails but without the snow. We asked to have a picnic lunch to take with us each day. No extra charge. I like the all-inclusive part of the deal because I love to eat and get hungry after so much exploring. Evenings in the great room were really fun. Also, the lodge staff was quite friendly and helped us with everything we needed. An A+ vacation. Kids vote we do it again soon!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    135
    93
    26
    20
    27
See reviews for
144
98
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

My stay in this place was perfect. I slept in the cabine a pefect quiet night. The food is amazing for this kind of place, a lot of fresh vegetables and fruits, fish, beef and marvelous desserts.
The staff is also perfect, gentle and polite.

The lodge is situated in the middle of the park, close to the Kings Canyon and the other attraction.

Thank you so much for the best experience in the west.

Room Tip: The cabin, even without bathroom, is so marvelous, because has a fireplace, it's so romantic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedona, Arizona
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We spent one day/evening at the Montecito Lodge in beautiful Sequoia National Park. The lodge was not exactly what we expected. When I hear "lodge" I think of a very large building with guest rooms, dining facilities, shops (maybe), coffee shop. This is really none of that. It has a very large "lodge" building that is quite old and just plain out of date. I believe there may be some rooms on the 2nd floor but not sure. The furniture is old and outdated. Something out of the 60s. Kind of reminded us of the "Griswolds go to Montecito Lodge." When you arrive down a long dirt road (1/2 mile maybe) off the main park road, you drive up to within about 50-100 feet of the lodge. You then have to walk through dust/dirt to get to the reception area. No cars allowed. We stayed in a two-story "cabin" located about another 100 feet from the lodge. We were not allowed to drive to the cabin either so we had to drag/carry our luggage/cooler, etc. across dirt and dust to get to the room. Not good. We had to park our car about 300 feet away in a public parking area. The rooms were spartan, dated, uninviting to say the least. The pillows were hard as a rock and THICK! Our bed tilted slightly so we had to be careful not to fall out....seriously. Luckily the guests in the room next to ours were quiet. Had they been the least bit loud it would have been a miserable night. Paper thin walls. The views from the lodge were beautiful. They served three meals as part of their package. We ate dinner (buffet) and had chicken, fish, vegetables, noodles, salad bar so not too bad at all. They have a bar area with wine, beer and alcohol. The property has a swimming pool, hot tub, trampoline, patios with nice chairs. But rustic, very rustic and not well maintained. It's like a step up from camping. They also have a really beautiful large pond on property that has canoes, paddle boats, a floating platform in the middle. Sandy beach area too. So if you're into roughing it a little bit as far as the accommodations I mentioned you might enjoy this lodge. One thing to keep in mind is that it is located at the midpoint of the park so you can drive to the furthest parts of the park in maybe an hour or so. The driving is very windy, slow and beautiful. Average 30 MPH.

Room Tip: Someone we talked to while there said they were in the "new" rooms which were nice. Our r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Sorry to see the harsh review left by the European. Chelsea, in fact, was one of the nicest of the staff members we met. She was kind to us and was always hard at work - sweeping, vacuuming,cleaning tables and more. She helped us get something to eat even though we arrived after the dinner was served. In our opinion, a nice young lady. Our overall experience was good. The lodge offers three meals a day - included in your room rate. The meals were well-rounded and seemed to have something that could please everyone. Plenty of options for vegetarians too. The salad bar was always good, and the fruit was always fresh. The breakfast was varied as well. Guests have 24/7 access to the drink dispensers, and there is always fresh ice out for your glasses. The rooms are quaint and the overall atmosphere is one of family camps from the 1950's. Therein lies the charm of this lodge. They have so many activities for families. Ping pong, board games, planned hikes, a pool, a spa, a lake with free paddle boats, canoes, fishing, swimming, paddle boards and beach fun! At night, they let the kids roast marshmallows and make smores in the fireplace. The lodge is half way between the Sequoia and King's Canyon National Parks. A perfect location to visit both parks, eat good meals and have a lot of good old fashioned family fun (a nice break from cell phones, gadgets and fast food). GREAT JOB CHELSEA AND ALL THE MONTECITO STAFF!!!!

Room Tip: Be sure to travel to the north entrance of the parks. Our GPS dragged us to the south end - a twisty...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

I am in the room now Tell u this Review live from room 111 from 10.9.2013 ! I am European and have been often in the US but never slept in such a bad place. The Standard is more worst than in a youth Hostel paying 240 USD for One Night in rooms which seem Not renovate since the fifties . The Front desk Girl Chelsea is so unfriendly, she didnt or wont understand my complaint ! They dont let u cancel 48 hours before Ur stay, so i am sitting here now waiting until this Night is over !!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Stayed here with my family (pregnant wife, 14 month old son, and mother-in-law) for only one night (that's all they had available). As a first time visitor, this place sets the standard for a summer lodge - complete with quality sleeping arrangements, good buffet food, lots of socially oriented day and night activities, and other friendly families.

Brenda and Brandon at the front desk were very nice and friendly. We stayed in "Sugar Pine" which was about 50 yards away from the main lodge and had a nice view of the lake. Our room was large enough to fit a queen bed and a double bunk twin bed nearby (which was perfect for the 4 of us and could have easily fit 6). The bathroom was quite roomy with a shower tub and extra soft towels. The room was warm at night with a wall heater. The main lodge (which was the center of activity) was very comfortable with plenty of family oriented seating areas, several large leather couches, a fireplace, and a kitchen nearby. The food was very good, considering the location; the most variety in the entire park; breakfast buffet was mainly American traditional (mushroom spinach omlettes, french toast, waffles, fruit, yogurt, sausages, etc.); lunch (which is also included, despite the website that makes no mention of it) consisted of mainly sandwiches; and dinner was mixed Asian, American traditional, and Italian (again, very good for the national park, but do not expect Monterey Park / Alhambra quality Asian and do not expect Scarpetta quality Italian); as for the American traditional, I wouldn't expect Providence quality, but it's not too bad after a day of lake activities, hiking, archery, and enjoying the rest of the park. For dinner, we had some broiled whitefish, chicken curry, meat curry, and some rice/noodles (passed on the pasta dishes). The lodge has a bar that serves alcohol - great for a national park complete with cocktails and wine by the glass, but again, do not expect this to be The Standard (by the way, you have to pay for the drinks; up to this point all the previously mentioned food comes with your room charge, so you may just want to bring your own bottle of wine).

At night, the staff lights up the fireplace and invites everyone to roast smores. During the early hours of the night (before 8pm), it was very fun to hang out with the kids around the fireplace; after we put our son to sleep and came back (10pm), the crowd consisted of all the parents that were relieved to decompress without their kids. My wife and I along with the other parents all had fun just socializing with everyone else.

Bottom line, I would recommend this place and will likely come again making sure to stay longer and take advantage of the kids programs.

Room Tip: Rooms in Sugar Pine are comfortable and offer a nice view of the lake. If you are looking for a vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

What do I get for 300 USD a night? An bed in the park? This "lodge"is not even in the park. It is 40 minutes far away form the General Sherman Tree.
Assuming the owner wants you to experience something more "rural" with basic and non clean rooms I would expect that at least the surroundings were clean and maintained. Well that is not even the case. It looks like a poor abandoned place in the middle of the forest built in the fifties and never cleaned nor refurbished.
Oh yes, for 300 USD you get a decent buffet meal, in a big warm smelly room while sharing the table with other guests.
I am really surprised that people are happy to come to this place which is much worst than a camping for which you would pay 10 times less. This is the worst place i have ever stayed in a NP in the US or abroad. Rooms are dirty, old, smelly...bed linen were not ironed...i really hope they where clean. Used napkins were found in the room as soon as we entered. iI am really wondering how could the owner accept this for that money and how can the park let this robbery happen.

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Montecito Sequoia Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montecito Sequoia Lodge

Address: 63410 General's Hwy, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93633
Location: United States > California > Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Montecito Sequoia Lodge 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Rustic Mountain Lodge & Summer Family Camp located in Sequoia & Kings Canyon National Parks, California. Spectacular view of the Great Western Divide of the Sierra Nevada Mountains. Buffet Meals and seasonal activities included in room rate. All Lodge Rooms have private bath. Cabins have shared bathhouse. Open year-round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Montecito Sequoia Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montecito Sequoia Hotel Sequoia And Kings Canyon National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Montecito Sequoia Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.