We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I want to Redeem Chelsea!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Montecito Sequoia Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Montecito Sequoia Lodge to your Saves list
Montecito Sequoia Lodge
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   63410 General's Hwy, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93633   |  
Hotel amenities
Memphis, Tennessee
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“I want to Redeem Chelsea!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Sorry to see the harsh review left by the European. Chelsea, in fact, was one of the nicest of the staff members we met. She was kind to us and was always hard at work - sweeping, vacuuming,cleaning tables and more. She helped us get something to eat even though we arrived after the dinner was served. In our opinion, a nice young lady. Our overall experience was good. The lodge offers three meals a day - included in your room rate. The meals were well-rounded and seemed to have something that could please everyone. Plenty of options for vegetarians too. The salad bar was always good, and the fruit was always fresh. The breakfast was varied as well. Guests have 24/7 access to the drink dispensers, and there is always fresh ice out for your glasses. The rooms are quaint and the overall atmosphere is one of family camps from the 1950's. Therein lies the charm of this lodge. They have so many activities for families. Ping pong, board games, planned hikes, a pool, a spa, a lake with free paddle boats, canoes, fishing, swimming, paddle boards and beach fun! At night, they let the kids roast marshmallows and make smores in the fireplace. The lodge is half way between the Sequoia and King's Canyon National Parks. A perfect location to visit both parks, eat good meals and have a lot of good old fashioned family fun (a nice break from cell phones, gadgets and fast food). GREAT JOB CHELSEA AND ALL THE MONTECITO STAFF!!!!

Room Tip: Be sure to travel to the north entrance of the parks. Our GPS dragged us to the south end - a twisty...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    106
    30
    23
    27
See reviews for
175
117
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

I am in the room now Tell u this Review live from room 111 from 10.9.2013 ! I am European and have been often in the US but never slept in such a bad place. The Standard is more worst than in a youth Hostel paying 240 USD for One Night in rooms which seem Not renovate since the fifties . The Front desk Girl Chelsea is so unfriendly, she didnt or wont understand my complaint ! They dont let u cancel 48 hours before Ur stay, so i am sitting here now waiting until this Night is over !!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Stayed here with my family (pregnant wife, 14 month old son, and mother-in-law) for only one night (that's all they had available). As a first time visitor, this place sets the standard for a summer lodge - complete with quality sleeping arrangements, good buffet food, lots of socially oriented day and night activities, and other friendly families.

Brenda and Brandon at the front desk were very nice and friendly. We stayed in "Sugar Pine" which was about 50 yards away from the main lodge and had a nice view of the lake. Our room was large enough to fit a queen bed and a double bunk twin bed nearby (which was perfect for the 4 of us and could have easily fit 6). The bathroom was quite roomy with a shower tub and extra soft towels. The room was warm at night with a wall heater. The main lodge (which was the center of activity) was very comfortable with plenty of family oriented seating areas, several large leather couches, a fireplace, and a kitchen nearby. The food was very good, considering the location; the most variety in the entire park; breakfast buffet was mainly American traditional (mushroom spinach omlettes, french toast, waffles, fruit, yogurt, sausages, etc.); lunch (which is also included, despite the website that makes no mention of it) consisted of mainly sandwiches; and dinner was mixed Asian, American traditional, and Italian (again, very good for the national park, but do not expect Monterey Park / Alhambra quality Asian and do not expect Scarpetta quality Italian); as for the American traditional, I wouldn't expect Providence quality, but it's not too bad after a day of lake activities, hiking, archery, and enjoying the rest of the park. For dinner, we had some broiled whitefish, chicken curry, meat curry, and some rice/noodles (passed on the pasta dishes). The lodge has a bar that serves alcohol - great for a national park complete with cocktails and wine by the glass, but again, do not expect this to be The Standard (by the way, you have to pay for the drinks; up to this point all the previously mentioned food comes with your room charge, so you may just want to bring your own bottle of wine).

At night, the staff lights up the fireplace and invites everyone to roast smores. During the early hours of the night (before 8pm), it was very fun to hang out with the kids around the fireplace; after we put our son to sleep and came back (10pm), the crowd consisted of all the parents that were relieved to decompress without their kids. My wife and I along with the other parents all had fun just socializing with everyone else.

Bottom line, I would recommend this place and will likely come again making sure to stay longer and take advantage of the kids programs.

Room Tip: Rooms in Sugar Pine are comfortable and offer a nice view of the lake. If you are looking for a vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

What do I get for 300 USD a night? An bed in the park? This "lodge"is not even in the park. It is 40 minutes far away form the General Sherman Tree.
Assuming the owner wants you to experience something more "rural" with basic and non clean rooms I would expect that at least the surroundings were clean and maintained. Well that is not even the case. It looks like a poor abandoned place in the middle of the forest built in the fifties and never cleaned nor refurbished.
Oh yes, for 300 USD you get a decent buffet meal, in a big warm smelly room while sharing the table with other guests.
I am really surprised that people are happy to come to this place which is much worst than a camping for which you would pay 10 times less. This is the worst place i have ever stayed in a NP in the US or abroad. Rooms are dirty, old, smelly...bed linen were not ironed...i really hope they where clean. Used napkins were found in the room as soon as we entered. iI am really wondering how could the owner accept this for that money and how can the park let this robbery happen.

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California, United States
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We've come here for the last two summers for a family camp week with 3 kids (7, 3 & 1). We are looking forward to the next one because here mom & dad get to relax a little. The two things that make it really enjoyable for us are their kids program, and nature.
The kids program works really well for us. We do not like being away from our kids all day, but also do not like having to take care of them all day long. At Montecito, every kid belongs to a group, and can join or leave activities that happen throughout the day. Most of the counselors that run the activities used to come to Montecito when they were small, and they are so friendly, and nice to them. It is a very family feel. Our 7yo just adores them, always looking out to what cool thing are the big boys doing. Best, you can get on the spot babysitting from counselors, great if you'd like to linger after dinner.
Beyond kids activities, there are songs, trampoline, arts. We've heard from other parents that they love the hikes, mnt. biking, but we've never been, we get to relax only a little, not a lot. My wife enjoyed archery, I got my 15 happy minutes a day wakeboarding.
The accomodations and food are basic, adequate. Room cleaning can be sporadic, but we did not notice. You won't come here for gourmet food, and feather beds, you'll come for fun.

Room Tip: If you are worried about the rooms, the new lodges ones are great, but pricey.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seal Beach, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We have been to some amazing family camps but this was not one of them. The activities were so uninspiring that our 9 and 10 year old refused to participate in their group after the first morning. The two older kids were more independent and did have fun. There are very few family activities so, mostly the adults went off hiking in the morning or wandered around camp while the staff took care of the children. That is not my idea of a family vacation. Overall, it was boring so we cancelled our last night and came home early. The location is gorgeous and the 4 new cabins are beautiful. Beyond that, not much to recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura County, CA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We finished up our fourth year returning to Family Camp, and now that our children are in middle school, they STILL love it! You'll love that they become very independent, make friends that they see year after year, and try new things (this year, it was learning to wakeboard).

This year, the food was greatly improved over last year, as were the activities and "flow" of events. There is so much to choose from, you'll have trouble deciding. Or you can do nothing, just sit and read among the incredible Sequoia trees. No TV, spotty Internet...what a great break!

The new luxury, expensive condos ("cabins" don't do them justice) should satisfy those of you who are too bothered by a communal, lodge atmosphere. They are gorgeous, modern and quiet. But the fun of the lodge IS the bustling, casual atmosphere, we think.

Start a tradition your kids will always remember. You won't be sorry.

Room Tip: Rooms 101 and 102 in the lodge are corner rooms with more windows (more air flow) and beautiful view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Montecito Sequoia Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montecito Sequoia Lodge

Address: 63410 General's Hwy, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93633
Location: United States > California > Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Montecito Sequoia Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Rustic Mountain Lodge & Summer Family Camp located in Sequoia & Kings Canyon National Parks, California. Spectacular view of the Great Western Divide of the Sierra Nevada Mountains. Buffet Meals and seasonal activities included in room rate. All Lodge Rooms have private bath. Cabins have shared bathhouse. Open year-round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Montecito Sequoia Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montecito Sequoia Hotel Sequoia And Kings Canyon National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Montecito Sequoia Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.