We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One price for food and lodging - a step above a family lodge” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Montecito Sequoia Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Montecito Sequoia Lodge to your Saves list
Montecito Sequoia Lodge
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   63410 General's Hwy, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93633   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
40 hotel reviews
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“One price for food and lodging - a step above a family lodge”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

This place looks OLD from the outside. I felt like I was in the family camp from Dirty Dancing. But inside, the place is very nice. Fluffy towels, really nice shampoo, conditioner, lotion, and bath gel. We were in 127/128 (I think). The building was Lakeview and it was one of the two places upstairs. There was a very nice lake view. One room had a queen bed and it was comfortable. The other room had 2 bunk beds (sleeps 4) and was cramped. You could not sit up in the bed without hitting your head. The living room was fine with a couch and 2 chairs. Bathroom off the living room. No kitchen facilities. All meals provided. The food was good. Hot breakfast with cereal/yogurt/fruit as well. Lunch was packed for us to take while we toured the parks. Don't buy one for $9.95 - it isn't worth it. Very little meat on the sandwiches. Dinner was Mexican one night (we all needed antacids but we aren't used to spicy food) and beef and vegetarian stroganoff (great) the other night. Rice wasn't cooked. Eat early - some things run out. They do turn up again later but you have to wait. Dessert was great one day (choc cake) and pretty bad the next (yellow cake which was undercooked). But it was nice to save money for a few days avoiding restaurants. Walls are thin so bring ear plugs. Free phone in the lobby - there is no cell service. games available at the check-in desk, activities for kids, boats to take out on the lake. They try hard to take care of all your needs. No TV. Very nice selection of coffee, cappuccino, tea, cereal, juice available 24/7.

Room Tip: We were in 127/128. You must climb steps to this room. Inside steps go by a bathroom that had a ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    130
    35
    24
    30
See reviews for
205
135
16
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ithaca, New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

We spent three days at the Montecito Sequoia Lodge and loved every minute. Beautiful vistas, great activities, wonderful food (and all you can eat...) I thought it would be rustic so I brought shampoo and hair dryer - but no need. These are provided. Comfortable bed, plush bath towels. A great vacation spot for the active hiker or someone who likes to just take lovely walks in God's country.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
50 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013 via mobile

Very basic wooden lodges with very squeeky floorboards.
I don't know which was more surprised or frightened by the mouse hiding in the corner of our room.
Ignoring (if you can) the mouse the room and bedding was clean.
The price was inclusive of evening meal and breakfast, the food was buffet style and perfectly adequate and wholesome.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Yarmouth, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

My husband and I spent one night here at the lodge. I'm not sure what I expected, but the lodge itself is old and very casual. The common areas, dining room and fireplaced activities room had a very casual feel, there were books on the shelves that you could borrow, board games, ping pong and foozeball. Everything was help yourself. We walked around outside and felt the grounds needed some attention. There was lots of debris and odd items scattered around, a general lack of organization. In all fairness, it was early spring and perhaps they hadn't done the spring clean-up yet. It had the feel of a camp with a variety of water craft and activities for the guests. There is an outdoor pool which was not open when we were there. The view from the front deck was amazing. Our room was upstairs in the main lodge. It had a king size bed and a bunk bed. The beds were covered with plaid quilts, a nice touch. The bed was comfortable and had nice bedding. Although the place is old, it was clean. I was surprised by the excellent quality of the toiletries! The food was included in the price. It was set up buffet style with self clean-up. The food was good with plenty of choices for both meat eaters and vegetarians. There was an hour set aside for each meal and as soon as the hour ended, they started to clear away any remaining food from the buffet. Sorry was the person who showed up late for a meal! Overall, it was well worth the price we paid, but I feel it is more suited to families.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Wonderful lodge, plenty of delicious food & drinks, friendly staff, lots of activities, convenient location for both Kings Canyon & Sequoia Park.

Strongly recommend, especially for families with kids!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

We had great fun at Motecito Sequoia! Plenty of activities (like sports, water activities, hiking, games...), beautiful lake, good food (3 meals included), very friendly stuff.
The rooms are OK, much or less what we expected.
Staying there was the best choice we made. Exceeded our expectations.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cupertino, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Very international crowd (surprising !) - Met people from Alaska to Israel, UK to Australia...Great place for families... Comfortable rooms... with king size bed and bunk bed; Lots of food choices and 24x7 availabilty of food and drinks (cereal, various types of bread, milk, coffee, etc). Lots of activities for kids including ping pong, train sets, fooseball, fun 2 hour camps; Lots of books and board games to borrow/check out. There is also a beautiful lake nearby and you can go boating with kids (just make sure you tell the front desk before you go and you put on life jackets!). The only small issue was the water pressure in the shower was not that great and the toilets did not seem to be cleaned 100% - usable, no odor, etc but not 100% clean. Also great smores and campfire in the evenings - friendly crowd!

Room Tip: Room 101 is the best - no question! Also 102 is an option if you don't get 101. Hard to locate h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Montecito Sequoia Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montecito Sequoia Lodge

Address: 63410 General's Hwy, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93633
Location: United States > California > Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Montecito Sequoia Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All Meals and seasonal activities included in the room rate: A Rustic Mountain Lodge & Summer Family Camp located in Sequoia & Kings Canyon National Parks, California. Spectacular view of the Great Western Divide of the Sierra Nevada Mountains. All Lodge Rooms have private bath. Cabins have shared bathhouse. Open year-round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire and Odigeo so you can book your Montecito Sequoia Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montecito Sequoia Hotel Sequoia And Kings Canyon National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Montecito Sequoia Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.